We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience We'll Keep Coming Back For”
Review of Frisco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frisco Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Frisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
1 review
“An Experience We'll Keep Coming Back For”
Reviewed February 11, 2009

My boyfriend and I first stumbled on the Frisco Lodge in 2008 after I-70 was snowed in driving back from Vail to Denver, it was a happy acciden that brought us to crash at this enchanting B&B. This year (2009) we planned our vacation to stay a full week at the Frisco Lodge. The breakfast (especially the make-your-own waffles) is a wonderful way to start each day. The owners are sweet and insightful, always welcoming and full of good advice. The Lodge is not for those seeking a resort-style vacation, but was perfect for our cozy B&B preferences. It's obvious that a lot of thought was put into making guests happy, comfortable, and entertained. There's a funny eclectic VHS collection to watch in the Lodge or in each room, a stack of board games, a chess set and deck of cards, as well as a computer with internet access. Hot soup and cider greets guests in the afternoon coming back from a day of skiing. The location is ideal for those with a rental car as it is a short drive to Breckenridge (approx. 10 min), Keystone (approx. 15 min), A-Basin (approx. 20 min), and Vail (approx. 30 min). The town of Frisco has moderately enough to stay fed and entertained, but otherwise Breckenridge, Dillon, and other more lively towns are nearby. I would recommend Frisco Lodge without any caveats and will definitely seek to stay there during our next vacation.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingDutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    61
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
64
157
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2009

My BF & I went to the Frisco area specifically for skiing/romantic vacation. We got everything we asked for & more. I really like B&B's because I do not like the tackiness of hotels. A big plus for this B&B is the hospitality (Rick was a wonderful host), the food and the beds were very comfy (no creepy bedspread). The room we had was in the rear building (2nd floor- only two floors) 2 double beds, TV, private (clean, remodeled, plenty of towels) bath and a small kitchenette area which has a small bar type sink, microwave, coffee maker and dishes & utensils (we only had to buy a sharp knife at the local Walmart). The room is nicely decorated and there is a great view from most any window. Note: the main part of the lodge generally has smaller baths (some rooms you may have to share a bath) but they are very modern and there are no kitchenettes in this area. We were tired after skiing and did not want to clean up and go out for dinner, so we really wanted the option to heat/cook food in the microwave and we were also able to make sandwiches to take to the slopes. We got a great breakfast before heading to the slopes: egg casserole, sausage, blueberries and yogurt, fresh (you make 'em) waffles, hot cocoa/coffee, tea, OJ, tangerines, muffins, granola, cereal, oatmeal (instant). Then when we got back from skiing, from 4 - 6 PM there was homemade soup, boy did that hit the spot! Examples are smooth black bean, vegetable and a spicy salsa soup. The long dining room table was a nice place to chat with other guests (it wasn't too crowded either). But there was an extra cozy side room with small tables and an in-the-wall fireplace in the corner if the main table was too crowded or if you wanted private dining time. The central living room had a very homey feel with a cast iron fireplace. There was free WIFI access in the main part of the lodge. The outdoor hot tub was awesome after a day of skiing. Open until 10PM, we were the only ones in it (and we're from FL!). We got a kick out of the irony of the hot tub being 103 deg the while snow is falling. A big plus is the lodge is only 6 -20 miles from awesome skiing/snowboarding! Frisco is a cute town with lots of Christmas lights still up, but don't expect stores to be open late or be a "supercenter".

  • Liked — Hospitality & location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank msflracr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunley99
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

What a wonderful place that has maintained the rustic, historic feel with all the comforts that you might require. The breakfasts are fantastic and removes the need for lunch. The afternoon "soup & hot cider" break tides you over until you need a late dinner. The main lodge common areas are spacious yet cozy at the same time.

And if you are a dog lover, Cody, the Sheltie may come pay you a visit.

A must stay while visiting Summit county. Location to multiple ski resorts is a huge plus. It feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hunley99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We absolutely loved this place! As a Colorado resident, I am always on the lookout for great mountain getaways and have found one in the Frisco Lodge. On a recent weekend adventure, we thoroughly enjoyed a couple nights over a busy holiday weekend. My first impression of the lodge was one of complete satisfaction and it only got better. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with such friendliness and wanted for nothing during our three days.

The hospitality was excellent and the food incredible. Bill and Susan, as well as the accompanying staff, run a well-manicured operation. Couldn't wait for homemade soup after a long day on the slopes and we were delighted about the fluffy Belgium waffles as part of our morning. For those looking for the quintessential place to call home for a few days in true Colorado form, this is the place. The weekend brought a variety of travelers and all of the families, couples, singles, friends both older and younger that we chatted with were equally as enthused.

I very much look forward to a return visit, finding the location and friendly, well-kept accommodations a real treat. After speaking with friends, we have found they too have enjoyed stays at the quaint lodge. Just wish we had heard about it sooner. So glad we stayed here, this one's a keeper!

  • Liked — the location, staff, rooms, food, and the great outdoor hot tub
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karlbills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We live in Denver and wanted to do some skiing without driving back to town. We came across this BnB and are glad we did. The place is awesome, the location is excellent, and the service is outstanding. We showed up after a day of shredding some major powder in the mountains and was pleasantly surprised that upon checking in we were in during the 2-6 hot soup, cheese, and crackers spread. Nothing like coming in off the slopes and relaxing to some hot chicken soup. The hot apple cider was unbelievable. If you plan on doing some runs in Colorado - this is the place for you. I can't say enough. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank philfagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

I've always believed that the true measure of a hospitality experience comes when things go badly. I rate a hotel operation based on how they handle the inevitable calamity. Our stay at the Frisco Lodge is a perfect example.

We arrived on a very cold Friday evening in January. We had paid in advance for our weekend stay. The atmosphere seemed very nice and cozy. We enjoyed a great meal next door and returned at 10:00 or so for the night. Our room was clean and lovely. At 2:00 am, I awoke to find our room unbearably cold. I got up to check the thermostat only to discover that the heating system was shut down and the thermometer was pinned to its lowest point. I searched for extra blankets. There were none. I tried calling the front desk. There was no answer. I dressed myself and returned to bed. By 6:00 am, we simply couldn’t get warm. I called again. The response was one of complete surprise. It was as if we were the first to bring the problem to their attention.

We descended to the dining room only to discover that our experience had been shared by several of our fellow guests. The owner offered only that "these things happen, just like at your house." He refused to extend an adjustment to the room rate and extended nothing in the way of consolation or compensation. We were offered no apology, no concession, just a promise that the room would be comfortable soon.

Having worked for years in the hospitality industry, I was astounded. In the various hotels within which I've worked, this was a natural for a refund or a complimentary future stay. We would have been giving away anything to bring our guests back to some level of satisfaction.

Things must be very good in Frisco Colorado! It would appear that they certainly don't need our return business or recommendation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fpr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruce_knoepfel, Owner at Frisco Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
We did have a problem with the heat that morning. We were under the impression we had resolved this issue to your satisfaction. I am sorry if this is not the case. We refunded the full amount of your stay and offered you a free weekend at a future date as a gesture for your discomfort. Our Lodge has been in our family for almost 50 years and we hope that all of our guests are 100% satisfied and am deeply sorry that this breakdown occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2008

From our late night arrival throughout our extended stay we were spoiled with the care one would expect from dear friends. Bruce and Susan (and their sweet pup, Cody) made our stay at Frisco Lodge one of the most memorable times we've had away from home.

We highly recommend the Frisco Lodge to any travelers looking for rejuvenation and true relaxation.

  • Liked — The atmosphere and the staff! :)
  • Disliked — How short our stay was.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mighty-Flighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frisco
0.0 mi away
Hotel Frisco
Hotel Frisco
#6 of 21 in Frisco
193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#2 of 21 in Frisco
306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lake Dillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Snowshoe Motel
Snowshoe Motel
#5 of 21 in Frisco
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Frisco
Ramada Frisco
#4 of 21 in Frisco
434 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frisco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frisco Lodge

Property: Frisco Lodge
Address: 321 Main Street, PO Box 1325, Frisco, CO 80443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Frisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frisco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned & operated for over 50 years, the Frisco Lodge is a charming bed and breakfast located at the center of everything Colorado. Come experience the historic ambiance of our guest rooms, gourmet delights and unparalleled hospitality.Located on Main Street within walking distance of Frisco's many distinctive shops and restaurants and minutes away from seven world class ski resorts. Amenities include an award-winning courtyard with a Catalina hot tub and outdoor fire place. Each room is equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi, telephone and cable TV.Perfect for the adventurer interested in: skiing, snowboarding, cycling, rafting, hiking, fishing, golf, cycling, sailing and kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Frisco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frisco Hotel Frisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing