We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hooked on The Happy Cooker”
Review of The Happy Cooker

The Happy Cooker
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Renovated victorian 1800's property with a large (seasonal) outdoor patio. Wine, beer, cocktails. Vegetarian and gluten free options available. Breakfast all day!
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
246 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Hooked on The Happy Cooker”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I were fortunate to discover The Happy Cooker last winter when we cane to the Georgetown Christmas Market. We returned with friends in August for a morning train ride on the historic route of the Georgetown Loop Railroad. After our ride, we were ready for lunch or a late breakfast. At our suggestion, several of our group walked the short distance with us to The Happy Cooker. We opted to sit outside under the large umbrellas. The inside seating was attractive also. Three of our choices from the breakfast menu were: a perfectly cooked waffle with fresh strawberries, whipped cream and two flavors of syrup along with sausage; bagels with smoked salmon, capers, onions and fruit; and a plate of huevos rancheros. All our breakfasts were hearty, delicious and reasonably priced. Our cheerful waitress spent time chatting with us. The Happy Cooker made us happy eaters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    102
    36
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always Tasty”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We go there a few times a year. The food is home style, filling and well made. The service is slower but you aren't in Denver. You're sitting in the sun or in the warm dining room depending. It's time to relax, enjoy the atmosphere and the food. I've never had a bad meal here. I love their waffles. The salads are always fresh and the drinks cold. I recommend it often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rollinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCalla, AL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My daughter and I spent her birthday shopping in Georgetown and decided to try this restaurant. Love the atmosphere! It is a perfect place to have a girls' day out luncheon - the food was good and the portions were amazing! Had so much fun watching the hummingbirds outside the restaurant window... would love to eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bamagirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A very relaxing environment. The staff was attentive to our short time table and made sure that our order and meal was taken care of quickly. And yes, the food/drinks were good too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BSC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lunch for two”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Whilst making an unplanned visit to Georgetown, which is well worth a visit, we decided to stay and have some lunch before driving through the Guenella Pass, also worth the time and effort of doing. We stopped at the Happy Cooker which looked to be quite popular. We elected to sit inside due to it being a very hot day and the outside seating area being fully occupied. The surroundings were quite nice as was the food. The only drawback really was the noise level of the waitress. Though she was trying to be helpful she was extremely loud and throughout our meal all we could hear was her speaking to other customers!! We would eat here again but would wear ear plugs!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank babaDADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Cooker also viewed

 

Been to The Happy Cooker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing