We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty darn good!”
Review of Charco Broiler

Charco Broiler
Ranked #35 of 605 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Van Alstyne, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was right by our hotel. Service was great, atmosphere was cozy, and they served up a good dinner!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank laurantwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    72
    32
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Consistently good, reasonable prices”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant off & on, for the past 20 years, when we've been in town. We've found it to be a consistently good steakhouse, and always had good service. We've been here during busy hours, and also during the off-hours. It IS an older classic steakhouse, with Western decor & the darker woods.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilma608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
335 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“a must when visiting Fort Collins”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

True Western classic steakhouse here-
Leather booths-quiet dark -love the interior -the old woods-rustic feel-
I ate here 2 times in one week- at lunch and both times the service was top notch-
My coffee was refilled regularly and I was even given a fresh hot cup without asking. Friendly service with a smile-felt like I was truly important!
This a good place to go for a get together- you can carry on a conversation and never feel like you are just in a big room full of loud diners-
The food- "Steak Sandwich"-$ 12.50 at lunch comes with a fresh salad (on the small side)
Fair sized piece of steak-cooked perfect to my request-baked potato which was well done the whole way thru- soft - could eat the skin and toasted bread.
Must partake of the fresh desserts- peanut butter cream pie, pecan pie or any of the home baked fresh fruit pies- I had the apple and it was tasty !! Apples were flavorful-lots of good cinnamon and a flaky crust-
If you want to support a local family owned business that is unique to Fort Collins- stop here- easy to find right off the interstate- where all the cars are!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Time warp”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Let's start with the good: Rib eye was very well prepared.
Now the bad: Tired decor. Tired service. Tired selection. Tired salad.
This place shows no appearance of any changes for, perhaps, 20 years. It would seem that once the loyal customer base dies off, this place is doomed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CudBeWors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“All the reviews are right on!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I read the reviews before we went and wished for a more current one for guidance. This is to serve someone else staying in the hotel next door and wishing the same.
The steak was good, tender and cooked to order. The sides and salad were just okay. This place has everything to be truly good but falls to average. It would just take some attention to presentation and ambience to make it a nice place. If you are hungry and tired it will do.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mgreany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charco Broiler also viewed

 

Been to Charco Broiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing