We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded elegance, flock wallpaper, grand architecture but in dire need of redecoration”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A great place to stop and bathe in the thermal springs high in the Rockies. We were on a road trip and were
en route from Colorado to the Grand Canyon North Rim.

We dined on very average steaks and icecreams in predictably obscenely sized portions in the floodlit garden. At least at night one can't see the flaking and stained paintwork!

We stayed in a very reasonably priced family room but the shower and bathroom facilities were two star at best and the presence of bare and audible pipe work in the rooms was more Fawlty Towers than Waldorf Astoria.

Room Tip: Go for the cheapest, they're all awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Sm0key,

We are sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent stay with us on your way to the Grand Canyon North Rim. Due to the historical nature of our hotel, the pipes to our steam heating system are exposed and may sometimes make noise. Please come visit us again in the future and we will make sure your your meal is to your satisfaction. We sincerely appreciate your comments and suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

951 - 957 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were given a weekend and spa treatment for a Christmas gift from our grandchildren. This was absolutely the best gift and weekend ever. The ambience of Hotel Colorado is charming, gracious and timeless. The friendliness and professionalism of the entire staff is second to none. We were impressed with the quality of the food and service at the Baron Restaurant, the peace and serenity of the patio with the fountain and fire pit, the close availability of the Hot Springs, and the romantic feel of the entire place. Being history buffs, we enjoyed the historic photographs and antiques throughout the hotel. This is one place where we will definitely return to and would not hesitate to recommend to our friends and family. La Provence spa is certainly world class as well. The Masseurs were knowledgeable and professional . Everyone at the hotel was first class and made us feel welcome and special.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the patio and fron of hotel have pleasant view and the sound of the fountain is very re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our first stay at Hotel Colorado was in the 70's. Our impression has continually improved over the years. The hotel is long on charm but it is plenty comfortable , too. It is perfectly located , as most things one would want to do, including soaking in the wonderful hot springs, are within walking distance. The prices are very reasonable, and the staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. It had been a few years since we tried the hotel restaurant, which is very Italian, but, on this last trip, we were so impressed at our first lunch that we went back for dinner. They have entrees that I have not even seen on menus in italy. I feel like the chef is Italian.

I would give this place an thumbs-up.

Room Tip: The average rooms are average, but all the rooms are very affordable, so spring for the suite. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you want a lot of stainless steel in the lobby and a huge flatscreen in your room look elsewhere. The Hotel Colorado is a landmark of historic imagination--and I loved every minute of my stay. Great for a romantic getaway with the right guy/gal who appreciates the slow wind of time and the colorful past of Colorado's Rocky Mountains.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeromeGastronom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our family stayed at this lovely hotel in March for our 50th Wedding Anniversary. We had wonderful service; especially the hotel van driver who took us where ever we wanted to go. The food was great and we would like to come back again. So much history in this beautiful structure. The outdoor gas fired pit was great to sit around and have conversations. LK

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squeak1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's one of those Grand Dames of Old Hotels, built in 1895. Its developer, a Mr. Devereux, never spared any expense in making it a thing of beauty. Water fountain, electricity, huge pool with water from the near by natural hot springs, it was all there for the enjoyment of the rich and famous. The hotel's two imposing towers still preside majestically over Glenwood Springs.

My room had a wonderful album with photographs and stories about times past: this is where I picked their claim that the ghost of Al Capone hunts the place. Apparently, in the 20's the hotel was preferred vacation spot for a bunch of Chicago gangsters. Presidents Taft and Roosevelt visited (established fact) and the unsinkable Molly Brown did too, trying to spend the loot from her husband's gold findings. During WW II it was transformed to a hospital and then went back to being a hotel.

In all fairness, they give you warning that the hotel was not exactly renovated to modern standards: noisy plumbing and feeble shower streams are some of the problems. But I felt great in an old Victorian suite, complete with seating area with fireplace and lace curtains on the windows. And kept waiting for a ghost's visit...in vain...

TIP: The room I'm describing above was 412

Room Tip: Ask for room 412 (or any other floor, 312, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel for a weekend. It is in a great location within the downtown area. The rooms are comfortable. I did not have the opportunity to eat at the hotel but there are some great restaurants within walking distance. If you are in Glenwood Spring I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
1,078 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: 526 Pine St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: $121 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing