We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing ski experience!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
10% accommodation taxes  to be paid cash at check in.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
10% accommodation taxes  to be paid cash at check in.
Pool and hot tub open from May 15 to October 15
Massages Available
Sauna included in summer frame price,15$ x person rest of year
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fort Garland, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Amazing ski experience!”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Staying at dolomites ranch in the winter is even better than during the summer. We knew already the kind of service Federico provides but skiing with him is superlative. My kids learn more skiing with him in 3 days that what they did not with all the instructors we paid in the last 5 years. His way of teaching is personal, he combines strong basic techiques with the personality and the level of confidence each of his students have. My wife doesn't ski but she was impressed to see how the kids improved strongly the way they ski. Federico is very scrupulous but also very open. He gives you the time you need to assimilate the given tips. He focused on few things you need to know to ski better since the beginning at your level instead of talking talking talking like all the others ski instructors we paid in the past. So at the end of the day you do not feel frustrated and you want to go back immediately for more lessons. My kids were able to stay almost 5 hours a day, every day on the skis thing that never happened in the past. And than the price: he charges nothing there is no comparison at all. The chalet is super beautiful with the snow and the fireplace going. What a fun experience. We surely go back. Strongly suggested for skiing families with a budget. The driving to the ski resorts is well worth.Thanks Federico.
Steve and his family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Thanks and come back anytime you want. Check offers for this December 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah...
1 review
“Great honeymoon spot”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at Dolomites Ranch for our honeymoon and it was incredible. We chose the ranch after reading the positive reviews, and Federico far surpassed our already high expectations. He is a very sensitive and gracious host, providing a perfect balance of service and privacy. When we needed him, he was always available. When we wanted to be by ourselves, he never once intruded. He provided suggestions for activities during the days, all of which were spot on and very fun. We visited the nearby lake, hiked in Taos, and went to Great Sand Dunes National Park, none of which were more than an hour drive away. The ranch is in a beautiful location, and the view of the nearby mountains is breathtaking.

By far the best part of the experience, however, was his food. We originally planned for three meals with Federico over our five night stay, but we enjoyed our dinners with him so much that we added a fourth. His menus are creative, he uses fresh ingredients, and his dishes are all perfectly executed. If we go back (which we really hope to), we will be sure to have five course meals instead of the simpler three course option.

As several others have noted, the ranch is off grid and as such it is not the same experience as staying at a luxury hotel. Don’t let this scare you! The incredible service, location, and privacy is more than enough to outweigh the mild inconvenience of not being able to take an hour long shower. Dolomites Ranch is truly a special place, mainly thanks to Federico. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thank you a lot. Hope to have you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia H
1 review
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We came to vacation at the Dolomites Ranch all the way from Florida! I do not think we could have survived our vacation without the help of Federico. He is an absolute wonderful human being! Federico was helping us even before we left Florida from advice on attractions we should see, to advice about what to expect for weather and packing. He is there for you as much or as little as you want, don't be afraid to ask! Federico is a man of all trades, quite impressive! (420 Friendly) The 50 acres of property are beyond beautiful. The pictures are no comparison to how beautiful the land, chalet and scenery are in person. Our favorite part about staying here was waking up and seeing the mountains right outside as the sun was rising. We are already trying to plan our next trip to stay here! Although we didn't book a dinner with Federico, I would highly recommend it! We definitely want to try it next time. We did get a chance to try the Dolomites special cocktail...DELICIOUS! The ranch can only be accessed by dirt road, 4WD is recommended, but we did it in a Kia Soul (maybe not in the mud though). It probably took about 25-30 minutes at 15 mph to get down to the main road that heads into San Luis. From there it was about 20 minutes to Fort Garland; 60 to Alamosa (Walmart); 60 minutes to Taos or Red River, New Mexico. We cannot thank Federico enough for all he did while we stayed at the Dolomites Ranch. Looking forward to staying here again. Thanks Federico! - Alicia

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2017
Thanks Alicia hope to see you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K A
Manvel, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful hidden gem!”
Reviewed December 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

There are so many wonderful things to say about this place! The gorgeous scenery, the extremely clean chalet, the amazingly comfortable beds, and the unmatched hospitality, just to name a few! This was our first time to book on VRBO and we couldn't not be happier! Federico was a fantastic host throughout the entire experience. The communication prior to our arrival was extremely helpful with regards with packing and travel, and upon arrival it felt as though we were staying with family! When we arrived he had the fire going and the chalet was warm and inviting, the same was true for our entire visit. Federico's knowledge of the area, the landscape, the attractions, and the weather helped take most of the guesswork out if this winter vacation for us. It was wonderful having someone at our disposal to ask for advice. The chalet was beautiful! Extremely clean and well maintained, comfortable, cozy, and really felt like home! The big dining table allowed room for not only eating, but for the playing of board games and cards after dinner, and the beds with their warm wonderful sheets were very welcoming after a day in the snow. We could not be more pleased with this place or with our host. WE will DEFINITELY recommend Federico and his spectacular chalet to all of our friends and family!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2016
Thanks really appreciate it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing