We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it, spend your time and money else where” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad

Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Georgetown Loop Railroad was one of Colorado’s first visitor attractions. Completed in 1884, this spectacular stretch of three-foot narrow gauge railroad was considered an engineering marvel for its time. This is a ride to remember! The beauty of the rugged Rocky Mountains surrounds you as our old-time steam locomotive or one of our powerful diesel locomotives winds up the Clear Creek canyon. Pass by remains of gold and silver mines and breathtaking views along the line, in fully enclosed and open cars. Great family fun for kids of all ages.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not worth it, spend your time and money else where”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We took a trip on Nov 4. I booked over the phone on the same day for the 2:00 PM ride while still at Denver hotel. We arrived just before noon and asked for switching to an earlier ride at 12:45 and was told, politely, that we had to pay an extra $4 pp to make the change. And the ride wasn't full. I don't think it would affect their business one way or another.
For $26 pp, we only got "coach" class. We had to sit sideways and looking towards front or back was not pleasant to the neck. Worst part is, there was not much to see! I am pretty sure between driving around the town and on I-70, you will not miss much. Because on the train, we interwound with I-70 many times.
To be fair, if you are into the history of mining and want to "experience" what the condition was like hundred years ago, this trip may offer some unique perspective. If you are looking for tourist attraction, spend your time and money elsewhere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank UniqueDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    228
    75
    27
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A nice way to spend an hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very interesting if you are into trains and gold mining and the "wild west" in general.

We rode in the parlor car and enjoyed some complimentary snacks as well as a hot coffee drink spiked with our favorite spirit. The coffee drink was extra but nice on a cold snowy day.

The scenery is pretty. The parlor car is comfortable. There is a little bit of history shared with us by the conductor. We thought it was just the right amount of time and was just as advertised.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank catgirl398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This attraction is well planned and well organized but it expensive and short. The trip last only an hour and travels only 3 miles before returning over the same track that it went up. Their claim is that this is the only railroad that loops over it self and it is an interesting excursion with a lot of history. We upgraded to the first class car and there you get a free beverage and nice seats at a table where you can purchase a salad or other lite food items. Would we make this trip again? Probably not unless the price was lowered or the trip was extended. Since there isn't any more track either above or below what exists today a longer trip probably isn't anywhere in the foreseeable future.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NorthglennBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced and very short”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I was not impressed. I bought a half price ticket for two people on Living Social. The ride is an hour. The sliver mine tour is closed this time of the year. It's really expensive for a one hour ride. The seats in coach are in a box car with benches that line the walls. There are better train rides in Colorado that are a better value and more interesting. I would have liked to hear the commentary on the train but the speakers were terrible. This would be good for small children but the scenery wasn't even great. Go to the depot, take a photo of the train on the bridge and save yourself the $26.

Helpful?
3 Thank GN303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“family train ride was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Took our 6 year old and two elderly parents,for a short day trip from Boulder. The drive was predominantly highway, with the railroad viewable from Intestate 70. We were worried about the amount of walking needed to access the train, as my parents have difficulty getting around, but the train entrance was only steps from the parking area, and they made the walk easily.
We all enjoyed the ride, as it was rustic, butthere were cars that were more comfortable, with beverages. The round trip was approximately 11/2 hours, and we all enjoyed it. They have open air cars and heated cars, which was necessary with temps around 35-40 degrees.
Would recommend this ride to any age.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing