We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding day”
Review of Wild Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wedding day”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely place, clean and charming. Breakfast is ok, nothing special. The wedding tent is old and falling a part, lucky it did not rain, or people definitely would have gotten wet. The Inn itself is beautiful inside and out. The caters for the Inn really overestimated how much beer, wine, soft drinks we would need. We had a case of opened wine and another not used...really alot of waste. We were told that portable bathrooms were a must, but did not realize we would be billed $300.00 each. Should have been upfront with this.

Room Tip: all room are lovely but not inexpensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 988virginia988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    22
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
128
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Wild Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast is a great place to get away from it all. The rooms are quiet and cozy, the breakfast is wonderful, and the owners and staff can't be beat. We thoroughly enjoyed 'chilling out' by the fireplace. From here you can hike, bike, travel to Rocky Mountain National Park or many other locations. Oh, and the ever present cookies were great as well!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I wanted to start writing my review now, the day after our wedding at the Wild Horse, while all the memories are still fresh and the emotions intense.

We chose the wild horse inn for our wedding for several reasons-
-the obvious beauty and attention to detail the staff have for the grounds
-the cozy, not at all cheezy rooms with huge beds and NO TVs
-the competitive pricing that would fit our budget
-the fact that we could rent out the entire property (including three cabins) for three days for our whole wedding party and family

But perhaps most important of all, the planning staff at wild horse would let us really dig in and customize our wedding. In our search for a venue we found lots of places that either catered to or were just used to BORING PEOPLE having BORING WEDDINGS. They wouldn't let my wife's creativity come through and were constantly trying to box us into what 'worked for other people'.

Kimberly and Chris helped us plan our event, particularly Kimberly, and when we sat down and told them our story and what we had envisioned, they looked both a bit terrified and excited! Sure, they had all the typical options available if you just want to go in and get hitched- but if you don't like something, you can bring your own, like we did. Here's a (short) list of all the things we brought to the wild horse the day of the wedding, either rented independently by us, hand made or bought:
Tablecloths, napkins, shot glasses, lighting, ceremony site decor, home made beer in kegs with a C02 tank dispensing system, wine, vodka vodka vodka, pie stands, living flower arrangements, brass ice buckets, audio equipment (speakers, amps, mics, mixers, cables, instruments), home made pickles & sausage appetizers, and probably more.

So right off the bat, having such a customized wedding experience would probably throw most places for a loop, and understandably so- I imagine once in awhile you have people with bad taste get a custom wedding disaster. It's also so much harder to run one of these things- and here is where our minor critique of TWI comes in. We felt that during the run up to the wedding that the planning staff seemed a bit disorganized and didn't really make us feel super confident about the event- up until a couple days before questions were still being asked and there were some wrenches thrown at us that we had to negotiate around or compromise on. Not because of a policy, but just because of some lack of foresight that I'm sure they'll improve on based on what they learned from our wedding. In hindsight this really was a much smaller deal than it seemed at the time, and as I mentioned, we were a bit of a handful.

THAT BEING SAID- any apprehension we may have had going in vanished the night of the rehearsal dinner. Kimberly was a total rock star managing the event, the catering staff was unbelievable, professional and saw to our every need first. The rehearsal was a complicated affair that was my (groom here) time to plan out every detail- a three course meal with each course paired with a beer that I brewed at home. I worked with the chef at TWI's catering company (same owner), and designed a completely custom menu with him to pair perfectly with the beer styles I had plan to brew for the dinner. The food was ridiculously amazing. I've been to a lot of weddings with crap food- this meal was a five star experience, and it was catered to 35 people- really, really well executed all around. To sum up the dinner, several of my friends told me they didn't even like IPAs, but paired with the german sausage with mashed-potatoes/sauerkraut and house made-mustard? Best. Beer. Ever.

The ceremony and reception went much the same way- I never for a minute thought about the execution of the event itself and was just enjoying every minute in the moment. The staff did a great job simultaneously blending in to the party and making sure that my wife and I were taken care of. I've heard from many friends that during their wedding they didn't even get to eat, or worse didn't remember the food. Not so here- the food was a big topic of conversation yet again, and one of my guy friends (who may have been a bit tuned up at this point) kissed me for what we picked for our menu. The only fear that I had about the reception- that the local noise ordinance is strictly enforced and loud music had be off by 10pm- turned out to not even be an issue because by then everyone was totally exhausted from dancing at such high altitude.

Finally, the staff at the inn itself was great. The owner cooked breakfast for all the guests every morning, and Judy (who manages the front desk) was extremely helpful and accommodating. We ordered way too many sandwiches for lunch on the day of our wedding, and she individually wrapped them for guests on their way home the next day.

We talked about how perfect everything ended up being all the way home, and it was an event that nobody will ever forget for the right reasons thanks to the wild horse inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alukaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at the Wild Horse Inn. We stayed in the Strawberry Creek room in the main inn and had a gorgeous view of the aspens and mountains from our balcony. The room was very clean and spacious yet cozy for two. We enjoyed drinking coffee on the back deck in the morning and sitting in the hot tub in the evenings. Breakfast was out of this world!!!! We are still talking about how good the food was. It's a short drive to Rocky Mountain NP or to the towns of Fraser and Winter Park. Great for relaxing but adventure is at your doorstep if you want it!! Can't wait to go back for an anniversary :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Ryan and I really enjoyed our mini mountain getaway at Wildhorse Inn! The location is gorgeous and the staff is so friendly. We hope to plan a trip there every summer. Thank you all for a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alecespedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Wild Horse Inn. It was obvious that the owners are in the catering and hospitality business as the attention to detail was exceptional. A very clean space, inviting atmosphere and all the little things that make a get away great!

It's a perfect location if you are looking to just get away and relax! Not to mention the food and hospitality was outstanding!!

I would go back in a heartbeat and suggest it to anyone I know.

Room Tip: We were able to upgrade to a cabin which was a great choice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend during the 'mud season'. The accommodations were wonderful - you really get the mountain atmosphere with the log-cabin feeling and the tasteful decor. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The owners were great as well - John cooked up an impressive gourmet breakfast each morning and was very welcoming. He provided suggestions for local attractions, hiking etc. And who could forget Bella, the sweet little dog with a ton of character who adds a certain charm to the property.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Buckskin room complete with an old fashioned tub and storage room for luggage etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Vyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
7.4 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
504 reviews
18.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
9.1 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
66 reviews
1.8 mi away
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horse Inn

Property: Wild Horse Inn
Address: 1536 County Road 83, Fraser, CO 80442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Fraser
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wild Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxury bed and breakfast and private cabins near Winter Park, Colorado. There are pet friendly options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Wild Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Horse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing