We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Paradox Grille

Paradox Grille
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Gateway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Paradox Grille is named for the unusual path the nearby Dolores River takes: instead of flowing down the length of the valley, it cuts perpendicularly across the middle, dividing the appropriately named Paradox Valley in two. Paradox Grille specializes in laid-back southwestern cuisine featuring exquisite cocktail creations.
Brentwood, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Did a wine and dinner pairing with Chef Ron Rhiver. He has an amazing background, and it came through in every dish we tasted. It was a very memorable experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tmaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Limited menu, but food is good.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I would have liked to see a few more items on the menu, but I am keeping in mind that everything has to be trucked in quite a ways.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rubbish”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

we just got back from a holiday in telliride, colorado where my daughter and her american husband are living. my wife and i rented a car to go to utah and on our way we decided to visit gateway canyon as per our daughter's recommendation. it was a lovely area and the auto museum was fantastic. our stomachs were grumbling so decided to have supper at the paradox grill.
it was a horrible experience. we were treated shabbily by Robin and the food was unpalatable.
we have dined all over europe and asia and this restaurant i a rubbish. what a waste of time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank westernslopefoodlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
“BEAUTIFUL PLACE”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me and my husband just arrived back home to Vancouver WA from a week long roadtrip of mountain biking & hiking. We stopped by Gateway Canyons Resort and decided to check out the automuseum and catch a quick lunch. Overall our experience was fantastic, the museum was amazing and the crew you guys have hired at The Paradox Grill is outstanding. We both had the burger and a couple of cocktail's each. We got the pleasure to speak to the chef Johnny who came out and chatted, great guy and also the woman that poured our drinks, Robin she was awesome. She chatted with us for awhile and gave us some tips on other things to do at The Gateway. We couldn't have had a better time, better burger's or better drinks anywhere else. We do a lot of roadtrips every year and we will for sure come back to Paradox Grill next time we are passing by and we sure hope to run into Robin & Johnny again. We will for sure recommend this place to all of our friends and family. It was an outstanding experience and it's nice to get a chance to talk to "the locals"!! Way to "coach" your staff in not only a professional manner but also in a "welcoming" manner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What a refreshing lunch!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I loved the homemade Organic Chicken Pie which paired nicely with a glass of Louis Jadot Pouilly Fuisse. My husband had the burger and Kannah Creek Lager again. I did manage to get one of the onion straws from his burger.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donnafullerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradox Grille also viewed

 

Been to Paradox Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing