We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wild Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you care for home cooked breakfast, complementary wine and fresh baked cookies, 100 yr old wood beams, tranquil surroundings, gracious on-site hosts, off, but not to far off the beaten trail then the Wild Horse Inn is for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripRUs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    21
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
120
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

This place is wonderful. The food is delicious...the people are friendly...and the location is perfect! Quiet, cozy and comfortable describes the place well. We will be going back soon!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabins. It was private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We were just there last weekend and it was hard to leave!

The Inn is surrounded by mountains and not far off the beaten trail but just enough that it is quiet.

We stayed at one of the cabins outside the inn. It was beautiful and felt very secluded. There was a jacuzzi tub, fireplace and kitchenette with coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. We brought our dog and they supplied puppy treats for her and a blanket.

The staff that I had the pleasure to meet was so helpful and so very sweet! If you have any concerns or questions they will find an answer for you. I spoke mostly with Judy and she was so nice. She helped me sneak in a bottle of wine for my husbands birthday and had a birthday card for him also.

Every morning we went into the inn (which is so spacious and comfortable) and shared a laugh with the cook as he made us breakfast. He also knew a lot about the area and pointed us to different trails and beautiful spots that are very close to the inn. The breakfasts were so good and not as fatty so you don't get weighed down after eating, which is nice because we wanted to go see everything! There were also many baked goods. Scones, breads and muffins, oh my!! We even took some with us while we were hiking and enjoyed them as we took in the mountains, forests and lakes. (You also have the option to bring breakfast to your cabin if you request it.)

The Inn also supplies freshly baked cookies that are put into a cookie jar and complementary wine. (Which is conveniently close to the hot tub outside!) There is a hot tub, sauna, and options for massages. We enjoyed all but the sauna. The massage was very much appreciated after the day long hike going up and then down a mountain. It was almost enchanting sitting in the hot tub watching and feeling the snowfall with a nice glass of wine beside you... like I said it was hard to leave!!

If you have a chance to go to the Wild Horse Inn, I would definitely take it! You will not regret it.

Room Tip: We chose a cabin and if you are like us and like to be more secluded from the world and have your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandeebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I should have written a review last year when my husband and I got married at the Inn (it was perfect!) But since I didn't, I will write one from our stay this weekend. We went up for our 1 year anniversary, and were reminded of why we got married there. It is in beautiful Fraser with great views all around. The rooms are so comfortable and I can't say enough good things about John's breakfast (ginger orange French toast with poached pears!) Chris, John, and Judy run a beautiful B&B and we can't wait to return for many years.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EandCVito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

My wife and I could not get slope side accommodations at Winter Park because they were sold out. After searching the area we decided against one of the older hotels in Fraser and opted to try the Wild Horse Inn. It is perfectly located just outside of town in the foothills. Very quiet and romantic. We stayed in the Appaloosa (sp) Room. Very grand and comfortable. The bathroom was immaculate. John and Chris were excellent hosts and Judy made you feel right at home. We highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Dogs allowed in cabin rooms. Bed's are a bit soft for our personal taste but very nice. Note we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsai316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ga.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I are not skiers and we wanted to see the Rocky Mountains, so we
made our trip in August. Unfortunately, he sprained his ankle before we left for the trip.
When we arrived at the Inn, it was just what we needed. The setting was amazing and the
Inn keepers were so welcoming. The Inn is almost secluded among horse ranches and
was so serene. The breakfasts each morning were incredible. We read a little and
did some easy hiking and then returned to a beautiful fire and wine. We always stay in B & B's and this was by far the best ever!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. You won't be disappointed in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is THE most wonderful place. Beautiful and comfortable. The owners/staff are exceptionally friendly and thoughtful. We had wonderful breakfasts cooked for us every AM, each better than the last. We got snowed in and had to stay an extra day, and they were gracious and accomodating. The place is set between two fabulous cross country ski areas, and Winter Park downhill ski hill is just a few miles away.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zerokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
7.4 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 15 in Winter Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horse Inn

Property: Wild Horse Inn
Address: 1536 County Road 83, PO Box 609, Fraser, CO 80442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Fraser
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wild Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxury bed and breakfast and private cabins near Winter Park, Colorado. There are pet friendly options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Wild Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Horse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing