We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant for people and dogs.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Warcop, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mark c
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant for people and dogs.”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage which we will certainly be staying in again.
Right near the main road but far enough away, with hills inbetween, to not even know the road was there.
The front of the cottage also faces a paddock where you can sit in the lovely front garden and watch the horses graze.
The house is really nicely set out. Holidaying with dogs can be problematic but this place is made for it. The owners are dog friendly and have their own dogs next door. The house has a boot room for throwing muddy dogs and can be accessed via the kitchen so you dont have to worry about messing the living room up.
The kitchen is very spacious and even has a 'reading' room off it with a picture window overlooking the lovely rear garden and the fields behind it.
Due to having two big dogs I have to worry about the security of the gardens when visiting rentals but this place is made for dogs. There is a large, high fenced section for the dogs to roam or sunbathe and then a separate further garden for people only. Absolutely ideal to let the dogs out in a secure area in the morning to do their ablutions.
The living room is really cosy but big enough for 6 and with a lovely iron stove which the owners top up with fuels for a small fee.
All the bedrooms are very spacious and light and the decor of the whole cottage is modern but with cottage character.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMacdd
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A quiet spot in the country for a warm welcome for humans and dogs too!”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We recently spent a week at the Glenridding cottage for a family vacation along with our two dogs. Finding a cottage that allows a couple of dogs can be diffcult but Glenridding welcomes them with open arms and the dogs are made just as welcome as their owners, there were some nice little touches for the dogs. There were also a few little warm welcome touches for the humans too.

The rooms are all very clean and well equiped. We used the oven/dishwasher a few times and everything was straight forward to use. There is a fire place in the sitting room that was used (it was fairly cold the week we were on holiday!). Upstairs the bedrooms are all of a good size and the beds are very comfy. Due to the cottage location its very quiet so no traffic noise. There is a really nice garden space to the front and the back which on good summer days would be lovely to sit out on.

The cottage is a bit off the beaten track with the two nearest towns being Appleby and Kirkby Stephen which are approx 10mins drive away. Both of these towns have a good selection of places to eat and shop, appleby probably being the more touristy with nicer gift shops but Kirkby Stephen has better food shopping options to stock up for the week and also more eating out options. Overall the location is good for reaching various places, we took a trip into Yorkshire, the Lake district and the pennines which are all within easy reach.

There weren't really any negatives, the only thing we thought would be beneficial would be a dog guard for the stairs just to help stop them going up their at night time, i guess this would also be useful for families with younger children.

Overall Glenridding comes with much approval and especially for dog owners it's the haven you've been looking for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Thank you for sharing this thoroughly lovely review with us all, we are over the moon that you, and of course your four legged friends, enjoyed your stay at Glenridding Cottage. The welcome goodies you received sound lovely, and how thoughtful to include your dogs! We will be sure to pass on your compliments to the owner. We hope that you return for another stay, it certainly sounds like there is plenty in the surrounding area to keep you busy time and again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmark
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful, well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at this cottage for 1 week (3 adults, 2 kids and 1 dog). The cottage is very clean and has everything you would need. We liked the wood burning fire in the lounge. There is a small reading snug which was so relaxing with a great view. Large utility room with washer/ironing board etc. This was a great room to dump all your coats and boots when you came back from a long walk. The cottage is a short drive to lots of great places like The Lakes, The Yorkshire Dales and many country villages etc. The owners, Allyson ad Mark next door were very friendly and on hand if you needed anything.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2015
We are so pleased to hear that you all had a good holiday at Glenridding Cottage and that you had everything you needed. It is great that you were able to explore area and had the cosy wood burner to come back to. We do hope that you will return for another holiday soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and owner.”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Spacious cottage in North Pennines and easy for Ullswater. Décor, furniture and gardens are lovely. The rear garden is large and enclosed with views of hills, also containing a gas bbq. Bedrooms are a good size with plenty of storage. Nice little snug to sit and read or browse, which is just off the kitchen. Large utility room, which is great for the dog.
Don't think that this place will be tatty because of dogs, its not, its spotless.
The Wi-Fi is excellent too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed feel and the comfort of the place.
Liked least: Nothing
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritJaney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, perfect facilities & the perfect owner next door!”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for a week from 24th July with my 2 daughters age 7 & 9, and a friend and her 2 children. The cottage was cosy yet spacious and had every home comfort you could wish for. We were lucky enough to have an evening of glorious sunshine and made full use of the gas BBQ and alfresco dining area, overlooking the hills. Despite the weather declining for the rest of our stay we were able to warm up with the wood burning stove. Alysson is right next door with her 4 dogs and hubby, and our children loved to see the dogs and we never felt like we were intruding. Appleby and Kirkby Steven are a short drive away for shopping, swimming and eating out. Glenridding cottage gets 5 stars from all of us!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ1961
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fabulous cottage in wonderful location”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We have just spent a week at Glenridding cottage a beautiful recently refurbished property in a great location for peace and quiet 5 adults and one dog! The owners live next door and what really nice people who made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived . The cottage has absolutely everything you need just like being at home with lovely rear garden and smashing views in great rural location. There are plenty of nice places nearby a short distance by car and great places to eat. If you like walking especially with a dog then this is perfect you would be hard pushed to find anything better will definately be going back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was spot on
Liked least: nothing not to like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

After staying in Glenridding Cottage for three nights with my family, we were all excited and eager to tell everybody how beautiful our holiday home was!
The pictures make Glenridding Cottage look lovely, but seeing it in person is even better! The newly renovated property has been decorated to the highest standard and it really does make your stay that little extra special! The cottage had everything we needed, and it was obvious so much thought and attention to detail had been invested in making this home a perfect place to enjoy your break. The cottage owners genuinely had thought of everything!
Upon arrival we were greeted by Allyson the cottage owner who lives next door with her husband Mark, as this is the first time we have used Sykes Cottages we really didnt know what to expect, Allyson was the most welcoming lovely host who made us feel right at home from the beginning, she made it very clear we were to ask if there was anything we needed and we didnt feel like we were putting her out at all, she was so happy to help!
Allyson and Mark were always friendly faces in the morning and always made time to stop and chat, asking how our holiday was and answering any questions we had suggesting nice places to visit and eat.
The log fire is a beautiful touch and everything we needed was right there, there was more than enough wood, coal and firelighters and Allyson even said her and her husband would help us light it if we were struggling.
There was a lovely book on the table detailing everything we needed to know about the cottage, some wine and some lovely jams, also a little visitors book with letters from previous families about their stays, all of which, it seems were as perfect as ours was!
We are especially grateful for having the chance to take our dog Billy too! As this was super special and important for us. Billy had his own little room at the back of the house which had a bowl of treats and a lovely letter from Allysons dogs next door welcoming him! this was a lovely touch and really made us smile because he is one of the family!

In terms of cleanliness and tidiness the cottage was immaculate in every way! Allyson and Mark you have done a fantastic job, thankyou for your hospitality and also Sykes Cottages for helping us find the perfect holiday home! We cannot recommend Glenridding Cottage enough!! The Hardmans

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How welcoming, helpful and lovely the owners were!
Liked least: Everything was perfect!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing