We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chocolate Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chocolate Cafe

The Chocolate Cafe
Ranked #5 of 19 Dessert in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Chocolate Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you like chocolate, and who doesn't, this is the restaurant for you. Chocolate and more chocolate whether it is presented through dessert or a drink or candy. This restaurant also has very good salads, sandwiches and soups, as well as more filling entrees. Even though the restaurant looks like a tea room, the guys in our group had no problem eating lunch there. Excellent food and delectable desserts. The only problem is choosing from the vast and varied menu. Staff was very friendly and helpful in helping us decide on which dessert to indulge.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    36
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southcentral Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best peanut butter pie in CO for sure ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went to the Chocolate Cafe after dinner at Enzio's in Ft. Collins and was just amazed by the wonderful, decadent, delicious desserts. Our party had chocolate cheesecake, peanut butter pie, chocolate creme brulee and the signature chocolate cake. All amazing stuff. My favorite dessert in the whole wide world is peanut butter pie, and this is the best one I had on my western trip (the best in the world is in Boiling Springs, PA, but that's another story). Absolutely worth it ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“great chocolate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were told about the café by a local when we visited. When we checked the website one of the deserts the local loved, Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie,was not on the menu. They said they made it but hadn't updated their website. When we got there, they didn't have it and there were a number of other desserts were unavailable. They said they had a busy weekend, but this was Monday afternoon. But the two deserts we did get were absolutely outstanding! Just call ahead to make sure they have what you want. We also called ahead to see if we would need reservations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art-Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad costumer service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The family went out for my sisters birthday and we planned to go to the Chocolate Cafe for dessert but upon arrival about an hour before their closing time they said that the kitchen was closed and they wouldn't be able to serve us. We tried to ask if we could just sit in and have a quick cup of coffee but the idea was quickly shot down by the waitress. We would have been more understanding but the manner in which the waitress spoke to us was quite frankly just rude! We had heard great things about this cafe but after this experience we were left with a bad taste in our mouthes. We were very disappointed and upset with the way we were treated. Not to mention they missed out on making a sale to a group of 7 people!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraTastier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice place if you've got the time. . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The food here is very good and reasonably priced. The desserts are outstanding. Dining room is quite small, expect to rub shoulders with the next table. However, the atmosphere is nice. My biggest complaints are that menu items are often unavailable, and the service can be extremely slow. My wife and I used to meet here for lunch sometimes, but we stopped because we found we couldn't get lunch and get out in less than an hour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sethage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chocolate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing