We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butterhorn owner dies, but current Manager continues great food”

Butterhorn Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Frisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The Butterhorn Bakery & Cafe has been in business for about 40 years. It is the local's and tourist's favorite spot for breakfast and lunch. Every recipe is handcrafted from scratch in our kitchen and we bake everything fresh daily in our bakery. We also offer cappuccino, vanilla skinny lattes, homemade bloody marys and bubbly mimosas! We have been VOTED #1 by Trip advisor, Yelp and Urbanspoon for 4 years in a row, due to our friendly service, efficient kitchen, reasonable prices and most importantly, great food! We offer both full table service and quick counter service for those in a hurry. Our goal is to bring you the best breakfast and lunch experience around. Come check us out today, you won't be disappointed!
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Butterhorn owner dies, but current Manager continues great food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have been eating breakfast at The Butterhorn for many years. When the owner (Cindy) died suddenly last December, we were afraid the restaurant would change but it has not. Current managers (Sally and her husband) are continuing the great breakfast food, service, and the great fresh-baked breads. It is also a fantastic place for lunch, but we enjoy the breakfasts best.
Try to get there between 7:35 and 7:50 for best seating - - they are well-known and get busy starting about 8:00am until about 2:00pm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    210
    43
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“A special breakfast”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

On our drive from Breckenridge to Denver, my wife and I stopped in Frisco for a late breakfast. Seeing throngs of summer visitors, we knew the popular Butterhorn would be crowded. We lucked out and got a table without waiting. Customers and staff were in high spirits, which is a good sign. A waitress soon took our drink orders and then gave us enough time to read the menu. My wife had terrific Eggs Butterhorn, with the eggs poached exactly as requested. I chose the multigrain French toast with strawberries, blueberries, bananas and maple syrup. Its spectacular appearance was equaled only by its great taste. Good service, good food and a lighthearted atmosphere made our breakfasts truly special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Been going here for several years. Went there several times this year. The food is always fantastic! Sally should be cloned!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breakfast or Lunch But Not Afternoon Snack”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

It was starting to rain so we asked a local shop keeper where a good place to eat was. She said the Butterhorn, but warned us we might have to wait to get in. Fortunately we were seated. In our party of 4, two had a breakfast menu item and two had lunch menu items. All were quite nice, large portions , good predation and reasonably priced. The bakery items looked great and we planned to return for cookies after shopping. Unfortunately the restaurant both closed at 2:30. Beware, buy your baked goods early.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dalekd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novi,mi
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find in Frisco”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Made a brunch stop here on the last day of our vacation. The fresh baked goods are the foundation for some scrumptious breakfasts & sandwiches. Each of our party of 5 loved the dishes we ordered. The servings are generous and served with a smile. It wasn't the quickest meal, but good things, freshly prepared take time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterhorn Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Butterhorn Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing