We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Santa Train - Georgetown Loop” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad

Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Georgetown Loop Railroad was one of Colorado’s first visitor attractions. Completed in 1884, this spectacular stretch of three-foot narrow gauge railroad was considered an engineering marvel for its time. This is a ride to remember! The beauty of the rugged Rocky Mountains surrounds you as our old-time steam locomotive or one of our powerful diesel locomotives winds up the Clear Creek canyon. Pass by remains of gold and silver mines and breathtaking views along the line, in fully enclosed and open cars. Great family fun for kids of all ages.
Broomfield
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Santa Train - Georgetown Loop”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I couldn't have been more disappointed in the Santa Train Georgetown Loop railroad ride. First, I had booked "first class" tickets for our whole family, 6 people. I thought that because the tickets were more expensive that you would get something a little different than all the other seating on the train... wrong! The train was over sold so we got shoved into the front car that was exactly the same as all of the other cars. Then Santa and Mrs. Claus arrived for approximately 5 minutes, just long enough for the train photographer to take a photo with them. We didn't see them again for the rest of the hour long ride. The on-line description before I bought the tickets stated that they served cookies and hot cocoa. This is only partially true. They came through asked if you wanted a soda or water, then gave you a pre-packaged cookie or a bag of potato chips, ... really? No cocoa.
Then the photographer came back and tried to sell you the photograph they had taken for $20, again, really? It seemed just like an opportunity to make even more $$ from you as a tourist. The kids were wondering where Santa was the whole time, I guess he was too busy taking photos?? They and I were very disappointed.

I just feel they could have made the experience so much better by just doing some simple things. Serving cookies not in a package. Serving hot cocoa. Maybe having an elf in each car leading Christmas carols, or telling stories, Instead we really felt like we were like a bunch of cattle, herded on the train and rushed off as the next group was waiting when we returned to the station, This is definetly a DO NOT DO for Christmas & anytime of the year!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
19 Thank BSB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown L, Manager at Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback. It is appreciated, and please know that we have taken your suggestions into planning for the 2013 season.

We served the hot chocolate in the depot rather than on the train and I am sorry that it was not pointed out to you and your family. The vast majority of days we did have home made cookies, but on occasion we did run out and had to use prepackaged cookies. It sounds like you visited on a very busy day and I apologize that our service suffered. As can be seen by many other reviews, we performed very well most of the time. We will be much better prepared for next season. We plan to have home made cookies and hot chocolate on future Santa trains.

Just for clarification, there is a difference between first class seating and general boarding. The first class seating offers nicer accommodations in that those cars have tables, chairs and refreshments.

Thanks again for your feedback and suggestions. We really like the idea of having an elf in each car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    228
    75
    27
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweeny,Tx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“unfortunately not worth the time or $$$”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I hate to give this place a bad review because everyone was so nice. But, I really wish I hadn't wasted the money. The trip is 1 hr long; 30 mins one way then you stop for a few minutes then make the same trip backwards. So, you get to see all the same lights that you just saw a few minutes earlier. The lights really weren't much to look at either. Obviously we were on a night trip it may be better during the day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown L, Manager at Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for the opinion. We have taken your thoughts into consideration and made some scheduling changes. I believe you rode on the "Holiday Lights" train which did depart after sunset. The huge advantage of the Georgetown Loop is riding up and down the very scenic valley so we have scheduled the "Holiday Lights' trains this year to depart while there is still some light to enjoy the scenery and to arrive at the synchronized music and light show just when it becomes dark enough to really enjoy the show.

Thanks again for your feedback, it was very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy the ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a fun way to get out of the car and enjoy the experience of riding in a historic train pulled by a real steam engine. This attraction is one which is accessible for all ages (even if they have a little trouble getting around).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coloradomitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arabi, Louisiana
Level Contributor
170 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Looked Really Nice! Unfortunate Situation, Read My Review!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked 30+ guys on a trip to Denver to see our beloved New Orleans Saints take on the Broncos in October 2012. Upon getting to the railroad everything was fine and we were early so we took a ride a few minutes away to eat, drink and be merry at the Apline Restaurant and Bar. If you have a chance go eat here as they have homemade meatballs, pizza and the best SOUP ever! Enjoyed watching football as we ate and waited for our turn on the railroad.

When it was our time to ride on the train in our first class area we pulled up at the location to find the train had broken down for the first time in about 2 years (just our luck). They said it would be shut down for the day so we went back to the Alpine Restaurant and Bar.

Disappointed we did not get to ride but seeing it when we arrived the first time I could tell it was going to be a great experience. Something to look forward to next time.

Although I did not get to ride on the train I do believe I would recommend it. Great for families, groups, friends etc.

Probably would have been 5 stars had it not broken down!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Garth3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Great Historical Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Every child, young and old, should take this train ride and experience a short trip though American history. Georgetown is in the center of what was America's silver-mining industry in the mid and late 1800's. If you have a chance, take the evening dinner ride in their historic dinner car and enjoy a light dinner, drinks (there is a bar), great scenery, and listen to the narrative about the area. You won't regret it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing