We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You WILL be pleased by the Owner of this Establishment”
Review of Maza Kabob

Maza Kabob
Ranked #3 of 615 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Afghani
Description: Family owned Authentic Afghan restaurant offering uniquely spiced kabobs and many other Afghan specialties. Great vegetarian and gluten free options.
Restaurant details
Description: Family owned Authentic Afghan restaurant offering uniquely spiced kabobs and many other Afghan specialties. Great vegetarian and gluten free options.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“You WILL be pleased by the Owner of this Establishment”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were traveling through the Fort Collins vicinity and decided to try this restaurant for lunch, based upon the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. I ordered a chai, home made and delicious, and my entree was the Kabuli Pallow. All was seasoned to perfection with an excellent blend of wonderful spicing. The shredded carrots and raisins tasted very fresh. Actually, I couldn't finish all my food, but my partner gladly assisted me in that endeavor. The owner made sure my chai was fresh and came to our table, after serving us, to ensure we were satisfied!

I must comment that the restaurant was nicely decorated, absolutely clean and this included the spacious restroom. If I lived in the area, I would be a "regular" customer! Wonderful quality food at an excellent value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    83
    19
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Casual Diner or Take-Out”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose to order take-out. The food was very tasty and unique. We especially enjoyed the eggplant and aashak (vegetable dumplings with meat sauce). The setting is very casual, more of a lunch environment than dinner ambiance.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not strip mall food”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Good food, friendly service and an owner with an amazing story (he was featured in the Denver newspapers - take a look!). This was my first time experiencing Afghani food and I enjoyed it, especially the fresh and unique spice combinations. We went in a group of 7 and it did take us a while to be served which was unusual given that it's a casual service restaurant, but the food did come out hot! Definitely not a fancy eatery as it has virtually zero ambiance but just good food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waltonma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Savory and Sensational”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

While the strip shopping center locale may deter some, the savory and well-prepared dishes at Maza Kabob will stay with you long after you leave and keep you coming back.

Each order is served on its own tray with plastic plate, cups & utensils which feels more geared toward lunch than dinner, yet the serving size is generously portioned for either.

We had the aushauk (beef dumplings with yogurt mint sauce), eggplant biranyi, chicken and beef kabobs, and a beef wrap - all of which were excellent. The naan is plain and the finely chopped salad very fresh. Only non-alcoholic beverages are sold, including chai. We did not have room for dessert... Maybe next time.

Sayid and his family are warm and friendly -- another reason that I will go back in a heartbeat and why I will rave about it to my Ft. Collins friends and Trip Advisor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank activechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Fort Collins”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Set in a humble environment by King Souper on College, this little restaurant provides a truly unique set of flavors in a town full of restaurants. We ordered both meat and vegetarian dishes and were well pleased with the flavors, the spice, and the freshness. The food just tasted different than anything else downtown. We were all unfamiliar with Afgan food but it made our evening. We fully concur that it is a wonderful place to eat, and is a shining example that a great and nutritious meal need not be expensive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 87jt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maza Kabob also viewed

 

Been to Maza Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing