We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Horrible Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Frisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Nice Hotel, Horrible Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights just before Christmas to do some skiing at the nearby Keystone resort. The hotel was fine, clean, no frills as you would expect from a holiday inn. Good hotub and sauna for the apres ski, which was very appreciated.

The problem started the first morning when we went for the breakfast in the attached restaurant. We had paid extra for breakfast up front, and we were expecting the usual HI buffet arrangement. This was not the case, it was a full service menu breakfast. We were keen to get to the slopes, but it wasn't busy so we thought it would be no problem...

First problem. We stood by the concierge desk for 5 minutes, being completely ignored by the serving staff before we gave up and seated ourselves. Another 5 - 10 minutes passed and eventually a server called "Lady" came to our table, dropped off a pot of coffee and looked expectantly at us. I had a question about the breakfast coupons, "what did the Pancake assortment come with" Second Problem: Lady looked at us some more, then took off to find another server. Turns out she barely spoke English and could not understand us. Another server came over, answered the question and took our orders.

Problem 3: We then waited, and waited and waited. 55 minutes later I grabbed Lady as she walked by and asked her to check on our order. Again she ran off, found the other server, who I repeated the question to and off she went to look. During this time no more coffee or water had come out and we were getting annoyed that our skiing time was being wasted.

another 5 minutes or so passed, and our order finally came out. Problem 4: the order was wrong! at this point we had given up, so we ate quickly and asked for the check. Another 10 minutes we waited and managed to give the server our pre-paid coupon and get out of there.

Overall it took nearly two hours to get a mediocre breakfast. Time which we could have spent on the ski slopes.

By all means stay here, but eat somewhere else. Day two we skipped the breakfast and went to a great sandwich shop in the strip mall on the other side of the highway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GYDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLwilkens, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued guests, thank you for your useful feedback concerning the experience you had during your stay at our hotel. We do sincerely apologize that your experience in the restaurant was less than satisfactory. We have used this feedback to evaluate the and improve the experience we offer at our onsite restaurant and have ensured that your comments and concerns were related to the appropriate staff members. We do hope you continue to choose the Holiday Inn when planning your next ski vacation in Summit County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    120
    101
    68
    54
See reviews for
148
124
35
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This Holiday Inn which is now known as Summit Inn was a nice property with helpful front desk staff.
Not much open in the area if you check in late. Close to Copper Mountain ski resort without resort prices.
I didn't check out the restaurant, but they have one not far off the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for recognizing our wonderful front desk and housekeeping staff! Being centrally located in Summit County allows our guests to have access to all of the great resorts with Copper Mountain being the closest. Next time that you stay with us, make sure to check out The Sporting News Grill, our on-site restaurant! Thank you for your feedback and staying at the Holiday Inn Summit County!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort wayne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Very nice ! Ha a sauna as well as hot tub ! Friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again as it is very convenient to the downtown area and also has a number of fireplaces. Copper Mountain is only about 10 minutes away. We need dinner at a very nice steakhouse which was about 1 mile away. Walmart is just across the street within one half a mile.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmann5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Summit County! We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed using the amenities! Make sure to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Manager was awesome! We had a heating issue, too hot and we didn't have an outdoor window in our particular room. The manager felt terrible and offered us a free stay upon return. Very cool. Pool and hot tub were great, restaurant was really good as well, even had live music from a young local musician who was fantastic. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COTravel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLwilkens, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel! We appreciate your feedback. We have resolved the issue with the heating and we are pleased to hear that your situation was addressed and resolved promptly. Thank you for your compliments of our onsite ammenities. The pool and hot tub are a great place to relax and have some fun with the family. We hope to see you at our hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover Park, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great place to stay for a family or group of friends.6 members of my family stayed very comfortably in this very clean, well-located hotel. It was just like the written description and pictures provided were very accurate. We enjoyed easy trail hiking near the hotel so we could adjust the the altitude. Plenty to see and do in the area for the summer, hiking, fishing, shopping whatever you want this place is centraly located.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leszek d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your rating and review of the Holiday Inn Summit County. You are right, one of the great features of our hotel is its central location in Summit County. Whether it is the summer or winter, we are located in close proximity to several wonderful attractions including four ski resorts, the marina, bike path, hiking trails, the Silverthorne Outlets, and the shops and dining on Frisco's Main Street just to list a few. We are a family hotel for all seasons! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you and your family back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have stayed here multiple times over the years as it is a great location just off the highway and in close proximity to many ski resort locations. Our most recent stay was in June 2013 when we visited for a wedding in Keystone. We decided to stay here one night before staying at Keystone so that we were closer to Breckenridge and could enjoy that town as well. Since my boyfriend is Platinum status we were given a nice upgraded room with a jacuzzi tub and large separate living room. It was way more space than we needed for just one night but, was a nice room. There is an indoor swimming pool as well as hot tub which are well kept. The prices are always pretty good and the location is nice if you want options on where to ski.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your rating and review of the Holiday Inn Summit County! One of the great features of our hotel is its location in Summit County. We are centrally positioned to several excellent resorts and towns, including Breckenridge, Dillon, Silverthorne, Keystone and Vail. In addition, we always honor the loyalty of our IHG members. One incentive we offer to IHG members that stay with us is a chance to gain 1000 IHG rewards points. All you have to do is email our general manager conveying to him you had an excellent stay to acquire these extra points. Contact the Holiday Inn Summit County front desk for more details. We hope to see you up here this ski season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We loved our stay at the holiday Inn in Summit county, the thing that made it tops was the staff in the adjoining restaurant. Cyndi and Chuck were unbelievably friendly!! We were the first ones in the bar and Cyndi noticed us watching the red sox game so she put it on the center TV where the volume could be heard in the bar! My husband wanted to watch the OU football game so chuck made sure he could have that on as well. They talked with us all night and celebrated our anniversary with us. They made us feel like one of the locals, not just a passerby. Felt like a neighborhood bar with good food and good beverage choices. Keep that staff!!! they are what made our stay amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Summit County and your 5 out of 5 rating. Cyndi and Chuck were thrilled to hear your compliments and they certainly enjoyed your company. We are so happy they were able to create a positive and memorable experience for your anniversary. We hope to have you up here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frisco
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Frisco Lake Dillon
0.0 mi away
Ramada Frisco
Ramada Frisco
#4 of 21 in Frisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#1 of 21 in Frisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Dillon
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Silverthorne
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Silverthorne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County
Address: 1129 N Summit Blvd., PO Box 4310, Frisco, CO 80443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Frisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Frisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Summit County is the ideal location, placed amidst the Rocky Mountains and bordering Lake Dillon and conveniently accessible from I-70 and only 80 miles west of Denver (DEN). Holiday Inn Summit County recreational amenities include an indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi spa, as well as professional wired internet business center and game room for the fun-side of you. The hotel also features a restaurant and a bar/lounge called the Sporting News Grill, complete with 16 flat screen HDTV's and 14 beers on draft. In addition to brand new beds and coffee/tea makers, guestrooms feature granite counter tops, flat screen HDTV's and office desks . Whether traveling for business or leisure, the Hotel Summit County offers you a home away from home in Frisco. It is our goal to match your loyalty with excellent service from our end. Make your reservations with us today and experience our own special brand of Rocky Mountain hospitality when you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Summit County
Holiday Inn Frisco
Summit Frisco
Frisco Summit
Frisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing