We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and excellent hospitality”

Cross Farm Cottages
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cross Farm Cottages
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value and excellent hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My son and I wanted a base from which to explore Liverpool, Manchester, Blackpool and North Wales. We found an excellent base in Cross Farm Cottages. Although we had the smallest of the cottages, Natterjack, it was so well designed there was plenty of space for the two of us. The cottage was well equipped and modern. Cleanliness was of the highest standard. Excellent, spacious wet room. Car parking is really nearby but didn't spoil the countryside view from the patio which was great for alfresco dining.
Lin and Stan were very good hosts and very welcoming. An example of their attention to detail is the provision of car window washing facilities!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
225 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Lin and Stan's cottage. They are the best hosts you can imagine. Going the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and at home. They even provided a wheelchair for our son who had a sports accident the day before our arrival. And they found the nearest local pub showing the Championsleague semi final on TV :) Everything was nice, clean and efficient. The location is great if you wanna explore Liverpool, Manchester as well as the Lake district. That's what we did and we absolutely loved it. There's a bus stop in front of the house and the bus takes you to downtown Liverpool in 45 min. So don't bother driving there because parking is very expensive everywhere in the UK. The next restaurant is in walking distance and provides amazingly good food and very friendly service. So all in all we had a great time and can recommend this place. Thanks Lin & Stan!!

Room Tip: Choose the cottages facing the lawn as they have a nice terrace to the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Well done Lin and stan, you have created the perfect balance of cleanliness coupled with accessibility.
We stayed here for a wedding nearby and were made to feel most welcome.
We rented all three units and I can say hand on heart all 3 were most excellently kitted out, warm spacious and well thought out.
If I had to critique anything it would be the easy chair, reminds me of an old persons sitting room chair....
Never the less insignificant and a small thing.
Good work Lin and stan we enjoyed our stay thank you very much.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Paneldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful break at Cross farm cottages. Fab location away from city center so can have good nights sleep,but close enough to go shopping and enjoy restaurants. Lin and Stan extend fab hospitality, nothing is too much trouble for them. What a wonderful couple! Cottages absolutely spotless and have everything you could possibly want, including scrabble and other games which me and my family enjoyed. Within walking distance is a wonderful and reasonable gastro pub. Great service there and fab food! Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Warm,cosy and clean what more can you want! Excellent location for many National Trust properties, we visited Speke Hall and Rufford Old Hall. Both being less than 30 mins away. As my daughter is at Edge Hill Uni this cottage provided us with the ideal solution to visit her and enabling me to cook for her! Hotels do not give you that opportunity . Lynn and Stan were perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We shall return as daughter has two years left!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MeltonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at Cross Farm in Feb 2013. As a family of 4 Swallow Cottage was ideal for us, this well equipped cottage was like home from home. Lin & Stan have thought of everything you need to ensure your stay is comfortable. The kitchen & wet room are modern, functional, clean & well equipped. The cottage was warm, cosy & bright. The location was a great base for so many places within 20 mins to an hour drive. Linda & Stan are so helpful & friendly making your stay really great. A really good find!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have used many self catering cottages in this area as we originate from there and visit family and this is by far the best facility that we have come across. The cottages are finished to a very high standard and the beds (plus duvet, pillows etc) are extremely comfortable. The best we have come across!! The bathroom is superb and cooking facilities have everything you need.
Stan and Linda are fantastic hosts, they make you feel at home from the first minute and nothing is too much trouble.
Great position for touring as it is handy for Southport, Ormskirk, Liverpool, and further afield such as Chester, North Wales, Manchester, South Lakes, etc.
Would definitely go back and recommend to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sc0user123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downholland
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southport (Ormskirk) Hotel
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lancashire Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool North Hotel
1.4 mi away
Birches Brow Boutique Guestrooms
4.7 mi away
Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Farm Cottages

Property: Cross Farm Cottages
Address: Cross Farm Mairscough Lane, Downholland, Ormskirk L39 7HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Downholland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Downholland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Cross Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing