We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip It!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Georgetown Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Skip It!”
Reviewed March 23, 2007

We didn't think TOO much about paying $80 for a night at Super 8, because this property is allegedly a "Pride of Super 8". I have stayed at "Pride of Super 8's" before and they are typically not bad. And this one looks cute on the internet, designed to look like something out of the old west. This is what we encountered at the Not-So-Super 8 in Georgetown, Colorado:
1. An entrance with filthy doors, tattered carpeting, and a general look of uncleanliness.
2. A very nice innkeeper at the check-in desk.
3. Bedsheets that truly looked like they had not been laundered after the last guest. I slept in full clothing to avoid contact with them.
4. A room with insufficient lighting - slightly better than a haunted house.
5. Wallpaper with holes in it, scuff marks all over it, bubbles from improper application.
6. A tiny bathroom that is literally 5' x 5'.
7. After falling asleep at about 10:30, 30 minutes later I awoke to drops of water hitting my face. It was raining outside and water, LOTS OF IT, was dripping through the ceiling right onto our heads.
8. I called the front desk and asked to be moved to another room. The same innkeeper was still on duty, and she was so nice I almost felt bad for being angry about being woke up with the Chinese water torture.
9. The only available room was a smoking room. It smelled so incredibly bad that it was a toss-up as to whether we should sleep in the wet bed or in the room with the stench. We remained in the smoking room, and I couldn't wait until the sun came up so we could get out of there.
10. We went to check out at 7:15 a.m., and there was a sign on the front desk saying that the desk clerk was in the breakfast area. I could not believe my eyes that the same poor lady was STILL on duty 15 hours after we checked in. Not only was she running the front desk but she was also preparing the breakfast for a full house. Bless her heart, she hurried to the desk, gave us a 10% discount and apologized for our soggy and smelly experiences, and scurried back to the breakfast nook to continue getting breakfast ready. It's enough to make one feel guilty for being on vacation. Could we please send the Peace Corps in to help run this place or something?!?
BOTTOM LINE - you can find a much better place for the money. Stay closer to Denver, or go up I-70 as far as Dillon/Frisco.

  • Liked — The innkeeper was a very nice person.
  • Disliked — Everything besides the innkeeper.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoKat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    80
    147
    82
    76
See reviews for
140
141
52
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2007

Excellent value - my friends and I planned to ski on Copper Mountain and Winter Park during the week-end. Our room overlooked the central courtyard and was very pleasant (I hear some other rooms face the road). The hotel has a nice rustic breakfast room/lounge, and a small tub we didn't use. I could indeed hear the neighbors through the paper-thin walls, but it's a minor discomfort considering location and price. Friendly staff as well.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank P2fito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

There was a snow storm on February 16, which closed down I 70. We called the afternoon of the 16th to cancel. There were no rooms available anywhere in the area that night. The room we canceled was very likely taken by someone stranded by the storm. Super 8 Motel went ahead and charged us for the room even though they sold the room to someone else. What a rip! These guys are lame! If you are booking on line from out of town, beware. Mountain weather can force you to change plans in a moment's notice. Book with someone who will be a little more understanding, and not try to profit from the situation.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Rip off artists running the place.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank ronzilla2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUPER8GEORGETOWN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Georgetown Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2007
Although we would like you to enjoy Colorado we understand that sometime cancellation are no fault of our guest. We have a 24 hour cancellation policy which is clearly communicated on our website and verbally when customers book rooms. 24 hours is plenty of time to get weather reports and make changes in plans. Cancellations that occur before 24 hours are handled on a case by case basis.


Please do not allow this reviewer to scare you. Road closures in the mountains are rare and if they occur they are short. I-70 is the major corridor for travelers to the mountains and state spends considerable amount of money to keep the roads in good conditions and open. Our economy depends on this. However if you are concerned about interruptions to your travel plans then we recommend getting travel insurance. This insurance is readily available and cheap. All major travel companies offer this protection.


Rooms that are sold to reservations are not available to be sold to anyone else and are effectively taken off the market. We cannot sell reserved rooms to any stranded customers even though they are willing to pay a higher price or are desperate. This is our binding agreement to our customers when they reserve a room. When customers call late to cancel reservations the prevailing market conditions might have considerably changed. We are under no obligation to find another customer for a canceled room, but we do so out of courtesy.


This person called late afternoon (45 minutes past check-in time) on the same day of arrival and 20 minutes before the highway opened to cancel his reservation. After reviewing his case we determined that we could not cancel his reservation. However we did not sell his room and held the room until the next day for his arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Georgetown hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 30, 2005

I loved this property. The staff was excellant and very friendly. The rooms were clean. This property is unique since it looks like an old western town. Nestled in the mountain this is an excellant value for the money. I stayed here and skied in Winter Park and Breckenridge. Consider this property first before you pay much more money to stay in the resorts.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2004

Overall this is a fine place to stay for the cost. The rooms are clean and well kept, and there is a pool table & other games available. The best thing is the fresh popcorn they provide all day in the lounge area, from a movie-theatre type popper.
All rooms have either 1 or two queen size beds, and there is also a TV, but that is all (no fridge, no hairdryer).
The hotel is also right on the highway, which is convenient for finding it, but no so nice for scenery. The noise from the highway wasn't bad from our room (but we were not in the rooms closest to the highway).
The rooms are very dark - with only one small window near the door. Expect to need the lights on all day.
The thing we had the most trouble with was noise from other units. I could hear the people next door snoring, but the most noise came from the upstairs unit. They weren't doing anything interesting - just watching TV (which I could hear along with them) and talking - but until 1:30 in the morning! And they had kids, so don't know why they weren't asleep earlier! Then at 3am we had a group of people outside making a racket - which is heard very clearly! The noise didn't worry my husband as much as he is a very sound sleeper (although even he was woken a couple of times). If you bring your ear-plugs, or don't mind the noise then this is the place for you!
The free breakfast was good, with cereal, juice, coffee, toast, bagels, english muffins and pastries.

Helpful?
13 Thank rpar003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
12.2 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
11.5 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
11.3 mi away
Century Hotel and Casino
Century Hotel and Casino
#2 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#3 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
0.4 mi away
Georgetown Mountain Inn
Georgetown Mountain Inn
#3 of 6 in Georgetown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Georgetown Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Georgetown Lodge

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Georgetown Lodge
Address: 1600 Argentine Street, Georgetown, CO 80444 (Formerly Super 8 Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Georgetown Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fun of skiing, ice fishing, hiking, and mining history Georgetown, Colorado has to offer while staying at the Americas Best Value Inn Georgetown Lodge, the best choice for business and fun seekers alike. Ideally situated only a few miles from Loveland Ski Area and Lawson Adventure Park, our hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 70 on Argentine Street. Key local attractions include Georgetown Lake, Georgetown Firefighting Museum, and the old Phoenix Gold Mine. Our knowledgeable and helpful staff can recommend what best suits your travel itinerary. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free continental breakfast. Our property offers an array of modern amenities including free coffee in the lobby, ATM machine, guest laundry facility, and picnic area with table. Sorry, no pets are allowed. Our 54 guest rooms feature amenities such as mini-fridge, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, table with chairs, and alarm clock radio. An iron and ironing board are available upon request. Americas Best Value Inn Georgetown Lodge is your best choice while staying in the "Silver Queen of Colorado" given the town's extensive mining background. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for fun on the mountains, hiking trails, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Denver or Aspen. At Americas Best Value Inn Georgetown Lodge our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Georgetown Lodge, we've got you covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Georgetown Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Georgetown Hotel Georgetown
Super Eight Georgetown
Georgetown Super Eight
Georgetown Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing