We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Canyons Resort, A Noble House Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gateway
Certificate of Excellence
cshel08
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mostly Impressed”
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We just returned from our stay at the Gateway Canyons Resort. We participated in the better half / half marathon event at the resort on the weekend of March 21st 2009. My wife, 6 year old daughter, and myself shared a standard queen room. The room was clean, modern, and well appointed but a bit cramped for the 3 of us. As far as I could tell this resort is the only hotel accommodation within the small town of Gateway. The resort has a gas station and deli / grocery store on site.

There was very little information about the queen room available on the web site. The hotel reservations staff attempted to describe the room to us over the phone and did warn us that the room was not set up for 3 people, they were absolutely right. They do not offer any option for a roll away bed for this room because of its unique floor-plan, (lots of small areas vs. an open floor plan) which is a shame because with a few minor changes it could make this room a nice option for small families on a budget, like us. (We just returned from a very expensive vacation a few weeks previous to this stay and I was not prepared to fork over the extra hundred or so bucks per night for the suite.) The room is however a really nice set up for 2 people. I brought a small air mattress and sleeping bag and made a bed on the floor, which was fine for one night but it had me wishing I hadn't been too cheap to upgrade to the suite for our stay. The suites looked very nice and we will definitely chose that option if we ever go back, which I am hoping that we will because this is an amazing place.

I cant say enough about the serenity and scenic beauty of this area. The resort is situated on the valley floor of where several steep colorful canyons converge. The architecture and design of the resort is very tastefully done and fits nicely with the natural beauty of this amazing place. The grounds were clean and well kept and the facilities were immaculate. The service at the hotel was good though a little more laid back than some people may be accustomed to. You wont find any traffic signal lights, traffic jams, crowds, or noise here. It is what Moab Utah was perhaps 30 years ago.

The restaurant at the resort was semi-fine dining and the service was good. We found the southwest style menu a bit limited and kinda pricey. We were charged extra for every little extra thing and left not feeling great about the value of the meal. I was impressed with the small grocery store on-site. The variety and selection were very good and they had lots of very nice fresh produce. Considering the remote location of this resort, having the store along with a fridge and microwave in the rooms was a very nice option.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cshel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    34
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
92
142
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
whitewater colorado
Level Contributor
235 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We haven't actually "stayed" (overnight) there. It's ironic, but we used to camp in the area! (up until about 10 years ago, when the Gateway Canyons 'resort' was in preliminary/planning stages).

Okay: #1: I had been trying to write a review but each time I tried, TRIPADVISOR "wouldn't let me." Now it appears TripAdvisor is aware that there is, indeed, a Gateway Canyons in Colorado and there are several reviews. Good.

Our main experience is with the restaurant. The first time we went was when a relative took us there for our anniversary dinner. We live an hour's drive away. Everything was well worth the trip. Attentive staff, quality food, pleasing atmosphere, and Guiness stout on tap with a good head! (the others had wine or other drinks).
However, the second time we went, about 1/2 year later, it was the "second team" had come out to play. The maitre'd made every attempt to try to give us back our initial impression, but the inattentive (rest of the) staff, the very very very slow wait time for the order to be processed, and then the food was just mediocre ... well, if we go a third time it will be due to a sense of adventure and not knowing what to expect.

Overall, this facility (not just the Paradox Grille) is quite unique. It's over 50 miles to the nearest "town" (and not on an interstate) so this is a community unto itself. It continues to grow. What's neat is that the management/overall direction continues to have more events -- e.g., a big bicycle stage race; numerous (well, more than 5) running events each year; murder mystery dinners; festivals and education seminars and retreats; and of course categories I haven't mentioned.
Oh! I "won" a $100 gift certificate long-expired mostly for just showing up at a 10k run (nicely conducted, by the way) over a year-&-a-half ago... if anyone from GC Resort reads this, is my G C still valid? (heh...)

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiburondelnorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

If you love the outdoors but like to come home to a little luxury in the evening then Gateway Canyons is perfect. Spectacular setting with plenty of activities for all abilities and levels of excitement - contact Erin and Luke. Great gym and spa - we both had great massages during our stay. We had a room in the new Kiva Lodge, spacious and beautifully furnished. We found all the staff friendly and helpful.

Gateway is about an hour from the nearest large town, Grand Junction, but the resort has a store with everything you could need at very reasonable prices. And it is the 'away-from-it-all" setting that made it so special - no crowds, just us and the mountains. We'll certainly be heading back to explore some more!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Colorado
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Spent 2 nights at Gateway Canyons after having been through the area numerous times. We live about and hour from the resort so it was a quick getaway for us. I made reservations over the phone for 2 nights stay and kayak rentals for my wife and I for one day.
The staff was very kind and helpful. Everyone was friendly throughout our experience.
The room was nice, different sort of layout, and the bed was awesome,very comfortable.
We rented the kayaks for a 5+ hr trip that started upriver from the resort. The shuttle is included in the rental price. We were dropped off at "mavericks" and had an awesome float with a fair amount of riffle and a few decent rapids (class II/III). We ended the float at the resort and simply left the kayaks on the shore and walked back to our room . The staff picks up the kayaks and equipment for you. PS bring plenty of sun screen and bug spray.
We ate at the Paradox Grill which is great. Good food,relaxing atmoshere and pleasent staff.
The not so great:
The shower heads do suck!
Construction noise around 0730, but hey they're makin it even better.
Thats about it.
I recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Saline13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Its surroundings are beautiful, and the resort looks clean and like an oasis in the middle of nowhere. As we got onto the property, things changed. It's over rated.

I found the staff to be NOT so friendly and service is slow.

Not much to do, the pool was freezing and supposed to be heated. Also alot of construction going on and the constuction workers made me feel very uncomfortable while at the pool. Not too many other guests either. The ones I did speak to felt the same way.

The furniture in the rooms was alreay worn and just wasnt appealing at all.

We will not be returning.

  • Liked — The view of the palisade
  • Disliked — almost everything from the moment we checked in.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank conandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend. Came to view the autumn foliage, which was breathtaking, but so was the landscaping and architecture of the resort itself. We found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and eager to please. Rooms were very comfortable -- we stayed in the Kiva Lodge, which is the mid-priced option. Our room had a large bathroom, and an additional dressing room with additional sink/vanity; something very nice for women traveling with their husbands/children... a separate vanity area for hair and makeup needs. The landscaping around the resort is absolutely phenomenal. I had the distinct impression that a smart woman had alot to do with the interior and exterior design of the whole place, because while the overall design feel is southwestern and masculine, it really also had a distinct feminine and romantic feel -- I'm not sure how the designers pulled that off, but it sure shows. This place would appeal to everyone.
Rooms very clean.
The restaurant is excellent, with something for everyone. Wide range of pricing of meals too, including breakfast. We usually avoid hotel restaurants, finding them over-priced with unappealing menus and mediocre food. But that's definitely not the case here.
Grocery store is full service and very clean, and 2 gas pumps out front. Our room had a coffee maker and refrigerator, but no microwave or other way to cook. I assume the grocery store is mainly used by the people who live in the area and the staff who live in the employee housing (there is no other grocery store or gas station for MILES around). But there is a coffee/deli counter there for sandwiches, snacks, etc.

  • Liked — Attention to detail in decorating/landscaping; very clean
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

This resort is built (still in the process) by the founder of The Discovery Channel. His vision of an educational destination in a gorgeous, quiet canyon is admirable. As you approach the property the adobe architecture and magnificent rock formations are impressive and beautiful. And that's where the smoke and mirrors started for us. We felt like we were in a movie set where everything looks gorgeous but nothing really functions!

The front desk attendant never welcomed us or even made eye contact with us. She stuck her hand out over the counter and said, "Credit card and driver's license." Her demeanor only grew more rude as she processed our paperwork. We were staying for 3 nights and didn't feel welcomed at all.

We had a standard room for $99 per night which looked elegant as you entered...glamorous finishes etc... But what should have been one big room with bath was divided into tiny compartments that were extremely clostrophobic. The furniture was already worn and uncomfortable and the bed was so high I almost fell getting out of it. I understand water conservation, but the shower was such a trickle that it was impossible to rinse off soap or shampoo completely. Worst of all, the construction is so poor that you could hear every footstep on the linoleum tile floor of the room next door, and on the metal stairs outside.

The pool looked gorgeous and was supposed to be heated but nobody could enter it because it was freezing cold.

Maid service was spotty and the employees in general all looked depressed and went out of their way to avoid you when walking around the complex. The food in the Paradox Grill was excellent, but the service was seriously slow and the attitudes of the hostess and servers were very unwelcoming.

The auto museum is definitely worth seeing for a fee of 9$. There are magnificent cars to view. I would, however, view them as you pass through the canyon on your way to another destination.

Shane from Denver, Co

  • Liked — The Scenery
  • Disliked — Service and construction issues
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ShaneDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gateway Canyons Resort, A Noble House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Canyons Resort, A Noble House Resort

Property: Gateway Canyons Resort, A Noble House Resort
Address: 43200 Hwy 141, Gateway, CO 81522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Gateway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gateway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gateway Canyons Resort, A Noble House Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many reasons to visit Colorado's Gateway Canyons Resort, an award-winning destination located in the secluded Unaweep Canyon of Western Colorado. Surrounded by the vast lands of the Uncompahgre Plateau, Piñon Mesa and La Sal Mountains, our full-service resort features exceptional lodging, dining, outfitting, educational programs and the world-class Gateway Colorado Auto Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gateway Canyons Resort, A Noble House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Canyons Hotel Gateway
Gateway Canyons Resort, A Noble House Resort Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing