We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for families”
Review of Paddle Colorado

Paddle Colorado
Ranked #3 of 8 Tours in Frisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the breathtaking beauty of the Upper Colorado River on a full-day (complete with riverside lunch) or half-day trip offered daily mid May thru mid September. Your exciting trip is perfect for first-timers, families and groups of all sizes. Your seasoned guide will lead your adventure through two majestic canyons, experiencing class II and class III rapids, immersing you in the history and the waters of this important river.
Reviewed August 7, 2017

We took our 4, 7, and 9 year old boys on their first rafting trip. Ours was a half-day in the morning, and it was perfect. The rapids were just the right size for our family and our kids loved it! Scott was a fantastic guide and really made it a fun trip. Also, being picked up in Frisco sure beat having to drive all the way down to the river myself like the other rafting companies require. I highly recommend the half-day experience for anybody looking to get their first experience with whitewater.

1  Thank Brant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, Front Office Manager at Paddle Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

We here at Paddle Colorado Rafting certainly appreciate your kind review of the rafting trip you and your family took with us recently. The Upper Colorado River offers beauty, wonderfully fun rapids and so much more! We are so happy you took the half day trip and enjoyed it! We look forward to seeing you for a full day in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hot springs"
in 12 reviews
"dinosaur tracks"
in 7 reviews
"raft trip"
in 13 reviews
"the river"
in 52 reviews
"great trip"
in 13 reviews
"foot cliff"
in 3 reviews
"water guns"
in 4 reviews
"rafting company"
in 6 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 6 reviews
"delicious lunch"
in 4 reviews
"jumping rock"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 6 reviews
"hour drive"
in 3 reviews
"afternoon trip"
in 3 reviews
"saw bald eagles"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 5 reviews
"other companies"
in 3 reviews
Filter

42 - 46 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2017

The staff at Paddle Colorado make you feel extremely safe and comfortable. I really appreciated all of the supplemental knowledge our guide Scott knew about the area. He also stopped off at some really cool historical sites we would have never known about! This is a trip for family and friends alike. Thanks Bill, Scott, and Eddie for the great trip!!

Thank Lanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, Front Office Manager at Paddle Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your day on the beautiful Upper Colorado with Paddle Colorado!!! The time you took to write such positive comments is more than appreciated and provides the encouragement that keeps our company loving what we do everyday!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

When I talked to April on the phone to question if my 5 year old was big enough to go, I got a wonderful feeling about this company. I was able to talk to a real person who was so friendly! I called other companies but this one I kept coming back to and I am so glad I did! It was the best rafting trip I could have imagined! We were greeted by Bill and he introduced us to his new driver Kirsten. She was wonderful! She answered our questions on the way to Pumphouse and joked around with the kids. Scott and Micah were amazing guides. They kept the kids attention and had fun with them, even answered the bagillion questions they had. I loved the fact that we were able to stop and see sites along the way and other companies with rafts plum full passed right by! WE loved learning the history from both guides and loved getting to sit in the hot springs and jump from Jump Rock. Eddie the river dog was an extra plus on the ride as my boys (age 10 and 5) loved petting him and watching him raft the rapids. We loved the surprise water guns to attack the other boats with. The whole trip was full of laughs and smiles (especially after the boys made the imfamous 30 ft jump off jump rock. They both wanted to go rafting everyday. We will for sure be booking another trip with Paddle Colorado the next time we come to Colorado! The entire experience was awesome!

1  Thank asarlt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, Front Office Manager at Paddle Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Thank you for your positive comments about our company, Paddle Colorado! We're glad you had the time during your precious vacation moments to raft this beautiful part of the Upper Colorado, and because you chose us to provide this experience we allow you to take YOUR time here to relax, learn and just enjoy the beauty, the history of this beautiful river! We love what we do and we're so glad you noticed, from office staff to your driver, to your river guides! Thank you so much!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017

We took a half-day raft trip on the Colorado. We had six people in our boat and there was a family of three in the other boat. The guides were very competent and took safety seriously even though this was a very low-risk ride. There were a couple of rapids with boulders that threw some water into the raft but otherwise, it was a beautiful float with some gorgeous scenery. We saw some eagles and also stopped at a couple of historical sites. I would recommend this trip for people of all ages.

Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, Front Office Manager at Paddle Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Thank you for the very nice review of our company, Paddle Colorado. We appreciate the time it took to write this and want very much to understand there is always room to improve. You gave us our first "4" and yet you did not say where you felt we could do better. We try very hard to please our wonderful guests in every way we possibly can. If the water level is down and the rapids far too gentle, that is beyond our control. The Colorado River changes levels every day and we post those levels daily for our customers, but it is still beyond our control. We try to keep families together in our boats which hold ten, but seldom put ten in a raft so that everyone can have a roomy comfortable ride. That is within our control. Let us know what we can do better next time and we will try our hardest to please!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

What a great trip we had rafting down the Colorado River. Bill, driver was prompt and courteous as our pickup driver. And Scott, our guide, was energetic, knowledgeable and a lot of fun! Eddie the dog accompanied us and was an added bonus! All equipment was in top notch condition. Beautiful area to see! I highly recommend Paddle-Colorado for a raft trip.

Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, Front Office Manager at Paddle Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Paddle Colorado is glad you enjoyed your rafting trip with us. Safety and quality of equipment are very important to us! We want you to know you and your family are in good and qualified hands as long as you are with us! Little Eddy, our precious riverdog, always seems to sense those guests who need him most! He is our NUMBER 1 employee, after all, and we're glad you appreciated him! Thanks for taking the time to write your review of Paddle Colorado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paddle Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing