We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a bath!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Armstrong Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Armstrong Hotel is a very charming place in the Old Town section of Fort Collins. The size of the room was perfect. There was a separate bathtub big enough for two with an option for a rose petal bath. The bathroom and full walk-in shower were right next to the bath and the bed was a huge king size four poster. We also had a 48 inch TV at least and the room had a fridge and microwave too. There is a Jazz Club in the basement and a very quaint elevator that makes you wait for the door to close before you are allowed to push the floor number. The hotel is surrounded by fabulous coffee shops and restaurants. We went to the Melting Pot (the best!) and Sonny Lubick's Steakhouse (skip it!). Coffee was at Starry Night and Mugs and there is also a dessert place called the Chocolate Cafe. Much, much more!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudsonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for The Armstrong Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 337 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were back for another stay at the Armstrong and had an excellent time. Since our last stay they've added a lounge called "Ace Gillett's". It's a great place for a Martini or a bite to eat. We stayed in room 200 which is a King Suite and really enjoyed ourselves. I would recommend staying in a suite as they are usually only a few dollars more but are much larger than their regular rooms. Don't forget to grab some bikes from the front desk and check out the breweries. Odells is always a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BVGNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We found this hotel online and thought it sounded nice. We were in town taking care of some family medical matters. I called and the people were helpful over the phone. When we showed and checked in we went to walk to our room. It was an older room, has no AC (not sure how often you need it there) and had some antique furniture. It was a honeymoon suite. I can say for sure if it were my honeymoon and this is what I showed up to, I would be let down. It was a little worn out. Antiques are great, unless they feel more like old things picked up garage sales and put in there. All this though, I can get past...

We had left our things in the car and went to go get them. While waiting in the hall we heard a lot of noise. It was the housekeeping staff. A group of t-shirt and jeans wearing college age kids. They were complaining about a guest. "I hate when people..." is the line being shouted from one to another. It didn't stop there, they carried on and on. Mind you, they had seen us standing in the hall waiting on the elevator.

We let the young girl at the front desk know. She seemed oblivious. "Oh really, wow, we have had lots of complaints on them today..." REALLY??? She literally laughed and said "They must be having a bad day."

We let her know we wouldn't be staying. This place is not for someone who wants a clean room. It's not for someone who wants friendly or professional staff. I couldn't have been more let down by the whole experience. I spent a total of about a month in Fort Collins, and stayed at a handful of places, I suggest you find a cheaper room at chain on the south side. New hotels off Harmony. The Cambria Suites is where we went after being let down at the Armstrong.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank showaltermt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I selected a suite. On the website you get to pick which suite you want. I called THREE times to confirm the suite and that the room we picked was pet friendly. The 'lost' our reservation. Tried to put us in regular room (ridiculously small). I had to fight with the owners to get them to honor our contract. Luckily I had a printed copy with me. Everything about the suite was cheap. Owners rude. Didn't bother to make any amends when it was their mistake. Was lectured by front deck about the hotel being a quiet hotel, but hotel was filled with college kids partying all night. Remnants of their night left in the hallway all day on Sunday. Horrible experience.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stacey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Armstrong Hotel is simply wonderful - it's in a perfect location within strolling distance of the town. The rooms are gorgeous - spacious and quaint. The staff there is fantastic and wonderful. Iove the hotel. It's highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the Olive Street side for a quieter night.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The Armstrong is in the heart of old town Fort Collins. There is a coffee shop in the same building along with a wonderful deli/eatery called Choice City Butchers which I also recommend. This is my second time staying here with my wife. We both love the comfortable beds and the stylish renovations. The well done choices of colors, tiles, and fixtures are a combination of new and old and make for a fun visual experience. As others have mentioned, the noise can be a problem here - the streets are directly under the exterior room windows, there is a train that regularly cuts through the town, you can hear people walking in the hallways and the old heating system is steam heat which pings and pops throughout the night. Having said that, I am good sleeper and it didn't bother me much. We've stayed here twice and would stay again. Say hi to Oreo, the friendly cat that lives in the lobby.

Room Tip: The interior rooms may be better protected from noise.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackbeerben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed at the Armstrong Hotel in Sept and had a wonderful time. There seemed to be few guests and it was fairly quiet. I picked an interior room hoping to avoid street noise, but we had to contend with the ventilation equipment and a 24/7 stairwell light outside our window. Next time, I'll pick a room off Olive Street.

We took out 2 free cruiser bikes and had a blast biking on the Spring Creek bike path. We walked to New Belgium for the tour (good thing -- 9 beers in 90 minutes = no driving) and enjoyed Tasty Harmony, Stuft burgers, Snooze and Lucille's. All of these restaurants are within easy walking distance of the Armstrong, so we just left our car in the convenient parking out back.

The front desk staff was very helpful and sent an emergency fax for me. Oreo the cat also greeted me in the a.m. -- right outside our door. I even liked the shower gel, lotion and soap. The big shower bottles are eco-conscious and I loved the pine-y smell. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmn518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Best Western University Inn
#4 of 31 in Fort Collins
566 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#2 of 31 in Fort Collins
482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Collins
Hilton Fort Collins
#18 of 31 in Fort Collins
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 31 in Fort Collins
402 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Collins
1.6 mi away
Best Western Kiva Inn
Best Western Kiva Inn
#10 of 31 in Fort Collins
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Armstrong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Armstrong Hotel

Address: 259 South College Avenue, Fort Collins, CO 80524
Location: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range: $163 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Armstrong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Armstrong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armstrong Hotel Fort Collins
Armstrong Fort Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing