We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! An Afgani success story.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maza Kabob

Maza Kabob
Ranked #3 of 590 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned Authentic Afghan restaurant offering uniquely spiced kabobs and many other Afghan specialties. Great vegetarian and gluten free options.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow! An Afgani success story.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Absolutely great flavors, great food. We had never before had Afgan food, but we loved every bite. Some of the best Middle Eastern food that we've ever had, and we love the food of Lebanon, Jordan, Iran, Turkey, Greece. Be sure to order the potato bollani as an appetizer. It's amazing. It looks like a quesadilla, but what a symphony of flavors. Burrani, The eggplant dish, and the aashak, dumplings topped with meat sauce and yogurt sauce, are superb. We can't wait to go back and try other dishes. It's worth a special trip to Fort Collins to experience. The only drawback to the restaurant is the atmosphere, which is more utilitarian than inviting, although the tables and chairs are comfortable. You order at the counter and are expected to bus your own tables. Still it's great food at a great price, and the owner is remarkable. Hear his life story. It's like so many of the stories from that part of the world.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonniClark43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    75
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“You WILL be pleased by the Owner of this Establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were traveling through the Fort Collins vicinity and decided to try this restaurant for lunch, based upon the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. I ordered a chai, home made and delicious, and my entree was the Kabuli Pallow. All was seasoned to perfection with an excellent blend of wonderful spicing. The shredded carrots and raisins tasted very fresh. Actually, I couldn't finish all my food, but my partner gladly assisted me in that endeavor. The owner made sure my chai was fresh and came to our table, after serving us, to ensure we were satisfied!

I must comment that the restaurant was nicely decorated, absolutely clean and this included the spacious restroom. If I lived in the area, I would be a "regular" customer! Wonderful quality food at an excellent value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Casual Diner or Take-Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose to order take-out. The food was very tasty and unique. We especially enjoyed the eggplant and aashak (vegetable dumplings with meat sauce). The setting is very casual, more of a lunch environment than dinner ambiance.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not strip mall food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Good food, friendly service and an owner with an amazing story (he was featured in the Denver newspapers - take a look!). This was my first time experiencing Afghani food and I enjoyed it, especially the fresh and unique spice combinations. We went in a group of 7 and it did take us a while to be served which was unusual given that it's a casual service restaurant, but the food did come out hot! Definitely not a fancy eatery as it has virtually zero ambiance but just good food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waltonma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Savory and Sensational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

While the strip shopping center locale may deter some, the savory and well-prepared dishes at Maza Kabob will stay with you long after you leave and keep you coming back.

Each order is served on its own tray with plastic plate, cups & utensils which feels more geared toward lunch than dinner, yet the serving size is generously portioned for either.

We had the aushauk (beef dumplings with yogurt mint sauce), eggplant biranyi, chicken and beef kabobs, and a beef wrap - all of which were excellent. The naan is plain and the finely chopped salad very fresh. Only non-alcoholic beverages are sold, including chai. We did not have room for dessert... Maybe next time.

Sayid and his family are warm and friendly -- another reason that I will go back in a heartbeat and why I will rave about it to my Ft. Collins friends and Trip Advisor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank activechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maza Kabob also viewed

 
 

Been to Maza Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing