We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Escape”
Review of Wild Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wild Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in one of the dog friendly cabins for 2 days - only wish we had more time to spend at the Wild Horse Inn. (our dogs agree!). Had a fabulous time snowshoeing during the day, and just hanging out in the warm, cozy cabin. Hope to spend some time there during the summer. Thanks for this welcoming place, great breakfast friendly hosts and a much needed getaway. And OH! the wonderful comfy bed!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Wild Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 196 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Wild Horse Inn for a wedding this past weekend. It was a whirl-wind weekend so I was not able to take full advantage of everything the Inn had to offer, but it seemed like it was the perfect place for a Colorado getaway, whatever the weather. I'm hoping this review will remind me to go back someday soon!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohmaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just returned from the best Valentines Day ever! Decided last minute to escape for a romantic getaway and head to the mountains. Having stayed at DTR on a prior visit, we decided to try the more intimate setting of the smaller inn. What a delight!!! We rented one of WHI's cabins. Fantastic! Quaint, private, intimate, romantic, impeccable. The rooms are clean, spacious, well equipped and well decorated. The staff is friendly and helpful but not overly friendly and in your space. John and Kris and Cris and Judy were professional, courteous, and eager to please. Dont go to Winter Park and miss this little gem....you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Cabins are awesome, but the lodge rooms are excellent too.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matsobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We are just home from a wonderful weekend get-away with our son and his girlfriend and can't say enough about the Wild Horse Inn. We loved our "doggie friendly" cabin and found both the cabin and the nearby main lodge cozy and comfortable. Chris was an excellent host (and skillful cook) and we could not have asked for more. It was a short 5-minute drive to Devil's Thumb Ranch where we cross-country skied for two days. We will be back!

Room Tip: While we stayed in two of the separate cabins, we did take a peak at the lodge rooms and all were ve...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I rented one of Wild Horse Inn's dog-friendly cabins for a weekend in Fraser. We were attending a wedding at Devil's Thumb Ranch down the road, and loved the proximity to tons of great snowshoeing/skiing as well as the smaller, more personable atmosphere of this inn. The cabin was perfect, small and cozy with great soaking tub and porch (wish it were warm enough to enjoy!). The kitchen always had cookies, wine, and hot drinks available and the staff was friendly, eager to please. Breakfasts were delicious. Thanks to the owner's trail recommendations, we got some great snow adventures in over the weekend, too.

Room Tip: Our free standing cabin was very quiet!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I have stayed a couple times now at The Wil Horse Inn. Our stays always are memorable. We personally love the peace and quiet surrounding the cabin which is surrounded by forest. The staff are like family when you are there. We enjoy spending our day in Fraser/Winter Park then settling in with a glass of wine provided by the Inn while enjoying the outdoor hot tub, even in -13 degree wether! (that was our experience this last visit:) We highly recommend this B&B to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara_John2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family took a trip up to the Winterpark and Fraser area, and chose to stay here based on trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed! This B&B was AWESOME! We stayed in a cabin and it was so nice and peaceful. We loved sitting by the fireplace and looking out at the snow covered trees. I enjoyed the giant soaker/jacuzzi tub and my husband and daughters loved visiting the hot tub after a day out in the cold. The breakfasts were amazing and they were even nice enough to make special dairy free breakfasts to accommodate my daughter with a milk allergy. The bed was comfy, the cabin spotless and the scenery amazing! We will be back. This place ROCKS!

Room Tip: I had a chance to peek in at the rooms in the lodge and they were all super nice! I enjoyed having a...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEgal428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
7.4 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Winter Park
512 reviews
18.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 14 in Winter Park
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horse Inn

Address: 1536 County Road 83, Fraser, CO 80442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Fraser
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser
Price Range: $185 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wild Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxury bed and breakfast and private cabins near Winter Park, Colorado. There are pet friendly options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wild Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Horse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing