We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steam Caves & Massage”

Yampah Spa and Vapor Caves
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Vapor Caves are other-worldly and perfect for relaxing after a day of outdoor activities.
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Steam Caves & Massage”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I live in the valley, and enjoy Yampah Spa both on my own, and pretty much always when friends/family come to visit. My most recent trip was to introduce my sister to this experience. . This is not a fancy spa, but the vapor caves are invigorating and rejuvenating; there are separate lockers/showers for men and women. The solarium is peaceful--comfortable lounge chairs to hang out, bring a book or magazine. I like to bring a washcloth that I pretreat with oil essence (eucalyptus or lavender), and immerse in a bucket of cold water (buckets are provided in the cave and there is a cold water hose available). Post vapor cave, showers are available, and I bring my own shampoo/conditioner. The women's locker room is very small, sometimes crowded(with lockers available for 10 cents or 25 cents), and they have a hair blower/drier. If you are having a spa treatment, a robe, towel, and flip flops are provided. If you are enjoying the caves sans treatment, bring your own flip flops, and robe. Chilled lemon or cucumber water is available. I have had several masseuses during my visits; each massage was a little different, but all were heavenly. My opinion is that you cannot find a better spa experience in this area for $79.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    83
    26
    19
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Caves are worth the trip”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I tried the caves only. You definitely need sandals. You walk down a flight of stairs into the caves which have a sulfur smell from the hot spring water. The cave is underground and has separate chambers. It's a little creepy and not recommended for someone who has bad anxiety or is cloister-phobic. The caves are on the small side. There were only about 5 other people there at the same time. Would not be very enjoyable if there is a lot of people.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DK_KNIGHT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“YAY for a uniquely-relaxing experience at Yampa!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I relaxed with a mineral bath before venturing into the hot, hot, hot... And wonderfully humid... Vapor caves. The steam does amazing things for your breathing and your skin and is quite relaxing if you can bear it! This is a unique and recommended experience. Way better than any suana. The only negative is that the exterior and interior could use some updating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooners_811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

AVEDA facial was amazing. My wife & I chose the longer 50 minute facial instead of the package deal... which was well worth the extra $$. Great back, neck and shoulder massage to work out those computer knots. The Vapor Caves are perfect for detoxing those clogged city pores.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kneading Detox”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Opted for the facial and back massage combo. The cost is $100 for 50 minutes total. By adding a service you get the cave cost thrown in for "free." The caves cost $12 and includes a towel and hospital type robe. The facial, with Aveda products, was rushed and is on the top floor. If climbing three flights doesn't sound like a great experience, skip the facial. The massage rooms are located on the main floor. Ashley worked deep into the muscle tissue, much needed to pull out the kinks of computer work. You can enjoy the vapor caves before and after your service. The first area is the least hot and as you travel deeper into the cave, the heat intensifies. Not for the claustrophobic! There are buckets provided to add cold water for your feet as well as a hose and attached shower. It's technically a quiet zone but we managed to strike up a conversation with a couple on where to eat in our next stop in Dillon. The changing room is very small. If you're heading over to the hot springs pool, just keep your swimsuit on and walk over.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vlw923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yampah Spa and Vapor Caves also viewed

 

Been to Yampah Spa and Vapor Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing