We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even a 1 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not even a 1 star”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is old and sadly has not been very well taken care of. It's 2 and a half star rating is due to the brand name alone. The desk staff has no knowledge of what rooms are being worked on and while they "upgraded" my room due to an issue it wasn't an upgrade. For the price there are 2 and a half star hotels on the South side of Fort Collins even 3 star that make it pointless to stay at this location. Learned my lesson

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Charity A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUIHotelManager, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Charity A,

I am very sorry that the carpets were not yet done being cleaned in your room when you checked into our hotel.

I apologize that when I brought you your new keys to your upgraded room in our east building and offered to carry your bags for you, I did not realize how truly upset you were. I wish I would have known at that moment to ensure you had a pleasant stay with us.

We value the cleanliness of our rooms and we were having our weekly carpet cleaning that day. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope you will return so that we can have another chance to provide you our superior care.

Ashley,
General Manager
ashley@bwui.com
970-484-2984
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    168
    70
    23
    14
See reviews for
197
95
50
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My favorite spot to stay in Fort Collins. The staff is sooo helpful and I always manage to find time to spend in the sunny, indoor pool and hot tub. Little things add up: free Wifi, a free bottled water (I just had to pay $5 in another hotel, another city!), very comfortable pillows, steel-cut oats for breakfast, good parking. A good night's sleep—and that's not a little thing. This last time there were chocolate chip cookies at the desk and the receptionist suggested that I warm one for 10 seconds in the microwave. Oh yes, I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaSophia06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel was an older one but ok for a one night stay. They had tried to update the room but it was a little shabby around the edges. There were lots of college kids here since it is across the street from CSU. Several of them looked like they were living at the hotel and there was lots of chatting and visiting out on the walkways. I turned the fan on at night in the room and didn't notice any loud noises overnight. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating. The breakfast was average with the normal waffles, bagels, cereal and toast.

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the front part of the complex. The "back rooms" look to be an old dorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sierra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed just one night at the BW University Inn before a college tour at CSU. The hotel is right across the street from campus. Nothing fancy but the staff was very nice and the room was simple, clean and comfortable. We were in the newer building in the back of the main hotel, bottom floor. Two double beds, double sinks and separate toilet with tub/shower. Beds were comfortable; pillows not so great but I tend to be a pillow snob so they might have been fine. Breakfast was typical; scrambled eggs, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, pastries, waffle bar. The coffee was not great but it's hard to find good, strong coffee at any hotel breakfast buffet. We would stay here again for a night. The price was right!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casper
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The rooms were fairly dated but still comfortable. The location was both good and bad. Good because right on campus so close to everything, but bad because the walls were paper thin and you could hear every noise. In fact the hotel knows it has thin walls and the noise from the road, train, etc. so they provide you with foam ear plugs. The breakfast was good and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gduquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUIHotelManager, Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
gduquette,

I apologize that we were not yet finished with our soundproofing renovations during your stay at out hotel.

We have soundproofed all of the walls in our hotel to solve this issue. Unfortunately we cannot stop or silence the train, but I hope you will return to find that the ear plugs are no longer needed in our rooms!

Thank you for the review and I'm happy you enjoyed our breakfast and staff!

Karina Vick
970-484-2984
karina@bwui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We travel to Fort Collins often as our son lives here. We love this hotel for its proximity to the college campus and that we can walk downtown for shopping and dining. It is pet friendly and while we don't always bring our dog when we do we can walk her right across the street in the park. The location is perfect for every family visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Penney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUIHotelManager, Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Penney M,

Thank you for your review!

Thank you for staying with us when you come to visit your son, hope to see you soon!

Karina Vick
970-484-2984
karina@bwui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins CO, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Love the location and helpful, friendly staff. I have stayed at this location numerous times and always find the service and rooms to be excellent. I recommend this location to my family and friends I could safely say I , that this my home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUIHotelManager, Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Elizabeth S,

Thank you for a wonderful review! We strive to provide great customer service and I am so happy that you can call this your home away from home.

Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends, I hope that they will come experience our hotel as well.

Karina Vick
970-484-2984
karina@bwui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
4.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 30 in Fort Collins
380 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#2 of 30 in Fort Collins
451 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 30 in Fort Collins
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Kiva Inn
Best Western Kiva Inn
#12 of 30 in Fort Collins
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Fort Collins
Hilton Fort Collins
#19 of 30 in Fort Collins
911 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Property: Best Western University Inn
Address: 914 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524-3303 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fort Collins
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy Best Western located in old town Fort Collins across the street from CSU's main campus. We offe bicycle rentals for our guests for $15.00 a day, please inquire at the front desk after check in. Walking distance from many restaurants, shops, nightlife & the university campus. Biking distance to Fort Collin's famous breweries, nature trails and much more. We are pet friendly in half of our rooms (additional nightly fee), and our property features a beautiful year round pool house with hot tub and fitness center. We can offer group discounts and meeting space for up to 100 people, please inquire directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Fort Collins
Best Western Fort Collins
Fort Collins Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing