We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Much Fun for Foodies!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Welsh Rabbit Cheese Bistro

The Welsh Rabbit Cheese Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Welsh Rabbit Cheese Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 590 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It's simple. We enjoy cheese. We enjoy people. And we think you do, too. That's why we invite you to experience The Welsh Rabbit Bistro. The Welsh Rabbit Cheese Bistro (200 B Walnut Street), provides a relaxing space with Old World charm for enjoying good things (cheese, wine, beer, cider, & Peasant Fare) with good people -- a place to start, finish, or linger.
Joplin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So Much Fun for Foodies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This review is for the bistro. We did not visit the shop.

We stopped here after riding bikes all day around Fort Collins. We needed a snack to hold us over until our late dinner reservation. We loved the charm of the brick walls, wooden bar and floors, and leather-esque dining chairs. Our service was superb. The staff was so knowledgeable and helped us make some great choices. We had beer, wine, bread, olives, meats, fruit, and cheese. We had so much cheese. Picking the cheese on the sushi-style menu was fun. Enjoying it was even better. You must dine here if you love great food and visit Fort Collins. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeKB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    16
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for a SMALL meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went with my wife. She ordered hourse white and I got a specialty draft beer. Beer was very pricey, but tasty. We ordered a few cheeses and a meat assortment. The food was all delicious. Have been there TWICE. Both times were impressed. One odd note: There was a distinct odor of marijuana. My wife believed she saw a man smoking a joint on the other side of the restaurant. Not an appetizing smell!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrJ5714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great night out for 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I decided to try the Welsh Rabbit Cheese Bistro on our Anniversary for something new. We weren't sure what to expect having never been to anything like this before. It's basically like sushi for cheese. You have a menu that lists all the Cheeses, meats, and wines and you check a box next to the cheeses and meats you would like to try. Each cheese is $2-3 and the portion sizes are perfect for 2 people to try each of them. I was pleased that each cheese lived up to its menu description and the meat and crackers were a great addition. Their wine is pretty cheap but the quality is way better than the price tag would indicate.Overall we had a great experience and I would highly recommend heading here for a date night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jjkeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting and unique! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We have visited The Welsh Rabbit several times and with a larger group 5 to 6 people. It's not a large space and a bit difficult to accommodate larger groups. I do not think the hostesses even care or want to bother with more than 2 people. They are not pleasant, but if you wait or are a couple you will not be disappointed. The selection of cheese and meats are wonderful. And with a 2 oz taste for $2.00 you can try many different kinds. Wine is not outrageous so consider buying a bottle. Presentation is quite nice and if your waitress is not the hostess she can be helpful picking different items. A suggestion would be to offer, nuts, different kinds if preserves, dried fruits, honey etc. To enrich the tastes. We will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Candi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect at tea time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very simple concept exquisitely executed. The shop is around the corner, the bistro is what I am reviewing. Good Lord. Highest quality cheeses from the best spots around the world (including some local cheese). set up like a sushi menu. $2/$3 for an ounce (which is more than you are thinking). You get light wafer crackers too, but we ordered the baguette. One bread is enough for two. Also have nuts, olives, fruit. Great beer, wine, and cider selections. Charming staff that is knowledgeable and welcoming. Ordered 5 cheeses off the spectrum and then two meats and one bread. More than enough for two people. Great place for a mid-day snack or a get together. Would be an easy place for a Keto dieter since you don't need the bread or crackers. Loved it, great atmosphere, great staff, great cheese.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reynoldsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Welsh Rabbit Cheese Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Welsh Rabbit Cheese Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing