We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Italian was not impressed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Canino's

Canino's
Ranked #77 of 592 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
449 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“This Italian was not impressed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

While I was happy with their meeting my gluten-free needs for a meal with chicken parmesan and brown rice pasta, I was not impressed with their tomato sauce or their red wine. I did love their creme brûlée though.

Our group of 17 received good service in our private room upstairs in this historic building. Since it is an old building our noise was truly bouncing off the walls and ceiling.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    36
    16
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I had a wonderful dinner with my family at Canino's on a recent trip to Fort Collins. The freshly baked bread, homemade soups, and ceaser salad all were excellent. The entrees all (we tried four different entrees) were quite good. It reminded me of one of those great family Italian restaurants of which are getting more rare these days back in New York. The service was attentive, the wine list good, and the setting (the living room of an old four square home) was relaxing. The prices were very reasonable. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RTRACY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Torturious Slow Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We visited the restaurant with guests from out of town, on Tuesday evening, typically a slow night for Fort Collins dining. We booked a reservation, and arrived on time... But it took 45 minutes to get seated. From the time placed or order it ook 40 minutes to get the salad and another 40 for the main course. Service is very slow and the restaurant was barely 50% full. We have had good meals and service in the past year, but Canino's quality has declined. There are many good restaurants in the area.. Many with better service! PS the food was good, but nothing outstanding, which we have had in the past.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“slow wait person”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went there to eat last Saturday,(2 of us), July 7th because it was always good in previous visits The service (waitress) was very slow and forgetful. She was probably one of the slowest we have ever had and we eat out every weekend. We had to ask her several times for things as she would forget and she made very few trips back to our table while we were there. The restaurant was not very busy at the time either. Really overshadowed the good food they serve.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 450lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Went there for Sunday dinner. Got is in no problem. 3 hours later we were done. This place needs to adopt better understanding of how to serve in a 2 story house.

Not sure if that was the issue but 45 minutes for an appetizer to appear and our order still hadn't been taken- not good. Hate to see what would happen if they were busy.

When all was said and done the food was just ok. We wanted to leave so badly dessert was not an possibility.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JEF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canino's also viewed

 
Fort Collins, CO
 

Been to Canino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing