We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Armstrong Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Possibly the best hotel I have been to. Perfect location, terrific staff, wonderful ammenities and a classic 1920-1930's decor and style throughout. The hotel is located right in the middle of everything on the main street. Next door is a yummy coffee shop and next to that a sandwich shop that was always packed. The staff was so helpful and accomodating. They have a kennel in the basement to put our dog in while we went out to dinner. They let you borrow bikes, books and games. The room we had looked like it came out of a magazine for Craftsman style era designs. Large soft bed, large shower both with a window out on to main street. I can't say enough good things about this place, we really had no complaints at all. I would go back tomorrow if it wasn't a 20 hr drive. Oh and it is also less expensive than your general hotel off the freeway in the middle of no where.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    124
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
61
140
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I went to Ft. Collins for work and a local friend recommended Armstrong. It's in the middle of the old downtown and they have done a really nice job renovating. It's very charming and the staff is nice. You may experience some outside noise and there isn't a lot of buffer between room noise. It didn't bother me, but some people may want more of a chain feel. There's a very mellow cat that lives there and likes to ride the elevator with you. I thought he was great, but if you have severe allergies, keep it in mind. The room rates are very reasonable, includes internet access, and there is a very cute coffee shop next door. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenxteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Our stay at the Armstrong Hotel was really great. I loved the style of the hotel, it was a great mix of vintage and modern. The design was spot on. We enjoyed the rental bikes and the great location to walk around Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieMolassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Really cool rooms, great location (smack in the middle of old town), and reasonable rates. The staff is great, and there is a coffee shop adjacent to the lobby, plus cafes galore nearby. Have stayed there for business and they have all the things you'd need. Forget Best Western, etc., stay here.

  • Liked — location, rooms are unique but nice
  • Disliked — sometimes you can hear the train depending on which side of the hotel you are on
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank doublemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

The hotel is very nice. The location is unbeatable with the hotel right on College Ave in the heart of Old Town. It has been recently redone and updated, so everything inside is very nice. The only real issue we had with the hotel was the proximity of the train. The train runs less than 100 yards from the hotel and is very loud when it comes by.

  • Liked — Location near old town
  • Disliked — Proximity to the train
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CSU2GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2008

My Girlfriend and I stayed at the Armstrong recently and had a wonderful time. The beds are awesome, as is the staff. There is really good food and shopping all within walking distance. Also New Belgium and Odell Brewing are nearby and make for a great afternoon of tasting. If we are ever in Fort Collins again this will be the only place we will stay.

  • Liked — Beds and the location.
  • Disliked — The Elevator is too slow.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BVGNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAllas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Yes, very charming but I have never in my life had such a rotten night of sleep in a hotel. They go to great lengths to buffer the street windows, but nothing is done to protect the tenants from noise inside the hotel. Warning - any motel that actually offers a noise cancelling device from the room menu should be avoided. I found myself in Fort Collins attempting to prepare for a very important all day interview at the college and rooming next to (which actually felt like I was in the same bed with) some guy who watched TV until 2 am, talked loudly on the phone, crashed around his room, then finally fell asleep only to snore so uncontrollably even the noise cancelling device could not drown out. I asked for that to cancel out the TV at 1am. At 2:30 I asked to be moved but was told that was not possible. I would never stay here and would not recommend this motel to anyone.

Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Eiselt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Best Western University Inn
#5 of 30 in Fort Collins
541 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#2 of 30 in Fort Collins
460 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 30 in Fort Collins
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Collins
Hilton Fort Collins
#19 of 30 in Fort Collins
933 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Kiva Inn
Best Western Kiva Inn
#12 of 30 in Fort Collins
463 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Armstrong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Armstrong Hotel

Property: The Armstrong Hotel
Address: 259 South College Avenue, Fort Collins, CO 80524
Location: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Armstrong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Armstrong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armstrong Hotel Fort Collins
Armstrong Fort Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing