We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Average, but Very Convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snowshoe Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snowshoe Motel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Frisco
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average, but Very Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I booked into the SnowShoe Motel due to it's location in Frisco, which is on the bus route that serves Breckenridge and Copper Mountain. Unfortunately, my 1st floor room was kind of under the stairwell, so I didn't get much natural light, or get to watch it snow outside. On the other hand, it was clean and comfortable, and the bus to Copper picks up right in front (Huge plus for me). The hot tub is in a spare motel room, which is pretty weird. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and anything that you want do in town is no farther than a three minute walk, which is great. I would stay here again, but I think that I would ask for a second floor room next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    33
    15
    11
See reviews for
22
37
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

After five years of staying at Snowshoe, I have to admit the front desk guy was so rude he made me want to go somewhere else the next time we ski in Summit County. Any clerk should be helpful, this is the hospitality industry.

I brought a box of nice chocolates for the two front desk staff as a thank you to them. The senior front desk clerk told me he is on a diet and wouldn't eat it and I said to save it for the girl clerk. He put it away somewhere and when I asked later, he yelled at me for asking about it. I don't know if the girl clerk ever got any of the chocolate.

I also wondered why our bill was considerably higher than the same time last year and I checked online in my room, with the website price about $30 less per night than what the front desk guy charged us. On our last day, I asked about the cost he quoted vs their website price. The front desk clerk was so rude and loud, I was embarrassed. Other quests eating in the breakfast room could hear every word. It was not possible to have a reasonable discussion about the rates, the guy was just yelling. This is simply not a way to interact with guests.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms are recently redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frisco hotels

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent over two weeks here last month, we're fairly serious skiers I suppose - we don't care about luxury in terms of ski lodging, just want convenient and fairly basic but clean.

Location wise, you cannot complain; quite close to Denver(traffic dependent it can be around an hour or waaaaay longer), perfectly central in Summit County for pretty much everywhere from Beaver Creek(35 mins) to A-Basin(15 mins). Bus stops are right outside if you need them. It's right on Main St in Frisco too, so all the bars and restaurants you need are walkable, which is nice.

The negatives for us were the overall condition of our room - it is desperately needing renovation(the bathroom especially). We had a room(one of two I believe) with a 'kitchenette' - this took the form of an ancient hob and sink right next to the bed. Unsurprisingly we didn't cook. A microwave and coffee machine sit precariously on the work surface next to the sink. Space wise the room was fine; we had a kingsize bed(high static from the hilariously plastic quilt) and a sitting area for eating. Staff were not overly friendly or helpful.

All in all, it wasn't so bad. I'd prefer to stay elsewhere next time but the location is so good that it has to be considered.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra on the kitchenette. It's not worth any extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjworton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Clean rooms, good room service, decent breakfast, just 20minutes ride from five ski resorts. Bus stop for Copper mountains resort and Breckenridge is right by front door. I stayed with my dog, i was glad that hotel is pet friendly. Enjoyed my stay. And whirpool is a kicker...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danda007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

During our recent ski trip to Copper Mt. Ski resort, we stayed for 3 nights at the Snowshoe Motel. If you don't mind older facilities and the noise on main street at night, it's a decent place to lay your head. It's clean, the beds are comfortable, and the staff is very friendly and kind. To drown out the noise of the street, we turned on the fan in the window at night, which worked very well as a white noise generator. The location is terrific for skiing and walking to nice restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
150 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at the Snowshoe for 3 nights to get in some winter activites in Feb. It is an older building but for the most part everything is in good repair. Check in was easy and the room was your standard fare of two beds, a mini fridge, mircowave, coffee maker, and tv with the usual motel cable line up. The wifi worked great and was easy to use. The thermostat was responsive. The shower was instanteously hot and had firehose pressure - awesome! It is right on Main St in old town Frisco - so plenty of walking range dining options, but you are not far by car to chain restaurants . The price was definately a positive when staying in the Frisco, Dillion, Breckenridge area! With all these positives why only 3 stars? The comfort of the beds and pillows, which for me, were both uncomfortable all 3 nights. I never could get comfortable -I'd flip and flop, I tried wadding up blankets and put in some contour and the pillows were just flat and hard. The breakfast is a carb heavy afare that'll get you going but it's just enough. Overall, I might stay here again, but I might spend more for a more comfy bed.

Room Tip: I had a room facing Main Street and you can hear the buses that stop outside at the stop frequently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtobeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Arkansas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We knew this was an older hotel but too a chance based on price and some other recent reviews. Check in clerk was very friendly. Room was as clean for the most part. We had two rooms...one for us and one for our son and his family. After a fun day in the area our son called the desk at 9:30 pm to see how late the hot tub was open. He was told "10 p.m but I want to get off early so I'm closing it now". The next morning when I grab a towel out of the shower, it had a hole the size of a baseball! The room was 78 degrees all night and thermostat did not work. Then our son called to say their shower did not work. It would go from frigid to scalding in a nano second! They came to our room to shower.
You get what you pay for. It's in a great location. As long as you don't expect Marriott accommodations you'll be okay. Actually I've stayed at Motel 6's much nicer than this but if you are looking to save money to spend on the slopes instead this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearnstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frisco
1.0 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#1 of 21 in Frisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Summit Inn
Summit Inn
#3 of 21 in Frisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frisco
Hotel Frisco
#6 of 21 in Frisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Frisco Lake Dillon
1.0 mi away
Ramada Frisco
Ramada Frisco
#4 of 21 in Frisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowshoe Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowshoe Motel

Property: Snowshoe Motel
Address: 521 W Main St, Frisco, CO 80443-9900
Location: United States > Colorado > Frisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Frisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Snowshoe Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Snowshoe Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowshoe Hotel Frisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing