We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed.”
Review of Wild Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wild Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed.”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We visited for 2 nights. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, but the lighting was poor and the chair very uncomfortable. The soap was a one inch bar, and we only got one bar. Had to move it from the sink to the tub. We were out of the room at 9 am to sightsee, and our room was not picked up when we returned at 3 pm. The breakfast was good. The owners are not particularly friendly. We paid a lot for the room and wouldn't go back.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgal61985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    21
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
124
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossland, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband & I have stayed at Wild Horse Inn many times... and recommended it to family and friends. Universally excellent service, stays and overall accomodations. It's a place I think back on often - always with pleasant memories. If you are in the area - THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY - from breakfast to bed - fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexWai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabernash
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were married at The Wild Horse earlier this month and it was perfect from start to finish. From planning the details months in advance to making sure every last detail of the big day was taken care of, the experience was stress-free. The food was delicious, the venue is stunning, and the staff was professional and friendly.
The Inn itself is a beautiful venue for a wedding, family reunion, or weekend getaway. Innkeepers Chris and John made the stay relaxing and one that our guests will be talking about for a long time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Our August 2011 visit was just one of several we have made over the years. The warm hospitality, the scrumptious meals, the well-appointed rooms and the setting combine to show that we are welcomed and valued guests. The Wild Horse is well-located so that outdoor activities can be enjoyed any season of the year. We have enjoyed consistently excellent food and service.

Room Tip: Any room in the Inn is delightful. We have not tried the cabins.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had our wedding here and it was amazing. We took over the entire place with friends and family and everyone pretty much agreed that the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a memorable experience. They’re super knowledgeable about the area and help everybody find something to do (we were here over four days) during the day and places to eat at night.

On the day of our actual wedding the staff was extra attentive and seemed to anticipate all of those little things that come up from spares bits to hold dresses and decorations together to snacks and drinks to hold us together. They catered the event and the food was over the top good. People still comment about the four food stations and how we all ate too much but couldn’t help ourselves.

We’ve been back several times for mountain biking and skiing trips and love staying here. I have no idea how someone could give this place one star—and I guess when you look at the dozens of reviews you probably get a more accurate picture of what the place is really like—OUTSTANDING!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridensurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

-i am a musician (my name is Tori Pater) who played a wedding at this dump a few years ago, and feel so strongly about this i had to write a review
-these morons wouldn't let you into your OWN cabin during the reception, locking them up (sending Grandma to a port-a-potty)
-pulled the food before the mother of the bride ate, refused to make her a plate
-after the reception, we went to the father of the bride's cabin for drinks and they shut us down a 10pm for being too loud. now the wedding party had every cabin rented, and this was the man who paid for the whole day.
-you will not have a good wedding at this place. again, i was just an observer but i felt the need to save you from making a grave mistake

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ToriPater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We didn't feel very welcomed, and we were not impressed with the owners or staff person on duty. the room was nice, but they need window shades. The soap was a one inch bar-ridiculously small, and we only got one. Had to move it from sink to tub. Never saw the bottomless cookie jar or complementary wine.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labsNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
7.4 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
490 reviews
18.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
14.2 mi away
The Silver Lake Lodge
The Silver Lake Lodge
#1 of 5 in Idaho Springs
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horse Inn

Property: Wild Horse Inn
Address: 1536 County Road 83, PO Box 609, Fraser, CO 80442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Fraser
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wild Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxury bed and breakfast and private cabins near Winter Park, Colorado. There are pet friendly options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wild Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Horse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing