We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager was rude rooms were loud and awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown Mountain Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 11, 2008

The Manager was rude!! The rooms were dirty and beds were so worn out they were flat. It was noisy all night!! I dont think they even washed the towels or bedding.When i asked for the owners number the manager refused to give it to me and hung up the phone. You couldnt pay me to stay here again .

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank michellecolo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTINN, Manager at Georgetown Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2009

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear your stay at Georgetown Mountain Inn was not upto expectation. Our establishment has a new owner, manager, and staff since October 2008. We are family owned, and have been at hard work improving people's stay here. We have improved our rooms with new beds, bedding, comforters, sheets, pillows, sheets, and more. We hope our past and future customers will check us out and give us additional reviews! Thank you!


Please feel free to contact us with any questions or comments at gtinn@mho.net.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Georgetown Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 164 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2008

So I found this place online looking for a place between Copper Mountain and Winter Park since I have photo shoots at both locations. It's in tiny Georgetown which is a tiny town off I-70.

The staff were super nice when I checked in and the rooms are pretty basic. I opened up the folder the hotel places in the rooms and there was a filled out comment sheet. It had wise tips saying how the room takes forever to warm up so I turned up the heat before I went out to get dinner, etc.

So that's a good tip, if you are here in the winter, turn up the heat right away. My room is nice and warm now and there's free WiFi in the rooms which I'm also using now. Good spot for a nice basic room. Nothing special so maybe not the best for something romantic but a good place to stop for a night.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank genex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Severe disappointment. Uncomfortable beds. Rude staff. Other guests (or employees?) literally kept us awake all night 3 of the 4 nights we stayed, clomping up and down the stairs and across the room upstairs. Complained to the desk, nothing done. Asked for clean towels and was told to get them from the swimming pool area. There were none there. Room never cleaned and towels never replaced during our stay. United AL had misplaced our bags and we were assured by hotel staff that they'd accept and keep them for us when delivered. The delivery man came with our bags and the hotel staff didn't accept them- sent them back to Denver. All in all a very negative experience.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marcusdarnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We booked a "colorado" room which has been decorated in a western style with rough-cut furniture - which is surprisingly uncomfortable. The room was ok, and reasonable value for money - though if there was more choice, we wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redlizziem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Pool and hot tub close at 9:30?? Walls are way too thin, staff was staying above us and was SO LOUD. The beds are terribly uncomfortable and the furniture, albeit pretty, was impractical, unusable, and overall big and clumsy. Won't stay again, don't recommend it, the staff is VERY ODD. Stay somewhere else, but still visit Georgetown, its a lovely place.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SuckaDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We expected a much nicer place since it is called an 'Inn'. It is a motel by anyone's standards. The rooms are noisy, the walls very thin. Starting to show its age for sure. The bed was comfortable though and the furniture nice. There is no air conditioning so keep in mind it will be warm on some hot nights. No room service unless you stay beyond 2 nights. We asked for cleans towels and they were provided. Coffee and muffins are offered for breakfast. In Georgetown the Happy Cooker is excellent. I stayed here for the Georgetown to Idaho Springs 1/2 marathon - a great place to stay for that race since you can be to the start line in 5 minutes if being dropped off. The rates are reasonable. Check out is 11:00 which is nice.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank COAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2007

I booked a stay at this inn as part of a Loveland Vacations Ski and Stay package. A friend was joining me for 2 days skiing at Loveland Basin, and the goal was to get lodging that was as close as possible to the slopes, clean, and not too noisy.

All in all, mission accomplished. Georgetown Mountain Inn is about 10 miles down I-70 from Loveland--but there isn't anyplace closer. The Inn is essentially a motel, but as motels go, it's a nice one. The lobby has free coffee, juice, and muffins at 7 AM--are you reading this, Denver Marriott City Center?--and the room was clean. It's near the two-block-long historic downtown Georgetown, where you can get some decent food if you know where to look. (NOT Nacho Mama's! But more on that later.) There's also a great little breakfast diner right around the corner on the same side of the road.

As for quiet--well, it depends on who's in the next room. The first night, there was no one, and it was great. The next night a carload of Eastern Europeans rolled in, and we could hear every word uttered in their conversations, which were conducted with the tone and volume one would expect in an outdoor market selling live animals. This charming habit ,coupled with the thin walls, meant that for a light sleeper like me, even earplugs didn't help much. The hotel has a quiet-hours policy kicking in at 10 PM--but it took a call to the front desk to get this enforced.

The room itself is bedecked in faux wood paneling, and the furniture is a thick-posted rough-hewn "hunting lodge" kind of style.

There is a hot tub; it closes at 9:30. It seemed always to be filled with middle-aged people and their kids.

The only slightly weird thing about this inn were the signs noting that your room won't be "serviced" unless you specifically ask for it the night before. We were actually OK with that; I mean, do you wash your sheets every day at home? Still--kind of off-putting. But someone came in while we were skiing and left some fresh towels, and that made up for it. One nice touch is that there's free Internet in the lobby--but no printer, so forget printing your return-trip boarding pass. The TV is OK, but the channel guide on the wall was way off. The thermostat had a mind of its own (and usually kept us too warm)--but that's everywhere these days.

They do allow pets in some rooms, and I think I heard a dog bark at some point.

I'd say that if you're one of the few out-of-towners who are actually planning a vacation at local-fave Loveland, rather than the much more touristy big resorts farther west (and are thus a frugal type who can handle some quirks), then this inn will serve your needs adequately. I was annoyed at the noise, but the options for lodging near Loveland are limited. When you make the reservation, ask to be put near some old people.

By the way, if you're expecting Mexican food in Colorado and you grew up in the South or Southwest, stick with Chipotle while you're in Colorado. Nacho Mama's(a new place in downtown G'town) didn't even have fajitas or enchiladas on the menu--just tacos, tamales, and burritos. And the margaritas were weak. And they charge for chips and salsa. But the Red Ram Rathskeller had decent (underflavored but tender) chicken fajitas, and my friend liked his chili burger. They have happy hour till 7PM.

There's also a Czech restaurant in Georgetown; that could've been interesting.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WashDCMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
19.7 mi away
Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
23.1 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#2 of 21 in Frisco
310 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Georgetown Lodge
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Chamonix
Hotel Chateau Chamonix
#1 of 6 in Georgetown
276 reviews
2.0 mi away
Historic Windsor Hotel B&B
Historic Windsor Hotel B&B
#1 of 2 in Silver Plume
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Mountain Inn

Address: 1100 Rose St., P.O. Box 277, Georgetown, CO 80444-0277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range: $118 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Georgetown Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with king size beds, 2 doubles, 2 doubles and a single, 2 queens, and a suite with a bedroom and a full kitchen. Upstairs and downstairs rooms available. Heated indoor pool, outdoor hot tub. Wireless internet included. Coffee, muffins, and juice included. Pets allowed in designated rooms. 5 Minute walk from Historic Georgetown, and 5 minute drive from the Georgetown Lake. 11 Miles to Loveland, and A-Basin, Keystone, Breckenridge, Copper, Vail, and Winter Park within 60 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Georgetown Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Mountain Hotel Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing