We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful, historic property worth the visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Durango
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A beautiful, historic property worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I attended a 3-day conference at the Hotel Colorado that exceeded expectations. The hotel, built in 1893, has a long and colorful history recorded with historic photographs of numerous presidents and other celebrities' visits through the years. Sprinkler system plumbing is visible in the hallways and rooms (installed by the US Navy in WWII) but I slept better because of it. You should now there is no A/C in the hotel due to its age, but it's not a second thought except for the heat of the summer. The beds are plush, bathrooms well appointed and the room had a large LCD TV. The food was excellent for every meal we had, the staff accommodating and professional. The Hot Springs pool is right across the street and downtown Glenwood a 2-minute walk. Ask for the historical hotel tour offered several times a week. This is a can't-miss stop in Glenwood Springs, whether you stay the night or just stroll through the building.

Room Tip: Rooms 314 and 315 are large corner rooms with 2 windows - nice ventilation for hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate the kind comments it is always good to hear exceptional customer service was given and appreciated we look forward to having you back with us for more fond memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    313
    149
    108
    72
See reviews for
317
381
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I defied the negative reviews littering T/A and booked a room for my wife and myself at Hotel Colorado for a late-September Colorado weekend. We arrive exactly at 4:00 pm, avoiding any conflict with their extremely late check-in time. The room was quite attractive and faced the interior courtyard. We opened the window and were able to hear the soothing gurgle of the fountain (as well as the traffic on I-70 and the occasional freight train). Yes, the place is old and quirky. In the public areas, there are some obvious changes to the place which don't particularly complement the original appearance...but then you have to be looking hard to notice them. The room was updated to modern standards (less a/c, which we didn't need in late September). It was equipped with the usual conveniences one expects these days, including free wi-fi and a flat-panel television. I was delighted to see the set was equipped with a full complement of channels including hi-def, and not just the handful of miserable stuff one often encounters in hotels. We loved it, but if you are coming to the Hotel Colorado expecting a completely modernized -- but old -- hotel, you will be disappointed. The quirkiness and charm are still there and that pleased both of us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank johnny_simpatico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you Johnny for giving us a chance to show you our brand of exceptional customer service, we are glad you found the hotel's vast history and appearance to your liking and we look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western colorado
Level Contributor
246 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is our first choice of places to stay in Glenwood. It is historic and lovely, but everything works and the hotel is constantly undergoing upgrades to keep it that way. We love the decor, the historic photographs, and that it is dog friendly. It is close to the hot springs pool, shopping, and restaurants, so it is convenient. The staff is friendly, helpful, and professional. We enjoyed our sleep, and breakfast the next morning. I appreciated the healthy choices. The lounge was a nice place to unwind after a long drive, and offers food as well as cocktails. The front garden and the lobby are beautiful and cozy, and it is easy to feel as if you are at home in a grand house.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gentinasybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for all of the kind words they are much appreciated, we are glad to hear you noticed and appreciated the constant upgrades being made to the building in order to keep it in tip top shape for you our valued guest. Our restaurant strives for perfection in the quality of food they make just as our front desk strives for exceptional customer service we are glad you had the pleasure to experience both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

stopped in @ Hotel Colorado in Glenwood Springs on our way from Vail to Aspen for breakfast and what a fabulous surprise! Breakfast served in the dining room on bone china! Excellent eggs benedict....but we had a breakfast appetizer of a warm home made cinnamon roll that was huge and delish!!! Service was lovely, the hotel charming and very reasonably priced! Nice treat for just "dropping in"!
Plus lots of history in this old hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scislandgirl1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for stopping in for a bit to eat in Baron's I will be sure to pass this information over to our servers and our food and beverage manager for training purposes our servers try their best to ensure everyone is given prompt service with no exceptions. We are pleased you had an exceptional breakfast with us and look forward to having you back with us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This Hotel Sucks! I can not even put it into words.
Kim, The Front Desk manager is one of the worst people i have ever run into.

The rooms are horrible..Smelly, Moldy and very loud.

I will never stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are deeply concerned to hear your stay was not exceptional this is unacceptable if you could, please give me a call at your earliest convenience so that we may discuss your stay further and how we can rectify it.
Donte Deadwiler
Director of Revenue
970.945.6511
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenwood Springs hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Wonderful old hotel has loads of charm and history. Worst part was no A/C and poor wifi connection. The hotel does provide ceiling fans and box fans in each room. With the window open and the fans going, it was still about 10 degrees hotter in our room than in the hall. Can't imagine staying here in the summer! Lovely breakfast in the dining room. The dining chairs need some TLC. Easy to walk to downtown and hot springs pool. Very relaxing to sit outside. Fun to explore and look at all the old photographs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pikespeak54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We apologize about the poor wifi and will make sure it is in working order so this does not happen again. We are delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable and thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Hotel Colorado is unique in its charm and atmosphere. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted with soft music and a friendly staff. Kim Jordan and the front desk staff are just plain awesome. They made every attempt to meet my family's needs. We loved the history tour that was available to us to learn of the history and all of the intricacies of the hotel. Our suite was spacious, the bed very comfy, and the linens were top notch. Our room was most comfortable with a ceiling fan and windows open at times. (Sept 2012). The food in the restaurant was good; I particularly enjoyed the breakfast. It was delicious. The bar is fun, and service is great. We loved sitting in the area outside of the hotel...with the fountain and flower gardens and large wood chairs to relax in, read a book or celebrate happy hour. It was most peaceful there. Even though I don't have a dog, it was fun to see them around the property. It was easy access to everything. I definitely plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Suites are awesome and we loved being on the penthouse (5th) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable our Maintainence Department works on the courtyard everyday to ensure guests have a beautiful garden to relax in and our Front Desk Agents and Restaurant Servers strive for customer service to make you feel at home as much as possible. We are glad you will be returning and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing