We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The front desk was very helpful and even upgraded our room for us for no extra charge. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. I would definitely stay here again. The decorations and pictures make it romantic and fun.

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th floor for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Dawg884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    325
    159
    114
    76
See reviews for
342
402
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great staff beautiful lobby make first impression that set the tone for great nights stay. Bed was perfect and while I was worried about the lack of A/C it was not an issue. Hotel just had a nice feel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunterguyslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for the kind words, we are glad you had a chance to experience and appreciate The Grand Ol Dame for her uniqueness and history. We try our best to ensure things are keep in order and that our customer service is one to be emulated. We look forward to your next stay with us stay safe until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I booked a room at the Hotel Colorado two days before my husband and I wanted to go. The price we ended up paying was hardly any more expensive than what we would have paid at a motel down the street, which surprised me. The hotel is gorgeous...Don't listen to any reviews talking about how it needs to be updated (I had read a lot of reviews about exposed pipes in the rooms and such)...You're staying in a hotel that was built in 1893...It's old, wonderful, and we found it amazing that they had kept up the original decor. The staff was friendly...Our only negative experience was that it took us FOREVER to get checked in because only one woman was running the front desk. The hotel is really close to downtown Glenwood Springs and the hot springs, which was convenient. We would definitely recommend staying here, and we will be visiting again soon. Oh! And don't forget to read about the hotel's hauntings! Pretty spooky!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayceA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

It's not perfect, it's not modern - isn't that the point? After all the negative reviews, we were hesitant to try Hotel Colorado for our 41st anniversary, but we like old hotels and this one has a lot going for it - location, adjacent to the hot springs pools, miniature golf, and vapor caves, and across a delightful pedestrian bridge over the Colorado River to an array of really good restaurants and bars, in addition to the charming old Amtrak station, where many tourists arrive after a beautiful trip through incomparable Glenwood Canyon. We scored a huge king suite for only $90 on the off-season. There were exposed pipes overhead, but what do you expect when the place was built before sprinkler systems were invented? The carpets were fine, furniture was charmingly old but perfectly functional, ceiling fans very quiet, bathroom a bit outdated - it's an old hotel!!! - but all worked fine. The lobby, hallways, stairways, and garden patio are all lovely. The dining room is beautiful, but they don't make any claims on great food - cross the river for that. Parking is free on surrounding streets, in addition to their own lot. Staff were very professional and pleasant. All in all, we loved it. You want cookie-cutter niceness, there are Hamptons and Holiday Inns nearby. You want old-fashioned charm, stay here.

Room Tip: West side rooms get hot afternoon sun. We loved 205 King suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for the kind words, we are glad you had a chance to experience and appreciate The Grand Ol Dame for her uniqueness and history. We try our best to ensure things are keep in order and that our customer service is one to be emulated. We look forward to your next stay with us stay safe until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Old, ragged, noisy. Furniture is actually original, 100 years old, or seems like it. No a/c, so windows open only on a very noisy, busy street! Good luck trying to sleep!! Curtains were falling down, balcony door wouldn't close all the way, much less lock. No safe for your valuables. Bathroom has no space to spread your things out, much less share with hubby! Creepy feeling, needs major renovation. Not pleasantly nostalgic, just junky old dirty needs to be torn down feeling. Gotta be a better choice in town. Only thing good was location to hot springs.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowergal94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
It appears we missed our mark trying to accomodate your needs, did you by chance call the front desk to inquire on moving to another room if the room is not up to par it would be our pleasure to move you to a different room to ensure your stay is one to remember. Our apologies for not being able to make this an unforgettable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenwood Springs hotels

Granby, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Colorado in Glenwood Springs, Colorado for it's historical beauty & of course, the hot springs and vapor caves.

What a breath of fresh air and delight was it for me to interface with Art, the Front Desk Supervisor. Art has "refreshed", my take on what "excellent", customer service is. I, too am in the hospitality industry (Manager of Brickhouse 40 in Granby, Colorado), we also pride ourselves' in taking the extra step for our patrons having a joyful experience.

Art thank you for making Filipp and I wanting to drive 3 hours to insure a well deserved, restful day off. You are the best!

In addition but not limited too: Sarah (hotel bartender), makes the best dirty, grey goose martini and is a benefit to any bar owner...she actually knows how to talk, "fishing". My partner is an avid fisherman and they swapped fishing tales. Sarah, would you like to relocate? If you find yourself in my neck of the woods, give me a call.


Keep up the good work!
Tammy S. Ozment

Room Tip: Ask for room 104, first floor, beautiful front area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for the kind words concerning Art he has been a shining example for all new and current staff for almost 28 years. Being with us so long Art is a face returning guests look forward to, and there no question why. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to have you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I had a business trip in April in Glenwood Springs and stayed at the Hotel Colorado for three days. It is one of the grand old ladies of Glenwood. Everywhere are reminders of Teddy Roosevelt's stay here. The facility is beautiful, especially the lobby area.

The business rooms were large, comfortable, and convenient. The hotel provided us with breakfast each day and it was plentiful and delicious. There was free wireless which kept me connected and free newspapers each day.

The guest rooms were smaller but adequate. I thought given the age of the hotel that I would have a problem with noise at night. But I was pleasantly surprised to find that this was not the case. The one complaint I would have is that the rooms were quite warm. No air conditioning was noticeable, even in April.

All-in-all it was a pleasant stay. I will return again and enjoy it every time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colo_Traveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for the kind words, we are glad you had a chance to experience and appreciate The Grand Ol Dame for her uniqueness and history during your business trip. We try our best to ensure we can accomdate any and all needs, while keeping everything in order and that our customer service is one to be emulated. We look forward to your next stay with us stay safe until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
677 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
318 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing