We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not so great facility” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Snowshoe Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Snowshoe Motel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Frisco
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great location, not so great facility”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent over two weeks here last month, we're fairly serious skiers I suppose - we don't care about luxury in terms of ski lodging, just want convenient and fairly basic but clean.

Location wise, you cannot complain; quite close to Denver(traffic dependent it can be around an hour or waaaaay longer), perfectly central in Summit County for pretty much everywhere from Beaver Creek(35 mins) to A-Basin(15 mins). Bus stops are right outside if you need them. It's right on Main St in Frisco too, so all the bars and restaurants you need are walkable, which is nice.

The negatives for us were the overall condition of our room - it is desperately needing renovation(the bathroom especially). We had a room(one of two I believe) with a 'kitchenette' - this took the form of an ancient hob and sink right next to the bed. Unsurprisingly we didn't cook. A microwave and coffee machine sit precariously on the work surface next to the sink. Space wise the room was fine; we had a kingsize bed(high static from the hilariously plastic quilt) and a sitting area for eating. Staff were not overly friendly or helpful.

All in all, it wasn't so bad. I'd prefer to stay elsewhere next time but the location is so good that it has to be considered.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra on the kitchenette. It's not worth any extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjworton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    39
    32
    15
    11
See reviews for
22
35
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Clean rooms, good room service, decent breakfast, just 20minutes ride from five ski resorts. Bus stop for Copper mountains resort and Breckenridge is right by front door. I stayed with my dog, i was glad that hotel is pet friendly. Enjoyed my stay. And whirpool is a kicker...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danda007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

During our recent ski trip to Copper Mt. Ski resort, we stayed for 3 nights at the Snowshoe Motel. If you don't mind older facilities and the noise on main street at night, it's a decent place to lay your head. It's clean, the beds are comfortable, and the staff is very friendly and kind. To drown out the noise of the street, we turned on the fan in the window at night, which worked very well as a white noise generator. The location is terrific for skiing and walking to nice restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
150 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at the Snowshoe for 3 nights to get in some winter activites in Feb. It is an older building but for the most part everything is in good repair. Check in was easy and the room was your standard fare of two beds, a mini fridge, mircowave, coffee maker, and tv with the usual motel cable line up. The wifi worked great and was easy to use. The thermostat was responsive. The shower was instanteously hot and had firehose pressure - awesome! It is right on Main St in old town Frisco - so plenty of walking range dining options, but you are not far by car to chain restaurants . The price was definately a positive when staying in the Frisco, Dillion, Breckenridge area! With all these positives why only 3 stars? The comfort of the beds and pillows, which for me, were both uncomfortable all 3 nights. I never could get comfortable -I'd flip and flop, I tried wadding up blankets and put in some contour and the pillows were just flat and hard. The breakfast is a carb heavy afare that'll get you going but it's just enough. Overall, I might stay here again, but I might spend more for a more comfy bed.

Room Tip: I had a room facing Main Street and you can hear the buses that stop outside at the stop frequently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtobeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Arkansas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We knew this was an older hotel but too a chance based on price and some other recent reviews. Check in clerk was very friendly. Room was as clean for the most part. We had two rooms...one for us and one for our son and his family. After a fun day in the area our son called the desk at 9:30 pm to see how late the hot tub was open. He was told "10 p.m but I want to get off early so I'm closing it now". The next morning when I grab a towel out of the shower, it had a hole the size of a baseball! The room was 78 degrees all night and thermostat did not work. Then our son called to say their shower did not work. It would go from frigid to scalding in a nano second! They came to our room to shower.
You get what you pay for. It's in a great location. As long as you don't expect Marriott accommodations you'll be okay. Actually I've stayed at Motel 6's much nicer than this but if you are looking to save money to spend on the slopes instead this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearnstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frisco hotels

Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
413 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I really enjoyed my two nights at this motel. It is within walking distance of many great happy hours and breakfast and dinner places. They had a decent continental breakfast. Good central location and a direct stop if you want to go to Breckenridge or Copper Mountain ski resorts. Queen beds were decent, free HBO, modern shower, mini fridge, and coffee maker. I had free parking and walked around Frisco for my after ski party and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oceandweller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed for 11 days in February and thought it was a great place to base yourself if you want to ski the nearby resorts. Friendly staff, complementary breakfast was quite good and best rates in town. Can't beath the position in the centre of Main Street - a short walk to great restaurants and the historic old town museum. Would stay here again if skiing in the area.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a great view and less noise :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frisco
1.0 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#1 of 21 in Frisco
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Summit Inn
Summit Inn
#3 of 21 in Frisco
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frisco
Hotel Frisco
#7 of 21 in Frisco
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Frisco Lake Dillon
1.0 mi away
Ramada Frisco
Ramada Frisco
#4 of 21 in Frisco
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowshoe Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowshoe Motel

Property: Snowshoe Motel
Address: 521 W Main St, Frisco, CO 80443-9900
Location: United States > Colorado > Frisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Frisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Snowshoe Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Snowshoe Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowshoe Hotel Frisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing