We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo Ft. Collins!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Armstrong Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you are coming toFt. Collins, the Armstrong is THE perfect place to stay. Rooms with character (but with all modern conveniences), located right in Old Town. You can borrow a bike to cruise around town with. Maps of interesting neighborhood to wander, and even better- a walking or biking tour map of local breweries. (Yes, ther is more to Ft. Collins than New Belgium!)
Room #301 was fabulous.

Room Tip: Double paned windows and "pink noise" machines make it easy to sleep in even the rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoppyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 346 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in an interior king suite and it was perfect. Even an interior suite has windows, even though those windows are looking into an air shaft - it makes the room(s) brighter. Great location if you want to be in Old Town, which is the place that rocks. Go a block or 3 in any direction and whatever you're looking for is there. Loved the hotel, the staff and location.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank teeburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

THE best location in old Fort Collins, walk down stairs to a coffee shop, or a deli! Walk down the block to a quaint movie house (The Lyric). Sweet staff, clean- large rooms. Bikes available to guests. Great place!

Room Tip: any room, any floor! The whole town of Fort Collins is affected by the whistling train roaring throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight a couple of weeks ago and were very impressed by the Armstrong Hotel and its staff. A couple of things to note: if you want modern hotel conveniences, this is not the place for you. It's an old building, so it's not soundproofed, and there's no modern central air conditioning. If you have small children or you plan on being rowdy, this is probably not the hotel for you. That said, the hotel observes quiet hours, offers white noise machines, and the room had an air conditioner and a ceiling fan, so we were quite comfortable and had a good night's sleep. Our room was gorgeous, on the third floor, and the bed was luxurious. I love that we had a recycling bin in our room and the toiletries were in large dispensers instead of wasteful little bottles. The staff was outstandingly helpful and we both loved the hotel cat. Also, a very informative, easy to use website. We will come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siobhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed one night in June (with one child) with plans to visit some of the local sites while in town. Loved the Old Town location. We had two adjoining rooms with a bathroom between them which were simply appointed with good quality furnishings. The wood floors, linens, walls, bathroom were spotlessly clean. The tv was on the small side (see photo) but we were not there to watch tv. The staff was friendly and helpful. The cat in the lobby was great too! We have recommended to our friends and family and we would definately stay there again. Armstrong - please keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We had front corner room which was fine. Noise not excessive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qualiteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights while in town for a wedding. Being in the old town area is the hotel's main selling point. There's a great independent coffee shop right next door and a Chocolate Cafe around the corner. From the basement one has access to a little jazz bar, which, on the night we were there, was cooking up some wonderful music. Our hotel room itself was clean, but furnished with antiques which did not offer very much counter/work space. The air conditioner did provide white noise, but one could sometimes hear the creak of the floor overhead as it was walked upon. The elevator was old and slow. The bed was comfortable and the shower water stayed warm, so, for the location, I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel is located in Old Town and is perfect. Many, many restaurant choices and great shops in the area. The hotel has been restored and in some ways is funky, but a good funky. My only complaint is that there was not one hook in the bathroom on which to hang anything, towels, robe, etc. I loved the resident cat, even though she is not allowed into guest rooms. Should I return to Fort Collins, I would definitely stay here again -- for the location alone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annpriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Collins
Hilton Fort Collins
#18 of 31 in Fort Collins
35 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#3 of 31 in Fort Collins
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elizabeth Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 31 in Fort Collins
429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Best Western University Inn
#4 of 31 in Fort Collins
591 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Armstrong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Armstrong Hotel

Address: 259 South College Avenue, Fort Collins, CO 80524
Location: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range: $115 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Armstrong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Armstrong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armstrong Hotel Fort Collins
Armstrong Fort Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing