We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Historical Ride”

Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Georgetown Loop Railroad was one of Colorado’s first visitor attractions. Completed in 1884, this spectacular stretch of three-foot narrow gauge railroad was considered an engineering marvel for its time. This is a ride to remember! The beauty of the rugged Rocky Mountains surrounds you as our old-time steam locomotive or one of our powerful diesel locomotives winds up the Clear Creek canyon. Pass by remains of gold and silver mines and breathtaking views along the line, in fully enclosed and open cars. Great family fun for kids of all ages.
Salinas, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Great Historical Ride”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Every child, young and old, should take this train ride and experience a short trip though American history. Georgetown is in the center of what was America's silver-mining industry in the mid and late 1800's. If you have a chance, take the evening dinner ride in their historic dinner car and enjoy a light dinner, drinks (there is a bar), great scenery, and listen to the narrative about the area. You won't regret it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    250
    82
    29
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Santa Train”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We took our children to ride the Santa train last weekend and we all had such a good time! The staff were all so attentive and friendly. Everything was ontime and ran smoothly. I highly recommend this outing for anyone with children that want an extra special trip with Santa!

Helpful?
Thank Tamilawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner disappointed.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We rode the train for a Holiday Party with 90 people; the dinner was very disappointing. Dinner was a couple of small slices of ham, a couple of appetizers and very small beets served in a plastic box. It would be much better to have served a Ham sandwich, it would have been more satisfying. Most of us went out to dinner after the train ride. And I agree that the lights are cheesy.
I rode the dinner train in the fall we had lobster and steak; it was good. The trees were gorgeous, the aspens were turning yellow. I was looking forward to this; however, I will not take the train at night again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pinot80439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown L, Manager at Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback.

We did an unacceptable job of explaining that the train you were riding was definitely not a dinner train. Unfortunately, we are unable to serve hot food on the Holiday Trains and we advertised this train as a "Holiday Cheer" train with appetizers and drinks. For next season we are eliminating this service due to the confusion.

We want to make certain that our guests never mistake a Dinner Train for another one of our services which only offers snacks. Our dinner trains offer such amenities as steak and lobster (which you noted in your review) or rib eye and trout and those have received many excellent reviews.

I apologize for the confusion and understand why you may have been disappointed if you were expecting the same high level of food quality we provide on our regular Dinner Trains.

Thanks very much for your assistance in clearing the misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Santa Express Train”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Took the Christmas train with my grandkids. Absolutely beautiful and magical experience. The website was clunky and did not provide a schedule, but calling to inquire was easy enough.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank delores c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Christmas Lights Train is a Delight”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I can't say what the Railroad trip is like throughout the year, but my wife and I enjoyed the Christmas Lights trip, especially since it was one of the few times when somebody promised lights synchronized to music and actually delivered on it. If you go, we recommend you get the first class ticket - it's an inside car and includes a non-alcoholic beverage and snack. There's a full bar if you want something stronger. A photographer takes pictures and offers them for sale (not sure of the price; we passed on the photos), along with the same print on a keychain. The ride itself was enjoyable - about 25 minutes up to the lights, about 20 minutes enjoying them along with the Christmas songs, and then about 15 minutes back. All in all, an enjoyable excursion, especially if you have young children.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TheObjectiveCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing