We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It USED TO BE our favorite restaurant”

La Luz Mexican Grill
Ranked #72 of 609 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It USED TO BE our favorite restaurant”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We used to go to La Luz every week. It had fabulous food (we loved their spinach and black bean quesadillas and their fish quesadillas) and friendly, easy service. It was our favorite place! But that was before La Luz moved to their new location, stuck in a giant bar and crammed diners into a line of teeny, uncomfortable tables. So now the focus is booze, and the heck with people who want to eat. And besides that, their fancy margaritas taste terrible!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    15
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican Food!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Great fish tacos and the Atomic burrito a must. Fast, friendly service and a nice selection of salsas and tequila to choose from. A++

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank brianju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“!Si, Si! A Great Experience Here!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

As transplanted Texans (from Austin), we know our Mexican food and we LOVE our Mexican food. We tried many Mexican restaurants in Fort Collins before stepping in to La Luz in Old Town at a friend's fine recommendation.
We very much enjoyed every type of taco we tried (I'm pretty sure we tried just about all of them) and the cheese enchilada plate was delicious. The salsa bar is fantastic, allowing the diner to experiment with all sorts of taste combinations.
The food is creative with a mouth-pleasing mix of spice and texture. The presentation is great and the atmosphere is architecturally-cool and classy but laid-back.
Staff gets an A+ as everyone we encountered was warm & friendly.
We will go back....again and again and again!
Check it out!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
241 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos EVER!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I love fish tacos!!!! I have traveled around the world and have had fish tacos in many cities and countries. The fish tacos at La Luz are absolutely the best you can get. La Luz serves other delicious entrees....but why? If you like fish tacos.....you need to try LaLuz.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TribTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service, Amazing Salsa”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Great service, good food and great drinks. We went with a group of seven for brunch and really enjoyed it. They have amazing homemade salsa.

Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luz Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to La Luz Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing