We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Teddy Roosevelt Historic Hotel - Charming at the Holidays”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,276 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,683 helpful votes
“Fun Teddy Roosevelt Historic Hotel - Charming at the Holidays”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at this historic charming hotel when the place was gaily decorated for the Christmas holidays. They have so many wonderful trees; Christmas decorations; and more. We loved sitting in their large lobby by the warm fires and looking at the trees and all. Do stay here if you are coming to Glenwood Springs during the holidays.

We loved the historic feel of the hotel and the many pictures of President Teddy Roosevelt on the walls - it was fun to see him enjoying holiday in the area.

Our room was one of their larger suites - living room area and bedroom with small balcony. We had a nice view of the hot springs pool, trains (we like trains so happy with this) and the river. It was a short walk from the hotel to the hot springs pool which we enjoyed each day we were there.

We enjoyed eating at the lovely hotel dining room - we had trout for breakfast and excellent service. We also had dinner there - and had one of the best desserts ever. Yum! Nice plaec.

Their bar area is a large comfortable room to sit in and comfortable to sit in.

You can also walk to other restaurants in town - we enjoyed the very good Mexican restaurant across the street.

We were traveling by train so the hotel was nice enough to pick us up and drop us off at the nearby Amtrak station.

Overall excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Close to hot springs area. No air conditioning in the summer so people stay here as they like the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
mini,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Hotel Colorado. Our beautiful decorations paired with our rich history truly make the historical Hotel Colorado a magical place during the holidays. Thank you for the warm praises concerning our hospitality and amenities. We hope to see you again next Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    318
    155
    113
    74
See reviews for
328
394
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The old hotel is an enchanting experience for sure. If you want to stay in an historical place, then this is for you. Glenwood Springs is a really cool town and the hot springs are unsurpassed in 20 degree weather. The hotel was marvelous and the only complaint I had was the rooms were so hot which was remedied with an opening of the window. Went around New Years so the Christmas decorations were gorgeous. Nice trip!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
richard n,

Thank you for your compliments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize that your room was too hot. The hotel has a steam heating system in which one controls the heat by opening and closing a valve on the radiator in the room. We deeply apologize if you were not aware of this or if you were and we were unable to remedy the situation. When you come back we will make sure that your room is to your satisfaction. We sincerely appreciate all of your input and praises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Downstairs in the lobby of this hotel, you get the feeling that you are stepping back into history in a place that was once grand and very special. Upstairs in the guest rooms, you get the feeling that you are in a seedy motel.

Where do I start? The hallways upstairs are awful - shabby and tired, with horrible carpet and an ugly pale pink trim all over everything. The pipes for the fire suppression system are exposed throughout, and in most places are even coated in the same popcorn effect that adorns all the ceilings. The fixtures are all outdated (and not in a charming, historic way) and the only attempt at decor is a few oddly-placed pieces of old furniture and some historic photographs (the photos are cool).

The same problems from the hallway extended into our room, with the added bonus of stains on the curtains, paint chipping from the exposed pipes onto the floor, and a dingy bathroom. The TV is too small for the large room and it was a total pain to try to change the channel from bed. The phone was circa 1980 and the connection crackled when I called down to the front desk to request a hair dryer. No hair dryer or coffee in room - two things you'll find at any Days Inn or similar. It took a full 10 mins to get the water for the shower hot (no exaggeration), and the shower made a high-pitched squealing noise the entire time it was on. The shower head was also coming off the wall. The little glass shelf above the sink was tilted downward, which made it fun to try to put any toiletries there. The walls are thin so you can hear most of what's going on around you.

There is only one old, slow elevator, so I suggest if you do stay here you request the second floor.

On the plus side, I can say that the service from hotel employees was prompt and friendly. The food was good too - our group had a catered lunch and it was quite yummy, especially the caesar salad. It had real, authentic dressing - made the right way with anchovies and garlic. And of course the location is convenient to both town and the hot springs, both of which are a very short walk away.

But at $150 a night? What a joke. Based on the quality of that room it's about $100 overpriced. I've stayed at the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park and the Brown Palace in Denver, so I know that it's very possible to refurbish an old hotel and bring it up to modern comfort standards without sacrificing the original historic details.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenwood Springs hotels

Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our trip up to the point where we arrived at Hotel Colorado had been a disaster. So whether it was just that they offer stellar service or the staff took pity on us, I am not sure, but they were excellent, friendly and accommodating, all of the things you want in hotel staff.

I loved the stairwells, the old feel of the hotel, the well appointed decorations and furniture, loved how the staff didn't pester you. We wandered every floor, at all hours and were never made to feel unwelcome. Holly gave us a little extra attention because we were so interested in the history of the Hotel and there is SO much history!

I'm told the Polish place that you can walk to across the street is delish, though we didn't have time and the Springs are so close that we walked, and that was also a great time. Every time we walked down the hallway to our room, 344, we expected to see two twins at the end, staring eerily at us lol...the hotel has the feel of the one in The Shining, it's quiet and you can see the age and history everywhere. I recommend checking out the tour, the bell towers are amazing and the Roosevelt and Molly Brown rooms are also incredible. One day is not enough!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor hoping to see some...let's just say interesting or spooky things. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MouthyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

When we stayed at Hotel Colorado, it was a trip we'll always remember. It was a walk away from so many things to see, visit and do. It was very elegant and like visiting someone very "Special"! Everyone from the checkin counter on was very pleasant, smiling, helpful and felt like family. The food was very excellant with great servers. The bar was so much fun with great drinks and fun bartenders. Walking in the garden was beautiful. Our room was so comfortable and personable. We do feel we felt several ghoastly encounters, but it only went with the history of the Hotel. It was fun!! It was 2 yrs ago, but seems like yesterday. Loved everything and will be back. R. Coleman

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Rickie C

Many thanks for all the wonderful compliments. We are elated that you enjoyed your experience at the Hotel Colorado. Even though it has been 2 years, your Hotel Colorado family looks forward to accommodating you in the future. Just wait until you experience our new menu, as well as our new mattresses and linens. Hopefully, we will see you sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Colorado. Great access to the Hot Springs and truly awalk thur time . The resturant food was excellent awonderful menu with friendly staff. To experience the history the Colorado Hotel has to offer is a rare treat. Please give it a try it is an excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanegrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Strange hotel with a lot of history. Built in the 1890s and has a fantastic feel to it. The entrance and lounge/lobby are really impressive.However be warned that the rooms are a little old fashioned and could do with a refurb. Nearly all the staff were helpful and attentive. Do not eat in the hotel as the restaurant is poor. Nice and comfortable bar area. Good value.

Room Tip: Room 202 is huge and is in fact three rooms but together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience staying at the Hotel Colorado. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our grand lobby as well as the Polo Lounge. We apologize that you did not enjoy the food in the restaurant as this is not a common complaint from our guests. Please contact me directly at the hotel to further discuss your experience. We would appreciate a second chance if you ever find yourself in the Glenwood Springs area. We truly appreciate you staying with us, as well as your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing