We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Met our needs.”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We picked this hotel for 2 reasons. One-location to town, and two-the bike library was on site.
For those unfamiliar with FOCO, the bike library provides free bikes all over town. The hotel gave us their website, we signed out 2 bikes, got the keys and rode everywhere for 3 days.
The hotel location is excellent! Right on College Ave. it took us 10 minutes to ride to the city center. We were also very close to Colorado State University's campus which is spread out in every direction from the hotel. Check in was quick and pleasant. We were directed to our second floor room in a building clear across the parking lot. Because we had no car, I asked for a luggage trolley or help up to our room. Unfortunately, they had no cart and no-one to help us. This was tough dragging our stuff across the parking lot, up a flight of stairs, down a couple more stairs before we got to our room. Note to owner: invest in a luggage trolley, please! Corridor hallways looked worn, dark and dirty. Could use an update!
Once in our room, we found the furnishings pleasant, clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the mini fridge was a nice addition. No complaints with the shower and water pressure.
Breakfast was good!. Nice to have scrambled eggs and blueberry waffles. Front desk staff went out of their way to show us bike routes and places to eat. We liked Austin's for dinner. Also, make reservations to visit a brew pub. Besides fantastic bike routes, FOCO has craft beers and breweries. My husband loved New Belgium's tour.
Forgot to mention the nice indoor pool and hot tub. Great after riding all day.

Room Tip: We had a corner room in the back which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscriminatingDiva08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    176
    73
    25
    14
See reviews for
207
99
50
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The rooms are nothing special but the location is awesome. Our son is a CSU student and this hotel is so convenient! It is a nice walk into town and all the restaurants. The pool and hot tub are in a huge sunny area and the staff is really nice. If you are looking for luxury this is not the place but if you want a clean bed and a good hot breakfast this is the place to go. The only bummer is during CSU events, move in, parents weekend etc...they really jack the price up.

Room Tip: The back building is way better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed only one night, but would have been happy to stay longer. Our room was updated and very nice. We stayed in a suite for a very reasonable price. The location was great; only a short walk to the downtown area. Courteous staff, good service. Nice pool area.

Room Tip: We liked our suite and it was in the back building, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryH_GroveCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

It used to be that you could rely on Best Western to have high quality facilities - but no more. For a motel next to a major college campus they could have done much better. I will start with the positive: they offer free bottled water, and the rooms have a large fridge with a microwave. The pillows are nice and they offer lots of them; with great towels, a full-length mirror and small safe for valuables. The desk and chair are nice. The location is great - just across the road from Colorado State University (CSU). Now the BAD: our room was supposed to be non-smoking, but as with many low-quality motels the rule is not inforced and instead they spray chemicals to try and cover it up. Don't they know it does not work? The TV is small and antiquated with a limited channel selection. The motel and the rooms feel old and in need of a major upgrade. The parking is crowded with limited manueverability. The front desk was understaffed on a busy CSU week. The carpet in the room was dirty. The room had limited electrical outlets, most behind the headboard. The window sill in the bathroom was dirty. The rooms were noisy at all hours of the night; we had to run the room air conditioner all night to try and downed out the noise. Bottom line: greatly overpiced!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schofield1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUIHotelManager, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I'm sorry you had an unpleasant stay, people who smoke in hotel rooms are so inconsiderate! In the summer we're not always able to allow our ozone machine a full 24 hours to remove the smell. We try to discourage people from smoking by tacking on an extra $200 per night if someone does smoke in the room. This allows us to put extra time and cleaning into the room and also make some refund adjustments if needed in cases where we can't get the room perfect again before the next guest comes. Please give me a call and we'll work out a credit for you. Thank you for our kind points, and I appreciate you letting us know where we can improve, we are listening. In fact 37" flat screens will be in the rooms before December and we've almost completed adding in extra outlets on the nightstands for easy access for cells phone next to the beds. Another great thing about December, it's quiet and the rates are nice and low!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The service at this Best Western exceeded our expectations. Rachael was very attentive! The room was dated, with an older A/C unit, which was critical for each night of our stay as temps were over 90 every day. We only used the breakfast service one morning, and it seemed minimal. One positive was the discount offered to CSU parents- 15% a night added up and saved us over $100 during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of hotel better than those in back. Back bldg. has two floors with no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawk4sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

wow...I stayed a week at this establishment and decided a summary was in order. The place is dated and in need of a makeover. The air conditioner circulated the air, but only marginally 'conditioned' (cooled) the air. Other people complainted of a musty odor in their rooms.

The internet was appalling. It was supposed to be 'secure' with a password, but my low tech lap top readily connected and after a few minutes, I was kicked off repeatedly. The front desk staff gave me a number to call tech support. Hello? Am I missing something here? Isnt that a responsibility of the hotel personnel? I wasn't about to whiz away my cell phone minutes or be charged out the yang on the hotel phone to do their job! Anyway, I noticed some improvement after I complained to the front desk staff (took a few days, though). But it still wasn't secure.

Next--my wife went to the front desk to exchange some dollars for quarters to wash some clothes. The response: there is a change machine in the washing room. My sweetie's response: no there isn't. Hotel's response: let me talk to my manager....*after some crickets chirped*....the manager came forward and told my wife to go up the road to a bank!

I could bring up a few other notations...like the breakfast, but I think this is enough..in order to get my assessment across.

Summary of this hotel? POS. Needs to improve on hospitality and quality.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor; no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

You get exactly what you'd expect from a Best Western. Reliable, friendly, and an adequately comfortable room. Breakfast is ample with surprising variety (oatmeal and egg bars with associated toppings, variety of breads/muffins, yogurt, fruit, make your own waffles). Friendly and cheerful young staff at the front desk. Even the night guy was amenable to helping me carry my bags from my room to catch my shuttle, and giving me some breakfast before the 6am start time. On-site laundry is a major benefit, as is complementary wireless internet. Decent cable TV channels. Excellent access to CSU campus- literally across the street. Located on the "main drag" in Ft. Collins, easy walking access to town center, shops, and restaurants.

Rooms in front and rear building were a little different. I'd say my room in the front building was more spacious, with much more counter space in the bathroom. Beware first floor rooms in the rear building that are adjacent to to the street (ones on the parking lot side should be fine)- you are uncomfortably close to a well-travelled sidewalk, so privacy is impossible unless you close the blackout curtains.

Room Tip: My front bldg room was a bit nicer/newer, but not sure if that is true across the board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
4.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 31 in Fort Collins
388 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#2 of 31 in Fort Collins
464 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites University
Quality Inn & Suites University
#4 of 31 in Fort Collins
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Collins
1.6 mi away
Best Western Kiva Inn
Best Western Kiva Inn
#10 of 31 in Fort Collins
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Fort Collins
Hilton Fort Collins
#19 of 31 in Fort Collins
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Property: Best Western University Inn
Address: 914 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524-3303 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fort Collins
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy Best Western located in old town Fort Collins across the street from CSU's main campus. We offe bicycle rentals for our guests for $15.00 a day, please inquire at the front desk after check in. Walking distance from many restaurants, shops, nightlife & the university campus. Biking distance to Fort Collin's famous breweries, nature trails and much more. We are pet friendly in half of our rooms (additional nightly fee), and our property features a beautiful year round pool house with hot tub and fitness center. We can offer group discounts and meeting space for up to 100 people, please inquire directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Fort Collins
Best Western Fort Collins
Fort Collins Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing