We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another neat place to try!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Armstrong Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“another neat place to try!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This refurbished funky hotel opened in 1923 as a hotel and then was a "rooming" house for many years. Now it has comfortable modern furnishings while retaining the design and feel of the past. Rooms are clean and quiet. The location is excellent. Many restaurants and bars are within walking distance and the CSU campus is only a few blocks away. Would highly recommend if you are visiting in Fort Collins.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    122
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
61
137
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stay at the Armstrong Hotel. All of the 45 rooms/suites seem clean and neat and you can preview all of them in advance on their site (http://www.thearmstronghotel.com/roomsandsuites.php) I stayed in room 204, which faced S. College Ave, and it was a bit noisy at times because there's a lot of activity on the street below, but this wasn't a big deal. The overall charm and style of the place made it worthwhile. There a jazzy little bar downstairs and, of course, "Oreo" the hotel cat that wanders around and lets you pet her.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Four of us were traveling to Ft Collins on business and we elected to stay our three nights in a boutique hotel (over the usual business hotel) to experience the town. Our rooms were 309, 311, 206 and 219. Two of rooms had modern decor and two were decorated with antiques. All had great beds with luxurious bedding! Two soft and two firm pillows were provided so you can choose. The shampoo, gel, etc were Essential Elements and smelled delicious!

Yes, the trains can wake you in the night -- they woke me four times the first night, but I slept with the window open. The next night, with the window closed and the white noise machine on, I heard the train only once. The third night, I was awoken once, not by the train, but by the hotel ghost. It was 3am. I turned on the light, walked around on my hardwood floor (!), and he quieted down. Didn't hear from him again.

We loved the rooms and would stay again for sure. The college-age front desk staff were fun, helpful and friendly. Parking was easy. Oreo, the cat, was friendly and LOVED attention. The loaner umbrellas really came in handy one evening!

Several quirky things with the hotel you just get used to --- the goofy instructions on the elevator, the controls on the radiator and on the individual air conditioner, the minimal number of outlets in the room, and minimal counterspace around the sink (some rooms).

Kudos to the owners who transformed a building destined for demolition into a gem.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have less chance to experience noise from the jazz club -- I recommend 309...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryMcCrary873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved these rooms. I felt like I was in a B&B. Antique furniture was beautiful. I loved that it was right on top of some great restaurants (with access from inside of the hotel). The cat lounging at the front desk makes the whole experience that much more unique.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We held a day and a half business meeting at the Armstrong Hotel with a large group. The hotel staff was very helpful and were a tremendous support for our meeting. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The food was also very good. I plan to return for a leisure visit. Well done

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We love the Armstrong! This is our second time staying there and I swear I wanted to go back to Ft. Collins just so we could stay there again. It's a beautiful, classic hotel that has been restored perfectly. We had a great room with an extremely comfortable king-size bed. The linens were first class and the pillows so comfy, all very high quality. It was very clean and just had a good feel about it.
The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful and more than willing to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
We ate both breakfast and lunch at the attached deli and both meals were delicious. And the lounge/cocktail bar downstairs was fantastic. We spent the evening down there having classic cocktails, great small plate appetizers and listened to sultry jazz with piano and bass. A step out of time.

Room Tip: You can view all the rooms online before booking which allows you to choose exactly what you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Historic hotel renovated to be more modern with a modern design, a stylish kitchenette. We had a nice, clean and bright room in the month of October. Seemed very secure with a friendly cat inthe lobby.

A little noisy since it is downtown where the college students and all ages hang out, but not too bad, really.

Good restaurants nearby and great coffee shop next door.

Highly recommended for the slightly adventure-ish type, who don't want the usual corporate hotel experience and don't mind a little noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Best Western University Inn
#5 of 30 in Fort Collins
534 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#2 of 30 in Fort Collins
451 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 30 in Fort Collins
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Collins
Hilton Fort Collins
#19 of 30 in Fort Collins
907 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Kiva Inn
Best Western Kiva Inn
#12 of 30 in Fort Collins
449 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 30 in Fort Collins
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Armstrong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Armstrong Hotel

Property: The Armstrong Hotel
Address: 259 South College Avenue, Fort Collins, CO 80524
Location: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Armstrong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Armstrong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armstrong Hotel Fort Collins
Armstrong Fort Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing