We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost Cajun Found”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lost Cajun

The Lost Cajun
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Frisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alvarado, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lost Cajun Found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Even after an exhausting day of being a tourist, just walking into The Lost Cajun lifts your spirits. The lively Zydeco music, the very personable and friendly waitstaff and the festive decor all bring a smile to your face. You are immediately offered the chef's samples of their specialities, which is very helpful to those not familiar with Louisiana cuisine. Our waitress, Liz, was so amiable and helpful in selecting our order. I had the Lobster Bisque which was superb and my husband shared a few bites of his fried catfish with me. It is marinated and then lightly fried in a flour/cornmeal batter. It was some of the best catfish I have ever eaten. You must finish off your meal with Beignets and a steaming cup of hot coffee. This will definitely be one of my stops whenever I am in this area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    130
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beignets, Been Eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We just picked up an order of beignets to bring back to our house. Fantastic. An easy way to make friends in Frisco at any gathering.
Fast, helpful service.

Helpful?
Thank Baruckj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pretty good, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Almost gave this a four star, but settled at three.......
We tried a family smorgasbord, a little of everything:
- Fried shrimp were pretty good, probably the best in Frisco.
- Seafood gumbo was good, not great.
- Catfish was mushy but tasted okay. The etouffee topping was meh.
- The "Benyays" were just so so. Texture was good, but had a slight fishy taste.

This was our second trip there in the last two years, and it ranks slightly above average. However, I don't have a real high opinion of food in Frisco as it's mostly tourist fare.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoboTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, OH
Level Contributor
190 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beignets to die for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Can't comment on the regular menu as we just stopped and got some of the beignets to bring back to share with our large family. They didn't last long. A nice treat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doctormomStow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We liked it so much we went there twice in a weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the food and atmosphere of this place. We had a couple with us from Brazil and they wanted to see snow so we took them to Breckenridge. It's snowed a ton and we stopped in at The Lost Cajun. They treated us great. And the food was awesome. Then when we went to Frisco we found out that they had a location in Frisco so we went again. Great shrimp. Great menu. Great taste testing. We really loved the place and the Brazilians did too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Easygoing01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lost Cajun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing