We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colorado Springs KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colorado Springs KOA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Good showers, good people. Were camping in a tent an I wad worried when arrived by the lack of shade trees but each camp site has a roofed picnic table which was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhnnymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    33
    18
    13
    16
See reviews for
56
23
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our family stayed here 3 nights while visiting family in the Springs. We stayed in one of their one-room Kabins and had a very good experience!

The cabin included a bunk bed for the kids and an actual queen bed that was quite comfy (box spring and mattressed) as opposed to a camp-style mattress. The cabin was very clean, had a good air conditioner, power outlet, small table, mirrors, coat hooks, broom and dustpan, trash can. We were only one cabin away from the restroom/shower building that was kept very clean.

We got to enjoy the pool and free mini-golf. They also have horseshoe pits, corn hole game and a playground and we missed out on the tractor-pulled hayride.

While this particular campground isn't the most scenic, we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Butler, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed 2 times at this KOA because of the close location to Col. Spgs airport, but were very pleased with both stays. We arrived late each time, but the camp hosts were always gracious to have our paperwork ready and waiting for our stay. We stayed in a cabin each time and as all KOA's have been so far, it was perfectly clean. The shower house was very adequate and clean also. We didn't really do anything at the camp ground since we woke and left very early each morning, but was totally pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin closest to the shower house. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We hadn't camped here in many years and decided to take our camper out for a quick "shake out" before a longer trip. This property is very clean, bathrooms and showers clean, sites well policed, outdoor kitchen clean, ect. The staff were all courteous and helpfull, even helping take trash out for campers (clean). We stayed two nights and had a great overall experience. Power, water pressure, and cable were all sufficient. WiFi was intermittent but we were at the back of the park well away from the office.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyjacker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We are fairly experienced tent campers and have stayed at many koas. We are not from the area so we had no idea how hard the wind blows. They put us on a site that one worker was surprised because they don't put tents there. We asked how hard the wind blows and no one would tell us. On the second day a front came through with winds about 40 or more m.p.h. Our tent pole snapped and the fly ripped. After they move us to a cabin they then informed us about the winds. We told them they should be up front with tenters about the winds so they could decide if they wanted to take the risk. They told us they have no control over the weather and they are always chasing down tents that blow away. The rude ladies at the desk told us we would have to pay for the remaining 2 nights at the cabin rate if we left early. If you are a tenter don't stay here. We left early cutting our vacation short. Had to rent cabins all the way back home but those koas were friendly and helpful. Only good thing about this place is it is close to attractions but I would NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: DO not bring a tent to this KOA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charisse Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I needed a place to sleep for about 5 hours so we stayed here before going to Seven Falls. It's your typical KOA, but a little bigger and a little nicer. Also, a little pricier - probably b/c we were in Colo Springs (?). It served it's purpose. I LOVED that there was water at every camping station. The staff (which we only saw in the morning as we were trying to leave) seemed friendly. A good, typical place to stay. Right off the highway - bring your earplugs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed one night here while traveling through Colorado. We arrived late and the person who closed up the office had failed to leave the late-arrival info in the designated spot. Another family was in the same boat. We waited around and started off to locate someone when finally a worker came up and went off to locate our check-in information. We stayed in a large cabin. It was very clean and spacious, but the access road for the I-25 was literally five feet from the back of the cabin separated only by a chain-link fence. The noise from the interstate was terrible. There are some other cabins farther away, but the interstate noise dominates the whole place. Our cabin had a nice screened-in front porch, but we never used it because of the noise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fountain
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Colorado Springs/I-25 South
Hampton Inn & Suites Colorado Sp...
#7 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
6.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#8 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs Airport
Homewood Suites by Hilton Colora...
#58 of 105 in Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force A...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Springs KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Springs KOA

Property: Colorado Springs KOA
Address: 8100 Bandley Dr, Fountain, CO 80817-2602
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Fountain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Fountain
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up to the beautiful view of Pikes Peak (14,115 feet above sea level), the most visited mountain in North America. Visit Garden of the Gods, Cave of the Winds (try the Bat-a-Pult ride!) And other area attractions. Stay in a fully equipped Cabin, pitch a tent or pull into an RV site (including extra-large sites). If you are planning a rally or family reunion, this KOA has a hall for those scrumptious potlucks, or have them catered by the staff. During the summer, enjoy a dip in the heated pool or relax in the hot tub. Dont feel like cooking? Try the all-you-can-eat pancakes for breakfast or a homemade pizza or tasty barbecue plate for dinner. Pets will have a great time being with their families, meeting new dogs, running in the dog park or trying out the agility park. There are three horse corrals for your larger pets. With so many things to do at KOA and in the area, you will want to stay as long as you can! The campground staff looks forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colorado Springs South Koa Hotel Fountain
Colorado Springs KOA Fountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing