We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Casper, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great Value”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We travel to Fort Collins often as our son lives here. We love this hotel for its proximity to the college campus and that we can walk downtown for shopping and dining. It is pet friendly and while we don't always bring our dog when we do we can walk her right across the street in the park. The location is perfect for every family visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Penney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUIHotelManager, Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Penney M,

Thank you for your review!

Thank you for staying with us when you come to visit your son, hope to see you soon!

Karina Vick
970-484-2984
karina@bwui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    176
    73
    25
    14
See reviews for
207
99
50
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins CO, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Love the location and helpful, friendly staff. I have stayed at this location numerous times and always find the service and rooms to be excellent. I recommend this location to my family and friends I could safely say I , that this my home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUIHotelManager, Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Elizabeth S,

Thank you for a wonderful review! We strive to provide great customer service and I am so happy that you can call this your home away from home.

Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends, I hope that they will come experience our hotel as well.

Karina Vick
970-484-2984
karina@bwui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Reception folks were very pleasant. I was a bit worried when I saw that I was being put in a building "out back" that had the outside look of a refurbished dormitory or apartment building. I was also a bit worried when I saw that most of the other guests appeared to be the age of normal college students - particularly when some of them were leaving the doors to their rooms open to the hallway. However, in my room it was remarkably quiet and the facilities were more than adequate. I liked the parking in what someone else called an "open air courtyard". It felt like a protected area. Best of all, the hotel is very handy to Old Town Fort Collins - less than 5 minute drive, about a mile walk. There are also numerous restaurants even closer. WiFi worked great.
I was there mid-week, so didn't experience that party atmosphere or parking problems others described.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUIHotelManager, Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dincy,

Thank you for a great review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

I apologize that my staff needs to work on saying the "east building" not "out back".

Hope to see you again soon!

Karina Vick
970-484-2984
karina@bwui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed here for business at Colorado State University - the hotel's location, just across the road, could not have been more convenient. My room felt slightly tired, and was poorly insulated from cold and noise outside, but was comfortable. The wireless internet was free, but unreliable - there was however a free PC for guest use in the lobby, and a telephone.

My main criticism concerns the breakfast offered. There was a reasonable choice of items, but only paper plates and bowls and plastic cutlery with which to eat. Given this hotel's 'eco' credentials, I found the amount of waste generated by this practice difficult to stomach. My towels were also changed every day, despite me placing them on the rail to indicate that I was happy to use them again.

Light sleepers will probably be woken a couple of times each night by the trains passing through CSU campus.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, based on price and convenience, but guests shouldn't expect opulence, or sustainability.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HairyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you loved those college dorm days of living with children having their first beer experience, then this place is for you. Proximity to CU and student discounts make this the place to be to keep the party going well into the early morning hours. Your room may face the open air courtyard where the ash trays are located right by windows to your room. There are no quiet hours, or at least none that are enforced.
If you call in a noise complaint (as i had to 3 out of 6 nights) expect lack luster results. The midnight staff have dealt with enough noise complaints over the years that you will likely be warned that "They are probably drunk and hard to deal with."
In your bed side night stand you will find not only a bible... but ear plugs as well. The ear plugs should be a clear indicator to you who is using this hotel regularly. The front desk, though sympathetic, ended the conversation with "Well, we are a University town!"
If you need to sleep, conduct business or relax at your hotel then continue driving, Best Western Univ. Inn is not the one for you. If you are here to party, well then, you are home.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is on the 2nd floor and does not face the parking area if you want some peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennafire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel does not have enough parking, so you may have to car pool. Staff was rude and not very helpful. Internet service was not available and the staff did not want to help fix it. Not a bad place to stay, be ready to find additional parking if the Inn is full. Mary and Joseph would not have been able to park the donkey here, but there was a room available for them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mounds View MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were quite pleased with this Best Western. Great location in Ft. Collins. Great pool area. Clean rooms. Delicious breakfast which included hot items as well as a very good fresh fruit selection. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LizHolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
4.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 31 in Fort Collins
389 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#2 of 31 in Fort Collins
465 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites University
Quality Inn & Suites University
#3 of 31 in Fort Collins
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Collins
1.6 mi away
Best Western Kiva Inn
Best Western Kiva Inn
#10 of 31 in Fort Collins
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Fort Collins
Hilton Fort Collins
#19 of 31 in Fort Collins
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Property: Best Western University Inn
Address: 914 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524-3303 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fort Collins
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy Best Western located in old town Fort Collins across the street from CSU's main campus. We offe bicycle rentals for our guests for $15.00 a day, please inquire at the front desk after check in. Walking distance from many restaurants, shops, nightlife & the university campus. Biking distance to Fort Collin's famous breweries, nature trails and much more. We are pet friendly in half of our rooms (additional nightly fee), and our property features a beautiful year round pool house with hot tub and fitness center. We can offer group discounts and meeting space for up to 100 people, please inquire directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Fort Collins
Best Western Fort Collins
Fort Collins Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing