We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the middle of nowhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Chamonix
Ranked #1 of 6 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Luxury in the middle of nowhere!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We needed a place to stay in Georgetown so we could do the hike up to Mt. Bierstadt, a 14,000 ft peak closeby, so we pretty much stumbled upon Chateau Chamonix by accident. They make you feel special from the moment you walk in the door. Each room has a private balcony with a hot tub. You also receive a glass of wine each evening and an incredible breakfast of crossiants (one plain and one chocolate), mixed fruit and fresh orange juice. If you're looking for a romantic setting, this place is perfect!

Room Tip: Next time, I might choose a second floor room so you are overlooking the river from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lahord59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    31
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
191
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I found this hotel on line and booked it for us and two other couples - a bit of a risk since we'd never been there or heard much about it. It was better that great. Beautifully appointed rooms with luxurious appointments. The private hot-tub was a great way to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast was delivered to the room each morning - freshly baked croissants and fruit - and the hosts were just delightful.

This is not a place to take the kids. But it's a great place to relax with friends and your honey.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back face open to the creek - great sound to fall asleep to. There's no elevator so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZGrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The croissants in the morning are made fresh everyday, they fill the hotel a few minutes before they are delivered and you won't be disappointed. The box they are delivered in (see pictures) is a really nice touch because you don't get interrupted while you are getting ready in the morning.The rooms are extremely clean and well-maintained. The staff is friendly and always available. I suggest the creek side rooms on the top floor, as you have your own private balcony with a nice view of the creek and also have access to a hot tub just feet away from your room. The town is within walking distance, as are plenty of nice restaurants. I suggest a few: The Happy Cooker for breakfast or lunch. And Euro Grill for dinner. Also wood fired pizza at Alpine Inn at least once. Arapaho National Forest is a quick drive away and many cities are within an hour or less either east or west of Georgetown which make this a perfect home base for exploring. I can say for certain, we will be back.

Room Tip: Creek side, balcony on second level seems the ideal choice here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bthugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Unfortunately we could only spend one night at the Hotel Chateau Chamonix. A great little hotel with a French / Swiss appeal. We were greeted by Kathy and instantly made to feel like ole friends. Owner Marie Claude Williams has done a beautiful of restoring this former bar/hotel to it's current state. Marie, like Kathy, makes you feel so much at home. The hotel is located on a Colorado trout stream with rooms with streamside balconys. The glass of wine in the evening along with a delicious French breakfast of pastery and juice is just another of the hotels fine touches. The hotel is a must stay if you are in the area. (a short distance from Denver and close to the Rocky Mountain National Park along with miles of fantastic Colorado beauty) The downtown area of Georgetown is not to be missed either with it's restaurants (Happy Cooker and Euro Grill) and neat shops.

Room Tip: Don't miss this hotel and town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truebearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was in CO for a quick weekend away from San Diego, visiting special places from when I'd lived on the Front Range years ago.

On Sunday night I was on I-70 headed toward Denver and slowed in end-of-weekend traffic. Fatigued, I'd remembered that Georgetown is a picturesque, historic town known for its annual festive holiday market; saw two hotels on the interstate info sign, "Super 8" and "Hotel Chateau Chamonix" and I made my choice.

Exited, approached their new roundabout and there, just steps away, was the completely redone French alpine chalet with decorated cut-out wooden slats, flower boxes, welcoming. I walked into the foyer, casually elegant with mountain decor + Euro antiques, and was immediately greeted by Donna. I was impressed with the new-like feeling of the place, and quality of its furnishings and finishes.

For not much more than the price of a mid-to-lower-end lodge I'd just stayed in in Brawley, this place was a TREAT. I was offered wine, given a tour of their fully outfitted upstairs common/relaxation area, shown the hot tub under the stars and escorted to my room next to the river. Dark wood armoire, fridge, microwave, Euro coffee maker, designer accessories in the bedroom and en suite bath. Antiqued plastered walls, wrought iron light fixtures, seating area, wall TV with satellite programming, king bed with high threadcount sheets and luxe duvet. Bath all marble with antique cabinet sink and half-glass wall shower stall for two. Glass-paned door to my private deck overlooking the water, corner kiva button switch gas fireplace. And a pass-through cabinet to the hallway for personal morning Continental breakfast delivery to enjoy at my leisure.

Just elegant. I asked if I could stay an additional day, and said that I was a delighted and very happy woman.

The owners are a couple, the wife a retired United flight attendant who's very well-traveled and a fascinating conversationalist. She designed the property and has also run others.

And oh, John Larouquette was also a guest there, very low-key.

I'd stay again, in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I spent one night at the Hotel Chateau Chamonix in Georgetown on a business trip - my travel department found a winner in this little beauty. It's a small boutique hotel with very charming rooms, hot tubs as needed, and really nice amenities. The continental breakfast was served through a passageway into my room, right on time at 7:30. House baked croissants, plain and chocolate, were still warm when i got them. A fresh fruit cup and a glass of fresh orange juice rounded out the repast. Very friendly and knowledgable staff, very comfortable bed, and modern bathroom made the entire experience memorable, especially since the night before had been at a discount chain dump - the vagaries of business travel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook Clear Creek - all the rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvit2stever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed there 9/1/2012 and it was our first night away from the baby/Anniversary. The room was super clean and cozy. We had the creekside room and we left the door open all night to hear the creek. The bed was amazing. We loved the wine, hot tub, and waking up to brkft. We will be back soon. I tell everyone to go here asap:)

Room Tip: Get a creek side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristinarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
11.5 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,111 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
0.2 mi away
Georgetown Mountain Inn
Georgetown Mountain Inn
#3 of 6 in Georgetown
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Georgetown Lodge
8.5 mi away
The Silver Lake Lodge
The Silver Lake Lodge
#1 of 5 in Idaho Springs
176 reviews
2.1 mi away
Historic Windsor Hotel B&B
Historic Windsor Hotel B&B
#1 of 2 in Silver Plume
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Chamonix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Chamonix

Property: Hotel Chateau Chamonix
Address: 1414 Argentine St, P.O. Box 187, Georgetown, CO 80444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Chamonix 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a non smoking property. The Hotel Chateau Chamonix is a European-style, boutique hotel located in the Colorado Rockies, 40 miles west of Denver on I-70. It is an elegant, yet warm and comfortable, property for special get-a-ways or for those who desire more when they travel. All first floor rooms feature private patios with two-person hot tubs. Second floor rooms boast balconies, outstanding mountain views and share a large, common hot tub on a second floor deck. Many rooms are creekside. You will find nothing comparable to this unique property in the front range area on the way to the ski slopes. Check-in and enjoy a welcome glass of wine on us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chateau Chamonix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing