We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Burgers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Al's Burgers and Dogs

Big Al's Burgers and Dogs
Ranked #33 of 590 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Big Al's we like to "keep it in Colorado" from the locally raised hormone free staff to the recycled and repurposed decor. Big Al's has taken what others were going to throw away and given it another chance! At your next visit, take a good look around you might just recognize something. Perhaps our 1953 Sear's cabinets, or ceiling diffusers that have been transformed into new light fixtures, and lumber repurposed into table tops, both from the Steele's Market Deconstruction. Salvaged stair balusters and old fence boards were given a new life as they wrap the check out counter and columns. Old light fixtures from a Denver hotel add character to the dining area. We are keeping history alive one piece at a time.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
225 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We've gone to Big Al's a few times and each time has been great. I've only tried the 60/40 burger (60% beef, 40% bacon), which is excellent, as well as a few bits of the guacamole burger, which was also very good. The fries are tasty, and possibly worth splurging and getting the fancy ones with truffle oil, parsley, and parmesan cheese. The first time I had a milkshake that was on special, and it was excellent--something with a lavender flavor. Hopefully they make that a regular one.
If you're in Old Town and need a quick bite, this is a good place for you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaOutsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    33
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Hamburgers in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Big Al's has the best hamburgers in town! I like them much better than Five Guys. I especially like their bacon guacamole burger. Their fries are also good. It's a little pricey for a casual dining place but the portions are fairly large.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GalxeFortCollins_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoMermaid
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dang good hotdog and fries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Every so often I want a hotdog. Before Big Al's opened, I either went to the hotdog stand in front of Home Depot or Lowe's or even to Sam's Club. My first choice now, however, to take care of that craving is Big Al's. They serve a seriously good dog and their fries and milkshakes round out a perfect meal as far as I'm concerned. The burgers are amazing as well.

Clean place, awesome décor, great service, this place is a great addition to Fort Collins!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The name says it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I agree with another review, when you want a very good burger at reasonable prices this is the place to go in Ft. Collins. My wife and had different styles of burgers and were very very pleased. Service is what you would expect in a burger place. You order then find a seat your burger is delivered to you. The few people in the restaurant were all having hamburgers so no idea about them. The menu restricts itself to about 8 varieties of both hot dogs and hamburgers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
150 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Big Al's is the only place in Fort Collins to get a burger. Simple, no nonsense menu and a good value. The 60?40 is worth every calorie and the truffle fries are definately worth a mention. Definately a hometown place with the local art on display, only thing missing is local beer, but you can get that next door. Don't miss Big Al's when you're in FoCo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelgreeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's Burgers and Dogs also viewed

 
Fort Collins, CO
 

Been to Big Al's Burgers and Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing