We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elies Resorts Sifnos
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vathi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Small, beautiful hotel located on a picturesque tiny bay, at Vathi where you feel as time has stopped. Staff is friendly and polite and helpful, this makes the hotel special as you feel like a guest not like a customer! A definite recommendation to any one visiting Sifnos!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seasatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Elies Resorts Sifnos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 91 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

We recently visited the Elies Resort in Sifnos. A wonderfully elegant resort, with warm, hospitable, and professional staff. Outstanding service especially from Rita at Housekeeping who went out of her way to assist repair my basketbag. Certainly beyond the call of duty but it exemplified the personal attention that prevails. Our room, #404 was spacious, light, minimalistically modern along the LIM psyche and one that suited the environs. Breakfast was delicious and bountiful. An enjoyable stay in Sifnos where we met wonderful people. Highly recommend this resort hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kats0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

To begin with the hotel from the outside is great, that puts you into a very good mood. The hotel has the most helpful and charming staff. They kill themselves to serve you. But the rooms are another story. We reserved superior rooms ( four rooms ) at the rate of 390 Euros a night, although on their web site those rooms were described as with sitting area and large bathroom with bathtub and sea view, what we got was not that at all. None of our rooms mathced this description. Most were without sea view and sitting area, and ours had a very small toilet and a shower at the opposite end of the room. When we complained they tried to sell us the junior suites for 560 Euros a night when we refused they told us that the was full. The hotel was practically empty.So they wanted to push us to get the suites. The pool side restaurant has a very limited menu but the food is very tasty.
The main restaurant has fantastic service and food. It is expensive, but in a resort you expect that. The beach in front of the hotel, although has sufficient private sun area, is a public beach in very sorry condition and the sea is usually choppy with clean waters. The breakfast is incredible, it includes even Moet champagne and every sort of eggs and beverages. I would recomend this hotel conditionally.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank YakoDogiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Elies is a very special place and we felt lucky to be there! The whole property is beautifully done and carefully maintained. So much thought has been put into making Elies perfect, and the owners should feel very proud of what they have achieved here. It is located on a stunning bay, but set back from the beach so that is does not at all detract from the peaceful vibe of the area. Our room was very well designed and had excellent furniture, lighting, and art. It was immaculate, and was serviced twice a day by very kind and cheerful ladies. In fact, all the members of staff that we met were very cheerful and clearly proud of the resort. Everyone wanted to be sure that we were enjoying ourselves (we were!), and we could tell that they were enjoying/taking pride in their jobs. It is so much easier to relax when one knows that the staff is not planning a rebellion! Breakfast (included) is fantastic - anything you could ever want, and more! Champagne! And a view that will never disappoint! We ate all of our other meals at Manolis, just down the beach, because it is great and we adore the owners. We love Greece so much and have never found an island hotel that made us feel so relaxed, comfortable, and welcome. Can't wait to get back to Elies!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agapigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

I was just looking to see if there were any new comments on Elies and I am dismayed to see that my review never went through. I had to pop in and boost this rating and hopefully help someone.

I stayed at Elies in June. It was amazing. I was so impressed. The room was super clean, large, cozy. Had a nice casual style. Big bathroom with large (full size?) Korres toiletries. Big deck with amazing view, we had breakfast out here most days.

We spent everyday at the beach. We had just come from Santorini where we did a lot, so we enjoyed the change with relaxing days by the water. The water is nice and shallow and extremely calm. It was also very quiet when we were there. My husband took out a kayak but I don't know what else was available. One thing that was annoying was these little spiky things in the sand all around the chairs. They hurt so we had to wear our flip flops to the water and then back.

As for food, we had complimentary breakfast in our room most days. We did go to the restaurant a couple times but it was pretty much the same as room service. Food was simple but tasty. The worst part of the whole resort was the really rude guy that answers the phone for room service. I hated him. I mean, really despised. I used to make my husband call for breakfast because he was so horrible. He didn't like him either, but I refused to call anymore.

Dinner was usually at the restaurant on the beach next door to the hotel so I can't comment on Elies dinner. I forget the name of that place but it was cute and authentic. I loved the cheese on the horiatiki salad and asked the owner about it, since it wasn't feta. She said she makes it herself every day and she pointed out that my husbands meat was pork she raised herself. I recommend it if you stay at the hotel.

I try and stay at the best hotels I can possibly find. During this trip we stayed at the Grande Bretagne in Athens, and Mystique in Santorini, and Elies was definitely up there with these.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kaneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

A lot to say about this place....

My wife and I made this the first stop on our honeymoon because we wanted a lux hotel to relax in for a few days before heading out to other islands. The hotel's setting is beautiful. Vathi Bay is a sleepy little bayside village, and resort fits in nicely. The pool is absolutely amazing - probably the best part of the place. Our room was very nice - not super lux, but we just had the basic ocean view suite. It was very clean and new although furniture looked like it might be from IKEA.

The view from our room was a little bit obscured by the restaurant. When we asked to move to a different room, the front desk told us they couldn't even though the resort was basically empty. We were there in the middle of the week (Mon. thru Fri.). The hotel started to fill up towards the weekend, but during the week there weren't many people around. It was nice because we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves, but also a little weird. Like being the only people eating in a restaurant. I don't think many international travelers have found this place yet, and it seemed its clientele was other Greeks who came in for long weekends.

The beach is nice, not super amazing. It's small but nice and the water is calm and great for swimming. The bay is very nice. Sailboats and yachts come in during the days to anchor and swim. There isn't much to do in Vathi so don't expect a wild time. There a few beach-side tavernas that were good, and a couple mini-marts and that's about it. We would walk to the tavernas to eat lunch rather than the resort which was pretty pricey. You can walk the whole bay in probably ten minutes. We ate dinner at the resort restaurant one night which was very good, but it wasn't very Grecian. The breakfast buffet was huge and very good at the resort. It felt like the menu was purposely more international. We ate the rest of the nights at the local tavernas in Vathi. The tavernas feel very authentic (because they are) and are literally right on the bay - it’s a pretty awesome setting. One night we caught a cab to Appollonia and had dinner there and went out for drinks afterwards. The cab ride cost about 14 euros. If you plan on exploring the rest of the island, I would recommend renting a car because the resort is pretty isolated.

The service at the hotel was spotty. The front desk was kind of snotty and didn't make any effort to make us feel special about the honeymoon. The restaurant staff was very nice. The people at the pool bar were also a little snotty - although one of the bartenders was really nice and gave us great advice on places to go on the island.

The hotel had sea kayaks which we used in the bay. We were the first people in two years to use them and they didn't seem like they knew what do when we asked to use them. The bay is small and you can paddle around the whole thing in a half hour.

Overall summary: We had a great time. If you are looking for somewhere quiet, luxurious, in a beautiful surrounding to just relax and enjoy your time - this is your place. Just don't expect super warm service and be aware that the hotel still feels like its working out its growing pains. If you dropped the staff from a Four Seasons at this place, it would be the total package.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lak711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

We stayed at Elies for a wedding at the beginning of September and we all had a wonderful time. The location at the bay of Vathi is absolutely amazing with a lovely cove that is protected from the wind and offers a long sandy beach with easy access to the sea. The hotel blends in with the foot of the mountain and local arhitecture is respected. The gardens are beatifull and well maintained and rooms and villas are evenly spaced.
The 50 meter seawater pool with water and air jets is located close to the beach and the pool bar is only a few meters away.
The rooms are spacious, clean, and modern; the bathrooms are huge with lovely big soft towels and nice amenities. The service was friendly and polite and we were all made to feel at home. The food was excellent and breakfast a real treat with all kinds of eggs, bacon, sausages, smoked salmon, champagne, etc.
Having seen quite a few resort hotels in Greece, I would say that it is unique in style and location. The rates may be slightly high but there is definitely value for money and a great escape from daily life.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank chris88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vathi
4.2 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kamares
100 reviews
3.5 mi away
Petali Village Hotel
Petali Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Apollonia
200 reviews
1.9 mi away
Verina Suites
Verina Suites
#2 of 8 in Platis Gialos
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Niriedes Hotel
Niriedes Hotel
#1 of 8 in Platis Gialos
147 reviews
1.8 mi away
Platys Gialos
Platys Gialos
#4 of 8 in Platis Gialos
94 reviews
4.5 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elies Resorts Sifnos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elies Resorts Sifnos

Address: Vathi 84003, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Vathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vathi
Price Range: $335 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elies Resorts Sifnos 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elies Resorts – named after the Greek word for olive tree - was created in Sifnos with the aspiration of becoming a point of reference both on a national and international level. Elies Resorts comprises of 33 dwellings, distinguished in three different types – Superior Rooms, Suites, Pool Villas – according to the number of people they can accommodate and their zone planning. Guests can choose the type that suits best their preferences and their needs, as all dwellings guarantee a high-standard accommodation with all comforts available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Elies Resorts Sifnos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elies Resort Sifnos Hotel Sifnos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing