We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER, NEVER EVER STAY IN THIS HOLE!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Fort Collins
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We booked into this, I can only describe it as a dirty, disgusting, prison lookalike building on Saturday 21st July 2012. Upon arrival we walked into the 'lobby' where we were met by 2 not very savoury characters sitting in the sun by the door. I hate lifts so my son and I took the disgusting concrete filthy stairs while the other member of our party took the lift with the luggage but only just made it without it breaking down halfway, lots of weird noises!! Upon entering our stinking room the first thing I saw out of the filthy French windows was a pile of dog mess and dried up dog wee on the balcony. The air conditioning was just blowing out outside temperature air, not chilled at all. The pillows were lumpy and the whole place was just filthy all for $125 a night!!! We rang reception to ask them to come and remove the dog poo which they did in a piece of toilet paper and walked back with it through our room. There was chewing gum on the carpet,light fittings with wires hanging out of them, all in all it was just worse than disgusting. I refused to stay so we asked for a refund, which we got, and moved on to somewhere half the price and clean. In my opinion the place should be shut down!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Please read the Fort Collins Coloradoan feature on this hotel. Apparently, homeless people are living there for $900 a month. A sex offender is housed here and on the sex offeder registry. It is a regular visit for teenage prostitutes and a meth and heroin hangout. Three people have died of drug overdoses in the rooms in the last two years. The owner is doing nothing to clean the place up, but the dedicated staff who need the minimum wage job continue to fight a losing battle here. The police have it on their daily radar and are doing three times a day patrols and trying to get the seedy characters cleaned up, but are also fighting a losing battle. Amidst all this, they are still renting rooms to unsuspecting families that stumble upon this hotel late at night as they travel up and down the I-25 corridor. If you value your safety and health, DO NOT stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank ProMommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The most UNSANITARY, UNSAFE hotel I have ever visited. It looked like a crack den covered in vomit and bugs. For $90/night we could have easily found a much nicer place. It was surrounded by homeless people. The room numbers were missing and written in marker. Upon first opening the door we found several pink stains on the wall and other markings. The sheets had not been replaced and were covered in stains and hair. The carpet was torn up, not vacuumed, stained, and pasty feeling (DON'T TAKE OFF YOUR SHOES). There were bugs on the beds, plus some dried up substances (bodily, I'm sure). It smelled of cigarettes even though it was non-smoking. The pool was milky and the entire building was caked in dust and feathers. This place is particularly unsafe because at about 4am there was violent banging on our door. We had closed it properly and locked the top lock. But other customers somehow had a key to our room and they opened it (THE TOP LOCK DOESN'T WORK). Although they left immediately, a break-in like this could have resulted in much worse consequences like robbery or injury. Plaza Hotel Fort Collins should not be in business and must be violating some kind of safety/sanitary laws. SLEEP IN YOUR CAR or ON THE STREET BEFORE COMING HERE, it'll be much more comfortable. You could get an STD from this kind of filth and I wouldn't be surprised to find a syringe under the mattress.

Room Tip: You'll get robbed staying in this unsafe, unsanitary vomit caked crack den.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank EmbleerFrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The room was filthy, I couldn't sit down any where. The couch had so many stains on it, office chair was ripped and filthy. I was afraid to pull the covers back on the bed. Dead flies on the carpet, old gum stuck in the carpet, cobwebs in the corner to ceiling. Toilet seat didn't fit toilet. We saw all this after checking in so we were able to get the credit card charges reversed and get out of there before my hysteria escalated. We ended up at the Super 8 a few doors down which was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank stho1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed there only because I had a coupon for $39 a night. Which was pretty good. The coupon stated they would have hot breakfast daily. There wasn't any breakfast. When i checked in the girl had to send a text message before helping me. The room was ok. Except bring your own hair dryer because there's didnt work and they don't have any that work. Make sure you check to make sure all of your lights work. I had two that didnt work, and if you wait until housekeeping is gone the front desk cant help you. The also dont give out towels for the pool, so make sure you bring your own. If you are looking for a secure hotel don't stay here. All of the security doors are broken, and the cops were at the hotel every night. I will definitely stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coloradochick3997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because all the other's had no vacancies due to the Cheyenne Frontier Days. It smells bad, look bad and has no breakfast facilities... I would avoid to stay there if there is any other hotel available.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BB_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My family stayed here because every other hotel was full. We have never had to switch our hotel room before, and we had to switch our room 3 times. It smelled terrible, the ceiling was falling down, and it was filthy. Our room had holes in the sheets and blankets. You couldn't sit in the chair because it was covered in something sticky. It seriously should be shut down!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Fort Collins East / I-25
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Fort Collins
Days Inn Fort Collins
#17 of 31 in Fort Collins
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Old Town
Comfort Inn Old Town
#16 of 31 in Fort Collins
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Collins
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fort Collins
2.2 mi away
Best Western Kiva Inn
Best Western Kiva Inn
#10 of 31 in Fort Collins
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 3836 East Mulberry, Building B, Fort Collins, CO 80524-8598 (Formerly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Fort Collins
Price Range: $64 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Collins Ramada Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing