We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Owner Very Rude”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Garland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ft. Garland Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Garland
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Owner Very Rude”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed in the hotel sometime last year and we stayed with our dog. The rooms were very clean, and basic. The beds were comfortable. The owner is strange, however; not very business like. I just called today 9-3-11 and wanted to stay with my daughter and dog again. The owner very abruptly said "NO! ABSOLUTELY NOT! She could have said "I'm sorry we don't accept pets." This response would have been more appropriate. Too bad, my family frequents the area and we won't do business at the Ft Garland Motor Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lsipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    7
    2
    10
See reviews for
16
14
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado City, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Anna was not as strange as was reported in previous reviews. My parents enjoyed her conversations and the rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: There are little foyers between some rooms for kids and parents to have privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimleslye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

My handicap uncle and I wanted to stay in Ft Garland after playing Golf at the Cattails golf course just up the road in Alamosa. Prior to looking for a motel there I had done my research here on-line. I had read all the crazy reviews about the Motor inn so I wanted to avoid it if possible. So I first tried to get a room at the lodge down the street from the motor in. Which was the only other motel in town. However due to it being 4th of July weekend they were all booked up. So I figured I would try motor inn for myself just to see what it was like. They wanted double the price the lodge would have wanted if they had had another room available. I also see what everyone else is saying. That woman is not very friendly. She is sort of snappy and just weird. I told her my uncle was handicapped and she wanted to know if he wore diapers. We didn't end up staying there. We drove on down to trails inn in Trinidad and got a room for
Only 65$ much better than the 100$ price Anna wanted at the motor in. If the lodge would have had a room we could have stayed there for only 50$. Wow!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rain982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortGarland, Manager at Ft. Garland Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2017
I am so sorry to hear of your experience. The hotel was sold and has been under new management as of March of 2017. We would love to have you back for a new experience anytime. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Everything eveyone has said is true. I live in the area and had to stay there one night when our water pipes froze.

The place is clean, immaculate, pristine. The owners' take pride in the appearance of the property.

However, the owners do have an odd way about them that could put off most guests. They ask questions they probably shouldn't and get a little weird before you even check in.

The day I stepped in the door and said I'd like a room, the first question I was asked was if I had pet. (no) The second question was if I smoked (no) then I was told I could not bring any of my own linens or pillows into the motel because of wide-spread bed bug problems from other areas (well, if I am staying at a hotel, why would I bring my own linens???)

FINALLY, I was given a slip to fill out. Then I got grilled about why I needed a room if I lived in the area (frozen pipes, lady).

After all of that, I paid, got a key and went to the room. The rooms are CLEAN, but are the average hotel decor, etc. Note: The rooms do NOT have hair dryers in them.

My husband joined me later in the night and also got the weird looks when he arrived by another vehicle and used the side door to come in.

Other than the owners' esoteric manner, the stay provided heat, hot water and showers + a coffee pot for AM coffee and a relatively sound sleep.

Motel is located next to liquor store, several restaurants within walking distance or 5 minute drive.

Note: they do NOT allow pets and I believe the entire motel now is non-smoking

To the person who said there is no cell phone service, ATT just put up a new cell tower since they bought out AllTel and we have great cell phone reception in the area now.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieByChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott City, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

We were traveling with friends and stayed in this motel. I admit we were nervous after reading the reviews but motel rooms are limited so you take what you can get. Having said that, we found Anna to be very engaging and we were NOT the least bit insulted by her keeping an 'eye' on us. She was funny and chipper and full of good tips and stories. We found ourselves laughing and almost seeking her out for more stories. Sorry some people are so sensitive or are looking for something to complain about. We would stay with Anna again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PicassoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

I traveled through here with my family for a short vacation and decided to stop here after seeing a decent amount of reviews. Well, don't believe any of the good reviews! The management/owners are judgmental, unkind and seem to almost go out of their way to make you feel unwelcome and uncomfortable. As soon as we entered we were not greeted and I had to prompt the front desk that I wanted to check in. We were eyeballed up and down and given pointed glares. I am so disgusted by how we were treated that I ended up taking my family an extra hour down the road to find another place to stay.
Word of advice: Please do not be fooled over the phone by what might seem like a charming person. If they don't like you for any reason they will make you feel unwanted and would even turn you away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spyder207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortGarland, Manager at Ft. Garland Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2017
I am so sorry to hear of your experience. The hotel was sold and has been under new management as of March of 2017. We would love to have you back for a new experience anytime. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Fort Garland is not exactly a metropolis. We were driving from Colorado Springs to Taos, NM with two young children and they HAD to stop. With very limited choices we chose The Ft.Garland Motor Inn. The hostess was friendly - told us the best restaurant (out of the two available) and offered us a clean, safe room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenc271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Garland
23.6 mi away
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
#9 of 13 in Alamosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
23.5 mi away
Days Inn Alamosa
Days Inn Alamosa
#7 of 13 in Alamosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Veta Inn
La Veta Inn
#1 of 1 in La Veta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Valley Motel
Valley Motel
#8 of 13 in Alamosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
18.7 mi away
River's Edge Bed and Breakfast at Dodgeton Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ft. Garland Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ft. Garland Motor Inn

Property: Ft. Garland Motor Inn
Address: 411 Hwy 160, Fort Garland, CO 81133
Location: United States > Colorado > Fort Garland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Garland
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very clean hotel. Owner is a retired veteran, and all veterans are welcome. We offer snacks and coffee, as well as great hospitality. Can't wait to have you stay! Stop in and say hello! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing