We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful summer driving through Loveland pass”
Review of Loveland Ski Area

Loveland Ski Area
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 400 inches of snowfall a year, this resort boasts some of the best skiing in the state and one of the longest seasons.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Beautiful summer driving through Loveland pass”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Wow! What an amazing site to behold. Being from the east coast I have never seen such a vast beautiful mountain landscape. This is a must see for everyone! Be prepared for the temperature drop at the summit and possible weather issues when climbing. Every direction is beautiful to look at. There is a nice parking area at the summit to stop and get some beautiful pictures! Take exit for Loveland route 6 before Eisenhower tunnel for a truly scenic drive!

Helpful?
2 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    90
    8
    7
    5
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place for 1st time skiers & groups!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I lead a group of students up each winter & it's the perfect spot --one of the closest ski spots to Denver and they have a good newbie/beginning hill area that works well for 1st timers. Other ski resorts may have slightly better facilities and larger cafeterias/food options, but Loveland is the only place I take groups because it's the best value for your money & the close location! :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank saritaskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ski School Grad!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Thanks to the patience of ski instructor Art, I went from never ever wearing skis to skiing down what I as a novice would call a daunting hill. The ski lesson was totally worth it! Best part of the experience was learning from the encouraging, calm, composed and did I mention patient instructor Art. The ski rental and registration process was chaotic to say the least but the ski lesson, beautiful ski grounds and price more than made up for it. Very memorable day!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessidrpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Go where the locals ski!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is where the locals from Denver and area go to ski.It has wide open space to ski anywhere and everywhere plus great pisted runs from the very top ridge all the way down to the car park. . Loveland is on the Georgetown side of the Eisenhower Tunnel with skiing on top of the Continental Divide. Best of all, it cheap compared with the ski resorts of nearby Summit County.
A season pass for a senior costs just $89.- Book a set of five ski lessons and they will give you a pass for the rest of the seaso the resort continues to make improvments each year and a new cabin and set of restrooms have been opened up on the mountain.
A free-of-charge cat was put up on the top ridge for this season. It takes skiers along the top ridge at 13,100 feet so that they can access the steep front face all the way down from the top!

Helpful?
2 Thank grampiantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We decided on Loveland as a family spring break trip. We were looking for great skiing without all the frills and the price tag that comes with some of the bigger resorts. We bought the 4 pack of tickets in November for 2 adults and paid window price for the kids. We are not advanced skiers and wasn't sure what to expect. This place is great for everyone. There is a trail for each level. Beginners...don't be afraid to try out Loveland Basin. It is awesome! We haven't waited in line for anything and everyone has been friendly. Great skiing at a great price....and we found powder in April!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skifam04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loveland Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Loveland Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing