We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Ace”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vathi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agrilia - Apartments & Studios
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Simply Ace”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Superb location in a vehicle-free village in a stunning bay. Rooms are top value and couldn't be closer to the beach. Apartments with excellent sea-view and in direct sunshine till sunset, when it's time to go fishing.

Restaurant on the left run by Marinos Xanthakis (don't know if he's a relation) clearly the best in the bay. Waiter knows his food well, and was still pleasant and friendly at the end of the season.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

I booked this after reading the reviews here. It really is an amazing place to stay. Our room (3) was large and clean. It had its own kitchen area and, best of all, a large terrace that caught the sun from 11am to 6pm - no need to stagger the full 10 yards to the beach!
John (Ioannis) is very helpful, he will even lend you a wheelbarrow to get your suitcase along the beach to the bus/taxi stop!
This place is perfect for those who enjoy peace and quiet, value for money and are happy with a choice of a few tavernas to eat in and not a lot of nightlife.
Vathi is absolutely beautiful. A perfect crescent shaped bay surrounded by hills. Magnificent location for a holiday.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bjm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashveille, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

I stayed at Xanthakis studios for almost a month, and it was hard to say goodbye. John Xanthakis and his wife Maria keep the hotel clean and make you feel welcomed the minute you arrive. Vathi has one of the best beaches on the island, and I spent hours just sitting on my deck drying off from a swim. I was there to work on a novel, and it was the perfect environment for that as well. I can't wait to go back....I can't imagine a more ideal spot.

  • Liked — Location and kindliness of owner
  • Disliked — Honestly, I had no complaints.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucykara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Beautifully located appartments on Varthi bay - very clean, modern, well furnished, with very good mattress.

Lovely well maintained garden between you & the waters edge.

John Xanthakis is very charming & incredibly helpful.

A place to relax, with a short walk along the beach required to the nearest road.

Sifnos is a lovely island, & these appartments would be a very good choice. If staying for more than a few days, would probably need to hire a car, to avoid bus service constraints.

  • Liked — very charming owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank gmbklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We spent a week at Xanthakis apts. recently. It's a lovely place. As the other reviewers have already said , it's clean. right on the beach and the Xanthakis family can't do enough for you. They even gave us a bottle of their home produced wine. If you want good, economy priced accomodation, you couldn't beat this place.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

My wife and I have been to Greece many times. Xanthakis Apartments is by far the nicest place we've stayed. The owner John Xanthakis has done a fanastic job! Vathi too is by far the nicest place to stay on Sifnos. The beach is amazing!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank EvanJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2006

My wife and I turned up in Vathi feeling tense and tired out after a tough year and a long journey. We could not have chosen a better place. Vathi has half a dozen restaurants, a bar and a few apartments. It must be just about the most laid back place on the planet.

We stayed in the Xanthakis apartments, halfway down the beach (the road stops on the edge of town, so most places are reached via the beach). John Xanthakis is an exceptionally charming host and he and his family put in a lot of work to keep the apartments spotless and the gardens lovely.

The result is a simple, comfortable and welcoming place to stay in a stunning location. All this and the souvlaki in Manolis restaurant at the other end of the beach!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank arikui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vathi
4.3 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
298 reviews
3.6 mi away
Petali Village Hotel
Petali Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Apollonia
158 reviews
3.9 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#1 of 3 in Artemonas
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kamares
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Verina Suites
Verina Suites
#2 of 8 in Platis Yialos
115 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agrilia - Apartments & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agrilia - Apartments & Studios

Property: Agrilia - Apartments & Studios
Address: Vathi, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Vathi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Vathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Agrilia - Xanthakis Apartments & Studios Agrilia - Xanthakis Apartments & Studios are situated at an ideal location for those who want to enjoy the sea and peace during their vacation. The complex is built according to the local architecture within a verdurous garden of 1000 sq m., Which is located right next to a sandy beach. Agrilia complex operates under the authorization of the Greek National Tourism Organization (EOT) and it consists of two-roomed apartments and spacious one-roomed studios that have been decorated in good taste and where you shall have all the modern comforts. All our apartments and studios have independent spacious verandas with a view of the garden and the sea. Yours sincerely John Xanthakis ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xanthakis Apartments Sifnos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing