We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Armstrong Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stopped here a few summers back, but this hotel always comes up in conversation when discussing this trip.

The hotel is well presented and thought out. The location is awesome and makes it easy to walk around downtown Fort Collins. FC is packed full of places to eat and drink and is a beautiful small city. The Armstrong truly compliments this lovely city and part of the world.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 343 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

Located a block away from Old Town in downtown Fort Collins, this historic property is nicely located to enjoy the charm that this lovely college town has to offer. Plenty of good restaurants, bars and shops surround the property. Free guest parking is provided on site or conveniently across the street. Walking into the small reception lobby immediately sends you back in time to the turn of the century (20th that is). Our room was basic but comfortable and clean with wooden floors, a ceiling fan and a free standing air conditioning unit in the corner. While the walls don't provide the best insulation from street or hallway noise, the hotel does enforce a quiet time policy beginning at 11pm which definitely helps. The staff was friendly, attentive and very helpful.

This hotel may be an oldie, but it's a goodie that has character, charm and convenience at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Requesta 2nd floor room to avoid having to wait for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgh8664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This restored hotel has each room as an individual design challenge. The one I stayed in was quite small, but beautifully painted and maintained. The location is marvelous, as is the staff, the dining room and bar have a very good reputation, although I did not avail myself of the possibilities. There is a tiny lobby area in which you can hang out... but it is not much.

It is an economically reasonable solution for staying in Ft. Collins.

Room Tip: Go to their website and see the variety of room from which you can choose... but do not chose one ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meijiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The owners have done an amazing job turning this very old (and very worn down when they bought it) hotel into a very nice place to stay. The rooms have been modernized and have differing themes. The added benefit of the jazz club downstairs with good food and good wine only adds to what is already the best place to have good access to all that downtown Fort Collins has to offer.
We live in FC and sometimes just want to "get away" and this is our favorite place to do just that and be able to walk anywhere we want...

Room Tip: The train on the West side of the hotel, a block away, is very loud. If on the West side, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GardenJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at the Armstrong either 4 or 5 years ago and loved it. Therefore, this time around there was no question that we were coming back. However, I was disappointed to see a lot of wear and tear/aging in the rooms. We stayed in room 206..."a modern room." Avoid it! It is right next to the stairs and elevator. We slept well - it got quiet once everyone was in their rooms but if you are looking to hit the sack early or take a nap, it was quite noisy. The website also describes this room as having a "zen like bathroom" and a "light court" in addition to being quiet because it is on the inside of the building. There is a large bathroom but I would not say that it is zen. Other than one small towel bar, there is no other place to hang the towels that they asked you to hang in order to be "green." Furthermore, the sink sits on a slab of stone that has seen better days. If it were sealed it might not absorb every stain. The bathroom may be clean but it just does not look it. The light court may also be an issue for those that like a dark room. The curtains do not block out all the light. Also, there are no sheers. So, if you want window light, you have no privacy. I will say that the hotel is in a great location and provides you with complimentary cruisers to ride around (although those are looking old too). The fitness facility (located several blocks away) is great but be prepared for a 5 minute walk. Will I stay here again? Maybe...it is still a great place with friendly staff (including Oreo the cat). However, I will have to reduce my expectations some next time around.

Room Tip: On their website, you can actually choose your exact room. Call the front desk and ask for your mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinoTripTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This small but lovely downtown hotel has been renovated and sits right along College Avenue, within walking distances to numerous restaurants and bars. It has an almost bed and breakfast feel, with rooms being comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB_Oregonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We loved the experience. The hotel dates back to the cowtown days, but has been very recently renovated and is super comfortable with modern comforts. We stay there every time we visit (once or twice a year.) It is small, but has an elegant basement lounge and friendly staff. Right next door is a very cool coffee shop and around the corner is the best breakfast restaurant I have ever visited. It's right in the middle of old town and walking distance from anywhere downtown. They are surrounded by the kind of diversity in unusual restaurants you could only find in a university town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reno U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
3.1 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#3 of 31 in Fort Collins
494 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 31 in Fort Collins
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Collins
Hilton Fort Collins
#19 of 31 in Fort Collins
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Best Western University Inn
#4 of 31 in Fort Collins
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elizabeth Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Armstrong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Armstrong Hotel

Address: 259 South College Avenue, Fort Collins, CO 80524
Location: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range: $98 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Armstrong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Armstrong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armstrong Hotel Fort Collins
Armstrong Fort Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing